Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Affordable but effective Wedges.

• 09-03-2012 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭

Need new wedges dammit!:mad:

my CG12's and my singular Vokey are in need of replacement.
    Have had them for over 4 years now and theyre looking tired and battered on the face. the grooves quite frankly are busted.

Suppose i could get a groove sharpener on ebay but thatd just be a temporary fix ( imo ).

cant afford at the moment to fork out circa €90euro on a vokey or €70+ on a cleveland or other "premium" wedge..... mizuno, nike, TM.

so, from the affordable range... the likes of wilson staff, MD golf, benross, ( callaway seem cheaper than other premiums)... can anyone recommend an affordable brand theyve used... ie €50 per wedge. have heard good things about MD. And Benross equipment always scores well in golf digest equipment reviews.
    thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

I got a pair of MD wedges, 52 and 58 degree nv drew standard bounce, back in September and I'm very happy with them, a nice weight and balance, and they look great too. I think I paid about €60 each for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,955 ✭✭✭Russman

Probably the Wilsons would be your best bet from the value point of view and a well established company.
    IMHO the Callaway wedges are hugely underrated and well worth a look, certainly they're better than TM or Nike in my opinion. You might pick up last years' Jaws models cheap now that they've a new model out. Or try somewhere like Golfdiscount.com where they sometimes have really old (2-3 yrs) modes on clearance. I got a couple of brand new Callaway X-Tour wedges (from c2006-7) only last year off them in a clearance sale.

Just be sure to factor in possibly being caught for VAT and duty if you order from them (sometimes I've been caught, sometimes not, no idea why some items get through)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Have had MD wedges in the past and found them great the vokeys i have now are not much better.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

The MD Norman Drew wedges are by far the best wedges you can get for the money, that's because they are not far off the best wedges you can get in the first place..!

They are just a little bit harder than the Vokeys, it's a teeny tiny bit but it's definitely noticeable. But then again so is the x3 the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭redhill

Another MD fan signing in, out of my 4 wedges I have a mix of Vokey, Md, and Cleveland, the Md are easily as good, the spin of them is actually better. As mentioned earlier they have a great swingweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

Got an MD Seve 52° wedge earlier this year and have been impressed - nice balance and excellent spin. I've heard the only reason they are much cheaper than the big name brands is because they spend very little on advertising and marketing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

MD Golf wedges the way to go.
    Have 3 of them. Best bang for buck you will get. Only marginally, if at all, behind the premium names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭koheim

Just got 2 new wedges myself; MD Norman Drew Standard Bounce, 52 and 58 degree.
    Got them for 65 a piece, so great value, and trust me they are worth it. Only regret is not getting them a couple of years ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭big_drive

Just wondering where did ye buy the MD wedges lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Need new wedges dammit!:mad:

my CG12's and my singular Vokey are in need of replacement.
    Have had them for over 4 years now and theyre looking tired and battered on the face. the grooves quite frankly are busted.

Suppose i could get a groove sharpener on ebay but thatd just be a temporary fix ( imo ).

cant afford at the moment to fork out circa €90euro on a vokey or €70+ on a cleveland or other "premium" wedge..... mizuno, nike, TM.

so, from the affordable range... the likes of wilson staff, MD golf, benross, ( callaway seem cheaper than other premiums)... can anyone recommend an affordable brand theyve used... ie €50 per wedge. have heard good things about MD. And Benross equipment always scores well in golf digest equipment reviews.
    thanks.

For the sake of €5 a year over 4 years would you not just spend the €70 and get what you already know is good?
    Even the €90 (which Im sure you could get a deal on if you are buying a couple) is only €10 a year extra over 4 years. Thats less than the price of 3 balls....

Just to put things into perspective...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

big_drive wrote: »
    Just wondering where did ye buy the MD wedges lads?
    I picked the ones I have up in halpenny golf off grafton street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭colmsix

have played the "yes" wedges 52 ,56 degree for the last couple of years.they are about €90, mcguirks have a few left still as i just replaced one i lost a few weeks ago, great feel ,great spin, great value imo.they come from the people who make the "c" groove putters:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Iangolf

I use the md wedges too, easily get as much spin as with any other wedge. They were tested in one of the mags last year and came out on top against all the big names!

