Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best sites to search for teaching jobs in the Middle East?

• 10-03-2012 12:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

I have submitted a career break request to go an teach abroad for a year. The Middle East is the place that catches my eye most - Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Qatar etc.

But where is the best place to start as regards looking for teaching jobs in the Middle East? Googling this just brings up all sorts of sites and its hard to know which are even trustworthy. Can anyone recommend the best sites for finding teaching jobs abroad?

teachaway.com and teachanywhere.com are two that have caught my eye but any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated... and any other suggestions about teaching in the Middle East in general would also be welcome!

Thanks in advance!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Suggest that you not use generic recruitment search engines; rather obtain a list of universities per country, and then search faculty vacancies by institution.

Secondly, according to its 2030 Plan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been heavily investing towards becoming the Middle Eastern Centre for higher education, and is currently building an international academic city near Dubai.

Several colleges may have a centralized faculty recruiting function. For example, the UAE Higher Colleges of Technology (HCT) has 17 colleges scattered throughout their nation, but faculty recruitment is handled by a central administration in Abu Dhabi. If you contact HCT directly, you may fill out their employment application online for one or more positions posted for their 17 colleges, along with submitting your CV and related materials by attachment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Black Swan wrote: »
    Suggest that you not use generic recruitment search engines; rather obtain a list of universities per country, and then search faculty vacancies by institution

This is the best suggestion - search for schools (or colleges) and also local newspapers.

Here in Bahrain, they are desperate for teachers at all levels (primary and secondary). I know one teacher who had her pick of three jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭kalamityjim

Thanks for the replies!

Yeah was thinking that the recruitment agencies would be the wrong way to go alright. Maybe should have mentioned that its Primary Teaching that I'm qualified in. Would consider any job if the money is good but my qualification would hardly qualify me for university teaching over there? So is it just the primary schools I should search for or would it be worth my applying for jobs at all levels?

Also, all this TEFL stuff - I presume my own HDip in Primary Teaching (also have four years teaching experience and a degree in Computer Systems) would qualify just as much as a TEFL qualification or are they pretty sticky on the whole TEFL thing?

Thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

You should look at TES.co.uk and TIE (you may have to pay for access though).
    TES has job listings and a forum dedicated to teaching overseas.
    I know you are interested in the Middle East but you can also earn very good money in east Asia.

Also, all this TEFL stuff - I presume my own HDip in Primary Teaching (also have four years teaching experience and a degree in Computer Systems) would qualify just as much as a TEFL qualification or are they pretty sticky on the whole TEFL thing?

Yes, your own HDip would be of more value than a TEFL qualification.

I know from speaking with primary school teachers here, they don't have the TEFL qualification, have the HDip, some experience and have the pick of jobs.

Alternatively, those with TEFL qualification also manage to pick up work as English teachers, but this is a much more common qualification, so there is much more competition for jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 F.A.S.H

Hi Guys,

Im a teacher in Dubai right now, came over here straight after finishing my postgrad in teaching. Im presuming you have at least 2 years experience beacuse you are taking a career break? So you should defo go for International Schools, i went with Teachanywhere, they were very good, and got me sorted with everything. SOme info on Dubai and Abu Dhabi, if you want nightlife and a good social scene, go for Dubai. If however, you want to make money and dont mind being stuck in the desert go to Abu Dhabi. If you hav any questions, you can mail me.

I would have liked someone Irish over here to email quesions to when i was coming :)

Well what I'm looking for is a place thats a bit of craic and also pays well. By 'pays well', I mean that my disposable net income would be at least as good as here when you factor in benefits, difference in cost of living etc. And from the little bit of research I did, it would seem that the Middle East is the only area that would offer that?
    I have the HDip in Education and will have four years experience in a permanent job. Also, without sounding sexist, the fact that I'm male might help. So all in all, I'd hope that I'd be in a position to be able to get a decent-paid job?

As regards Abu Dhabi vs Dubai, Dubai is probably not an option for personal reasons so would be looking at other areas in the Middle East. Is Abu Dhabi pretty much void of craic?! Can anyone recommend what areas of the Middle East to stay away from or to consider because of their nitelife/general craic etc. or lack thereof?

