Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dundalk "Patsy Kelly 5K" 31st March 2012 (Harp Lager BHAA route)

• 08-03-2012 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

Patsy Kelly / North East Runners / Clan Na Gael 5K (31/03/2012)
    North East Runners and Clan na Gael are delighted to announce the Patsy Kelly 5K Road Race on Saturday 31st March 2012 @ 6.30 pm. The inaugural running of this event sees runners following the route of the old "Harp Lager Road Race” (BHAA Race).
    The race is Athletics Ireland affiliated http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=23877
    All runners, jogger & walkers welcome
    Registration online at
    www.runireland.com or on the day at Clan Na Gael GAA Club.
    Entry online: €15

Technical T-shirt for all entrants
    Refreshments at finish
    Flat Fast Route (follows the old Harp Lager BHAA route)
    Timing: Chip Timed.
    Prizes:1,2,3 Male & Female and the usual categories.

Contact Details:
    Paul Gray 087 6455566 or Jim Gonnelly 086 2902029

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

All profits are going to their designated charity "Simon Community".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Looking forward to this one, should be a good fast 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 dingonerd

Very fast course..PB territory!

Good to see all profits going to charity..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I heard great stories about the old Harp four-mile race in Dundalk. Apparently, finishers would get free Harp after the race. This obviously caused carnage, so they resorted to giving out vouchers, three per person. However, the vouchers were then bartered after the race between drinkers and non. :D

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    I heard great stories about the old Harp four-mile race in Dundalk. Apparently, finishers would get free Harp after the race. This obviously caused carnage, so they resorted to giving out vouchers, three per person. However, the vouchers were then bartered after the race between drinkers and non. :D

Only in Dundalk! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

nerraw1111 wrote: »

I ran the 4 mile race a couple of times. Did it the last year it was held, my OH came to support me and ended up driving me and my mares home. We were absolutely scuttered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭event

can anyone tell me the exact route this takes?

Taken from the Facebook page:

The Route:
    Starting at the top of the Ecco road turning right onto the Castletown road under the bridge then right again through Fr. Murray Park and O' Hanlon Park into Ice House Hill up the Harp hill turning right onto the Carrickmacross road and right again down the Ecco Road and finishing at Clan na Gael Clubrooms

thats great, thanks

that would be a quick enough course, sure the only hill really is when you go by the friary pitch up to the carrick road

event wrote: »
    thats great, thanks

that would be a quick enough course, sure the only hill really is when you go by the friary pitch up to the carrick road

Yeah they are selling it as a fast course, the old harp 4 mile race used to be super quick, you run own the ecco road twice which is a big advantage for quick times.

Lads, Don't forget this race on Saturday week. Fast course on closed roads, technical t-shirt, and refreshments. All good for €15. It will be a good blow out for all people gearing up for upcoming Dundalk and Drogheda 10K's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭tonyangelino

Sounds good-I remember running the 4miler a few times. There was an issue with the traffic though. Will this be sorted?

NOt sure what the traffic problems were in the old BHAA race but I can assure you there will be none here. The roads are closed for the race and Gardai will be at the junctions to divert traffic. I am not going to tell you how many stewards there will be as you will not beleive me but the organisers have left no stone unturned and have put a great effort into this race. Thanks for the query.

Those who have pre registered can pick up their race packs from 2 pm on Saturday and those who are registering on the day can do so from that time also.

Just entered..

Looking forward to this..good fast course and plenty
    of grub after!!

Online entrants received this email yesterday.

Folks,

Thank you for registering for the Patsy Kelly 5k (PK5k). We hope you are in good shape and are looking forward to the big day, as I know we cant wait!!! Please read the following carefully as important details are listed below. The most direct route for people from outside Dundalk to the Clan na Gael is to take the Castleblayney exit on the M1 and proceed in the direction of the Town Centre. Take the first right at the traffic lights after the Mace garage.