I bought from these guys before and they are much cheaper than any of the shops in Dublin!

http://bit.ly/zlOoRS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

I'm surprised no one mentioned Adams golf Tom Watson wedges. Although I've never hit them I hear they are very good. My brother uses them and tells me they are nearly as good as vokeys. I think they are €60. Anyone else use them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

little off topic but everyone here is praising MD.
    so i said id chance my arm and say ive 2011 MD irons/hybrids for sale.check out for sale section.

Cheeky maybe
    desperate yes.
    lol
    Sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

I got the Mizuno MP T11 wedges recently in 52 and 56. Very happy with them - nice control, spin and great flight. For some reason I could never gel with vokeys and couldn't get normal wedge distance with them.

The Mizunos are currently 2 for €179 in Halpenny and they might even take your old wedges as a trade in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

I got the Mizuno MP T11 wedges recently in 52 and 56. Very happy with them - nice control, spin and great flight. For some reason I could never gel with vokeys and couldn't get normal wedge distance with them.

The Mizunos are currently 2 for €179 in Halpenny and they might even take your old wedges as a trade in.

Ive got them too in 50* 54* and 58*, love them, thats a good price for them too in halpenny, well worth the bobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Thats alot of praise for MD.

My 52* Vokey is due a change, going on 5 years old and its a bit battered. Might give these a look.

Also got rid of my 60* because I found I was chipping better with my 56* nike wedge around the green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Tried out a few wedges yesterday... have to say its no fun trying out clubs when you know you cant afford half of them!
    however to get a feel for the cheaper brands it was necessary to hit a few vokeys & clevelands.

i'll try to not make this sound like a sales pitch.

very impressed with the MD golf NV Drew wedges... that is until i a hit a few with the MD Seve wedges. All i can say is that to me ( a wknd duffer who fancies himself ) the MD wedges felt very comparable to the premium wedges. but the new seve wedges, again to me, felt really really good. felt like a cleveland wedge... had that softness to it.

no idea what kind of backspin these generate.

oh yea, the seve wedges come with a "dynalite" shaft as standard. its lighter than the UST Proforce stepless steel shaft in the NV Drew wedges. makes a significant feel difference - but a lighter feeling wedge may not be to everybodies liking.

looks wise ( hey its important! ) the seve wedges in oil can finish are v. nice - wish theyd tone down the big SEVE on the back of the face tho.

anyhoo.... theyre €69 in halpenny lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Have a look at the following link for Onlinegolf - they ship to Ireland for not much and some great bargains here on individual wedges:

http://www.onlinegolf.co.uk/Golf-Clubs/Wedges/sc1286.aspx :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

anyhoo.... theyre €69 in halpenny lucan.

Had a nosey on Ebay and those wedges look to be €45 shipped :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

GreeBo wrote: »
    For the sake of €5 a year over 4 years would you not just spend the €70 and get what you already know is good?
    Even the €90 (which Im sure you could get a deal on if you are buying a couple) is only €10 a year extra over 4 years. Thats less than the price of 3 balls....

Just to put things into perspective...

cheers fella. with my salary down 40% on what it was 3 yrs ago.... golf itself gets put in perspective quite frequently!

shouldnt have bought that house back in 03 - thats where i f**ked up my golf budget!

anyway, thanks again, Arfur daley would of been proud of that pitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

I'v dealt with Dunluce golf online, very good service. Full set of MD wedges for 135e..! Probably worth noting that they are Irish, MD golf are based in Antrim, since they offer such good products and a decent price point I think it's well worth supporting them.

Maybe it's the recession in me, but although I like having the best of golf gear I am also starting to look at the price vs performance aspect of things too. Since the wedges performed so well, taking the cost into consideration it was an easy buy. Especially since there was a chance I would be changing the wedges this season to keep them sharp(that's not happening now though,still in great condition after 1 season).

I also have a Superstrong hybrid, love it too. Not sure if it's just a personal thing but I just really love the way it sits behind the ball. I always feel really confident with it, suppose that's half the battle.

It's always going to be hard for smaller golf OEM's to compete, it's a tough marketplace, especially with all the technology and marketing that go's on these days. But things like wedges,hybrids,putters and forged irons are not that technology intensive. To make quality products as above the things that are most important are manufacturing process and materials, because the design aspect of the above clubs is well defined. The traditional designs do actually work best. I think MD are onto a winner if they keep their cost low and the quality high, even without the marketing, golfers talk and surely word will spread.