Thanks again for all the help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Sinead2312

F.A.S.H wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Im a teacher in Dubai right now, came over here straight after finishing my postgrad in teaching. Im presuming you have at least 2 years experience beacuse you are taking a career break? So you should defo go for International Schools, i went with Teachanywhere, they were very good, and got me sorted with everything. SOme info on Dubai and Abu Dhabi, if you want nightlife and a good social scene, go for Dubai. If however, you want to make money and dont mind being stuck in the desert go to Abu Dhabi. If you hav any questions, you can mail me.

I would have liked someone Irish over here to email quesions to when i was coming :)

Just applying to jobs in Dubai at the moment. I have joined with teachanywhere but am also looking on TES. Have 1 years experience in London but am hoping to get somewhere for Sept 2012. Just wondering how youre finding it out there and does teachanywhere sort out everything or can you recommend any other agency? How long have you been out there? Appreciate any help. Thank you.

I haven't found a job yet Sinéad. Might have missed the boat somewhat - it seems that most of the positions are filled by March. As regards where to look, I've sent out applications through teachanywhere, TES.co.uk, teachaway and teachabroad but the only two that I've used to any great degree are the first two.

Teachaway seem to have a very professional setup there. Once they have sorted you out with a consultant, he/she will find suitable positions for you. You can search around yourself and if you see a job you are interested in yourself on teachanywhere, ask your consultant to send in an application for you. The way I see it, yeah, the consultant will probably do everything for you if you wanna just sit back and put the feet up but that said, you'd probably be better off keeping the ball rolling yourself with regular contact with your consultant.

Has a teachanywhere consultant been in touch with you yet? Cos it took them nearly a week to get onto me and did only after I emailed em asking what the story was.

At the end of the day, teachanywhere seems to be the go-to guy for this kinda thing, but I'd keep looking at TES.co.uk and the others too and even just contact the schools themselves if you have some free time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭namurt

Hi Kalamityjim,

I've just been offered a position in Abu Dhabi through teachanywhere. I'm not getting at you but just to let you know the male/female thing isn't the same as over here. The recruiters for teachanywhere weren't looking for any male teachers this year because men can only teach boys but women can teach girls and then boys up to a certain age so it's easier to find a job for female teachers. I don't know if it's the same if you apply directly to schools but just something you might need to keep in mind.

Yeah I was told that by teachaway too I think. There seems to be an initiative to get more female teachers in the classrooms so there is a bit of a hiring freeze on male teachers I think. But I think that is just in public schools, not private?

Thanks so much.. Yes ive been in contact with teachanywhere, just have to send in a few documents. Just wondering an electronic passport photograph?? Is this just a passport photo that can be sent by mail??Sorry may seem like a stupid question. kalamityjim, have you got a job set up out there yet??

Well what I did was scan my passport photo page into my laptop and emailed it off.

No jobs as of yet Sinéad but have only been looking for the past 2 or 3 weeks. 2 interviews, the first was for Dubai, looks like I didn't get it - no contact back after nearly 2 weeks. I've been told it's a dodgy school anyway - said so on the forums and the ppl I know out there also told me to avoid it if possible. The second interview was through teachanywhere and they said I'd know either way by the beginning of next week. A school in Doha.

I'd advise that if you do get offered a job, to go onto a few forums and search for posts about the school cos there seems to be quite a few schools out there that are rough to work for. Some ppl I know had a few bad experiences. Forums I search on include:
    expat-blog.com/
    expatforum.com
    britishexpats.com/forum/

Awh brilliant..Thanks so much. Where ya teaching at the moment? Do you know many out in the UAE or just looking for a change??

Lucky enough to have a permanent job here in Naas so just taking a career break for a year or maybe more, depending on how things go. I know people over in Dubai but that's not the reason I'm looking to head over. I think I just might as well head off while I have the chance. Researched Canada and other places but the Middle East was the only place that ticked all the boxes for me so its just a coincidence really that I'm heading out hopefully somewhere close to where I have a few friends - 3 of my friends went out to Dubai this year and are having a ball, even though two of them ended up having to change school cos they were getting messed around. So if you do get offered a job and can't find info on the school on those forums, lemme know and the girls might be able to shine some light on the situation for ya.
    Cousin is over there too, not teaching but again, having a ball! Seems like a great place to live!

You teaching here yourself at the moment Sinéad?

You have lots of experience so you should have no trouble, alot of the jobs I look at require at least two years experience and unfortunately I have just one. No not at home, Im in London teaching at the moment, am really enjoying it here but just want to get away and ya same as you have 3 friends over in and around Dubai and they are having an amazing time. They are all working with Sabis. Wish Id looked into this earlier but hopefully something will come up. Hope you get something soon, keep me updated..

Hey how is the job search going??? Just wondering if anyone has heard anything about Al Ittihad private school in Dubai?? Really difficult to know what the schools are like?

Hi Sinéad, still searching but its looking a bit better. Offered 3 places by now. 1 was withdrawn because the school (in Abu Dhabi) are worried that my qualification might not hold up with ADEC. 1 I turned down cos was in Fujairah and after having a long think about it, decided it would be too quiet a place to live for a year. The last one is in Oman and seems promising and I'm just waiting for them to give me details of the package and will make a decision then.

I have a few forums that I search for info on specific schools and the only forum where I found info on that school you mentioned is:
    http://www.expatforum.com/expats/dubai-expat-forum-expats-living-dubai/
    I searched for 'Al Ittihad school' and got a few posts that might be some help.

You having much luck yourself? You get offered a place at Al Ittihad?

Ya thats all i could find aswel. The location seems amazing but it follows the American curiculum, have an interview with them tomorrow. Ive been offered 2, but location is really why i didnt take them but its really hard to know about the schools been over here. Are you heading off on your own?
    Hope all goes with with that job and thanks for your help again.

Ah sure I'm not even sure if I'll take the job yet! Got another interview for Muscat tomorrow now. Doesn't seem to be much from Dubai coming my way - its all female positions out that direction.

Yeah, heading on my own. That's why location is important to me - I want somewhere that's vibrant enough so it'll be easy to meet people. There's a GAA club in Muscat so that's a great place to start when trying to meet people. Know plenty of ppl in Dubai alright but sure I could be quite a bit away from them yet.
    You heading out there on your own yourself?

I wouldn't worry too much about the American curriculum Sinéad. I know you have experience with the English NC etc. but sure how different can the American curriculum be?! I researched both and didn't notice too much of a difference. Sure all I have experience in is the Irish curriculum! And while on that subject, my advice would be to not spend too much time researching the curriculum before the interview. I don't think I got a single question on the curriculum in any of my interviews. Up to you though - I don't wanna be the cause of you being stumped in the middle of an interview! Its just that I spent too much time researching the curriculum and the school that come the interview I had so much info in my head that I didn't know which bits to blurt out when asked any given question!
    Besta luck with the interview!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭messi1985

hey guys, how are things? just popped into this forum as im interested in teaching abroad (career break badly needed already:)) did ye get sorted with jobs and stuff? looking into this now so ill have my mind made up after xmas and can proceed with it.. some great info posted already so anything extra would be a massive help.. cheers

First of all Messi, best of luck with it all! :)
    Didn't get sorted myself in the end cos I was late applying and was picky enough about my wages too. Got offered a few jobs but turned em down at the last minute cos I was picky enough like I said. So first thing I'd say is get in there early, straight after Christmas. I've already had teachanywhere onto me again just last week saying that the majority of jobs will go up in January but that I should start thinking about it now and keeping an eye out even before then.

I went through 101 different recruitment agencies last year, applied to schools on my own etc. etc. etc. Not worth the hassle really - just go with teachanywhere, they're very good, very honest and will do their best to get you exactly what you want. Like I said, I was picky enough with where I wanted to go, what I wanted to do, my wage etc. but they were sound about it and got me a good few interviews.
    tes.co.uk is a decent site to keep an eye on too.

They'd be the first bits of advice I'd give on looking for a job anyway. Any other qs, just ask and I'll do my best to help.

hey kalamityjim how are things?? cheers for the reply, wasnt expecting one so quick so delighted with that..

teachanywhere was advised to me so been looking at that website the past week.. just feel im missing out, i could do with taking a year out as everyone at home seems to be living it up in oz like but i dont fancy that.. this seems to be the best option.. reckon if i dont go this summer ill never go and ill regret not doing something like this as everyone is.. 5 yrs teaching done and am permanent so no reason not to..

are u gonna try it this year?? have you heard any feedback from friends of urs who have done it? and is it like a group of people go together or individual cos i know no one interested in it?

Hi Messi, I'm over in Abu Dhabi so if you've any questions I'll try to answer them. I went with TeachAnywhere and they were pretty good. It's a long drawn out process and there have been a few bumps in the road so far but if you're going to be on career break then it's probably worth taking a chance on what could turn out to be an amazing experience. Just be prepared for the idea that it may not work out as you had hoped though. I wouldn't worry about coming over on your own because there's a great sense of camaraderie and everyone looks out for each other.

As I said, if I can help with any questions I will.

Ah yeah, the vast majority of people seem to love it over there. I know only one girl who didn't enjoy herself when she went over about 5 years ago but anyone I know who has gone over in the past few years has ended up staying or wanting to stay for the second year. "Best decision of my life" is how one of my friends put it only a few weeks ago!

Will I try it myself? Hard to know. I'll keep updated for the moment anyway and keep an eye out for good positions but can't be certain yet. One of the reasons to stay would be my pension - not sure if it was mentioned here already but because your employer will not pay your pension while you're away, if you were to pay it back/catch up on your lostt years while away, it would cost you 12k for each year. I was late into the teaching profession so already behind on my pension, so think I'd only go for a very well-paid job.
    Dubai and Abu Dhabi don't really seem to have many well-paid jobs because they're the most popular destinations. Other countries such as Qatar would be the place to go for that.
    The Abu Dhabi Education Project by ADEC pays very well and I'd say maybe that's what teachanywhere will be plugging with you seeing as you have 5 years experience. Careful with that though in that they don't tell you where they are placing you until you get out there, so you might not necessarily be in the city or out in the suburbs - could be well outside the city. But teachanywhere would be honest with you about that anyway.

cheers guys again, appreciate it.. would be interested to hear more about this.. im gonna email teachanywhere and see from there.. im not exactly on career break yet but shouldnt be a problem getting it.. kalamity, completely forgot bout the whole pension thing, never crossed my mind, cheers for that.. namurt, be interested to hear more from ur experiences.. as i said, ill email that crowd and see the story from there.. bout 10 to 20% chance of it actually happening, but defo something i would like to do, love to get out of the sihte in this country for a year or two.. anyways ill keep ye posted and mite drop an aul pm if i need help with something.. ta

With regards the pension thing, with ADEC if you complete your contract you get paid an extra month's salary for every year you complete and at the interview they mentioned that people tend to use that as their contribution towards their pension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭airneal

I'm totally new to this board, just looking for a bit of feedback from those who are established out in the middle east or those in the know, about teaching second level sciences...ie, General Science and Biology

Some of the websites say min of 2 years experience, for e.g. teachanywhere..teachaway etc. How strict are they on this?

I've got a B.Sc., M.Sc. and a PhD, can't get any work here in Ireland or UK. I've applied to NUIG to do the postgraduate diploma in education in 2013/14 year. Just wondering what are the likely chances of me getting offered a position in UAE, Bahrain or Qatar? And could you give me a realistic salary guide with me having no teaching experience?

I won't graduate until June 2014, I know I would need to be applying Jan 2014 for positions with the recruitment companies..

Just wondering are Biology and general Science for second level schools in much demand? And what are my chances of securing a teaching position, given the fact that I will not have actual post qualification teaching experience i.e. come August 2014?

Thanks all...

airneal wrote: »

I'm totally new to this board, just looking for a bit of feedback from those who are established out in the middle east or those in the know, about teaching second level sciences...ie, General Science and Biology

Some of the websites say min of 2 years experience, for e.g. teachanywhere..teachaway etc. How strict are they on this?

I've got a B.Sc., M.Sc. and a PhD, can't get any work here in Ireland or UK. I've applied to NUIG to do the postgraduate diploma in education in 2013/14 year. Just wondering what are the likely chances of me getting offered a position in UAE, Bahrain or Qatar? And could you give me a realistic salary guide with me having no teaching experience?

I won't graduate until June 2014, I know I would need to be applying Jan 2014 for positions with the recruitment companies..

Just wondering are Biology and general Science for second level schools in much demand? And what are my chances of securing a teaching position, given the fact that I will not have actual post qualification teaching experience i.e. come August 2014?

Thanks all...

Have you considered RCSI? They are out here in Bahrain. In fact, I know a PhD holder, in the biology area, with no teaching experience, who is working there.

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Have you considered RCSI? They are out here in Bahrain. In fact, I know a PhD holder, in the biology area, with no teaching experience, who is working there.

Thanks very much for the reply Tom,

I'm actually more to do with the applied biology i.e. soil biodiversity, environmental management etc..

I don't think theres much out there in that field at the moment,

Will continue searching all the same,

Cheers for the reply!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭lledlledlled

Hi guys,

My wife & I are looking into a move to the Middle East.

She qualified as a Primary School Teacher last year and is currently completing her DIP year in a school in Dublin. I presume that counts as one year's experience?

We've noticed that most job advertisements seem to ask for experience teaching the British curriculum. She has no British experience. Will this (or her one year experience only) be a problem?

Would love to get some advice. Cheers.

well guys, long time time no chat! hows life in ireland and middle east?? have my interview with teachanywhere on tuesday (originally was for sunday but have a wedding sat so she changed it for me). anyways, kinda put all my eggs into this teachanywhere basket, gonna be fare disappointed if it doesnt turn out.. couple of things not ready, like my passport is outta date in april 2014, couldnt renew cos didnt know date of interview until yesterday.. also garda vetting gonna take 6 to 8 weeks, didnt bother signing on with teaching council as i wanted to head off.. anyways, anyone a bit of advice on interview, or will i be ok for a few days without proper passport, and few weeks without garda clearance.. email consultant twice already, reckon she's sick of me annoying her :) really wanna do this now, just hope it doesnt fall flat on my face

Hi Messi,

Out of interest, how did the interview go and what sort of questions were you asked? I would also like to do the whole middle east experience next year, but will see in 4 weeks when the PAC offers are made, in relation to getting on a Professional Dip Edu. course. I should be ok, but you wouldn't know anymore the way things are going. Anyway best of luck with the result and hope you fulfill your ambition!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 bloor

GIBS-LLC in Qatar currently have lots of openings for primary and secondary (fully qualified teachers). Contact Gareth on g.walters@gibs-llc.com for more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Palatico

Hi , I`m new to this , I`m really interested in teaching in UAE , firstly i would be very grateful to anyone with any advice. Ive being doing quite a bit of research on the forums and I`m still not very clear in relation to which recruitment agency to go with. My degree subject is geography and i have two years experience of teaching geography at second level. I have my h dip complete and I`m also in the process of completing an online TEFL course. My question is do any schools apart from international schools have geography on their curricle , also what would my realistic chances of landing a dream job. Any information would be greatly appreciated as regards how to get the ball rolling, Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 smokeymegraw

Hello everyone! I am brand new and looking to get any advice/info from teachers in Abu Dhabi. I live in the United States and will be flying to Chicago for the next round of interviews shortly after the first of the year. Al Ain and Al Gharbia were also areas mentioned when I was speaking to the representative. Are these places I should consider? I am looking to find an elementary position in the UAE. Any advice would be amazing! Thanks in advance!!!:):):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Versus

F.A.S.H wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Hi, would you recommend some websites with agencies recruiting people to work in middle east? but not as a teacher :) thanks in advance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 patriciaf6

Im looking to go to Dubai to teach maths in a secondary school. Anyone know what the curriculum is like?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Edvectus

I have submitted a career break request to go an teach abroad for a year. The Middle East is the place that catches my eye most - Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Qatar etc.

But where is the best place to start as regards looking for teaching jobs in the Middle East? Googling this just brings up all sorts of sites and its hard to know which are even trustworthy. Can anyone recommend the best sites for finding teaching jobs abroad?

teachaway.com and teachanywhere.com are two that have caught my eye but any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated... and any other suggestions about teaching in the Middle East in general would also be welcome!

Thanks in advance!

Tim the problem is that most UAE and Qatar contracts are 2 years. Kuwait is 1 year.
    As for companies to try, Edvectus is a company that is made up of lots of people from Teachanywhere including the founder. I would give us a try as we have an office in the UAE.