1. You can pick up your race pack (t shirt, chip and race number) from the Clan na Gael Clubrooms between 2pm and 5.30pm on Saturday.
    RACE TIMING CHIP MUST BE WORN ON YOUR ANKLE, otherwise the time will not be registered and you will not appear in the official results or qualify for prizes. Race numbers must be worn on the front of your race vest/t shirt.
    2. There will be a bag drop location in the changing room area and this will be supervised during the race.
    3. Prior to the start of the race please park your car in the Dunnes stores car park in Ard Easmuinn. This car park will be fully tended until 8.30pm.
    4. All particants are advised to walk to the start line which will be at the Carrick road/Ecco road junction (10 min walk max).
    5. Toilets are located at the Clan na Gael Clubrooms. Limited toilet facilities are available at Larry Muckians Garage (Texaco)on the Carrick Road.
    6. The race will start at 6.30 sharp so please ensure you are at the start line in time.
    7. If you require first aid or you need to stop please contact the nearest steward and he will ensure you are looked after.
    8. Water and fruit will be available at the finish line.
    9. Shower facilities for all male athletes will be available in the clubs dressing rooms. There will be limited female shower facilities also available.
    10. Complimentry soup, tea and sandwiches will be available post race in the main hall in the Clan na Gael and race results will be posted in various locations around the hall.
    11.The prize giving ceremony will be held at 7.35pm.
    12. If you are unable to complete the course, please inform a steward and hand in your race timing chip.

We would ask that you obey the instructions of stewards and Gardai at all times especially prior to the race were you will be waiting in an area where there will be live traffic on the Carrick road.

just signed up.

only thing, can anyone suggest where I can park for a quick getaway. I need to be on the road by about 7and Im afraid if i park at Dunnes that the road will still be closed and I wont be able to get out.

Any suggestions?

event wrote: »
    just signed up.

only thing, can anyone suggest where I can park for a quick getaway. I need to be on the road by about 7and Im afraid if i park at Dunnes that the road will still be closed and I wont be able to get out.

Any suggestions?

It really depends where you are going. You could park on the castletown road on the Dundalk side of the bridge. That way you can get on to the motorway either going out the Newry road or straight out the castletown road and on to the motorway at the Blayney exit. I would assume the castletown road will be re-opened at 6.40 once everybody has passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭bigslice

NIALLG4,

Is registration still open on the day? A few of us planing on coming up from Blayney but not sure on everyone yet, so will register on the day.

bigslice wrote: »
    NIALLG4,

Is registration still open on the day? A few of us planing on coming up from Blayney but not sure on everyone yet, so will register on the day.

Yes, open on the day until 5.30. If possible try and get there a wee bit earlier to avoid last minute delays.

NiallG4 wrote: »
    Yes, open on the day until 5.30. If possible try and get there a wee bit earlier to avoid last minute delays.

Thanks Niall, yeah will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Dundalk

Great race, very well organised and a great turn out. Loved the bagpipes at the start!! Fast course and a PB for me at 19.16.

Anyone who won and what the winning time was?

A clubmate of mine Mark Hoey won in 15:18.

Great event for me and agree it's a fast course, 18:40 for me. A bit of a shame about the lack of t-shirts for those who signed up on the day. I got mine but my Mam ran it as her first race and was looking forward to getting her t-shirt. But no complaints from me, well done to all involved!

Probably one of the best organised races I've attended. Amazing considering it was their 1st attempt. And only €15. So nice
    few euros heading to Simon Community.

Not as fast a course as I thought it was going to be. But PB nevertheless.

Results - http://chipit.ie/admin/admin/editor.php?action=read&id=334

pconn062 wrote: »
    A clubmate of mine Mark Hoey won in 15:18.

Great event for me and agree it's a fast course, 18:40 for me. A bit of a shame about the lack of t-shirts for those who signed up on the day. I got mine but my Mam ran it as her first race and was looking forward to getting her t-shirt. But no complaints from me, well done to all involved!

PCONN, I presume your mam gave her details. The organisers ordered 450 t-shirts however over 500 registered. Additional t-shirts have been ordered and will be sent to all people who did not get one on Saturday night.

Very well done to the organisers, great race. Was a lovely evening for it and was great crowds out all along the route with plenty of stewards during the race and at registration. The Clan's club were great hosts as well.

I was hoping to go sub 20min for the first time but just missed out. Was well on course but last 1km didn't follow the previous 4km and the Harlequin Duathlon from the previous weekend must have still been in the legs.

Well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

I hear it was a great evening, I couldn't make it, but I would be interested in seeing the route on garmin connect. Can someone post it ?

huskerdu wrote: »
    I hear it was a great evening, I couldn't make it, but I would be interested in seeing the route on garmin connect. Can someone post it ?

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/163437017

PCONN, I presume your mam gave her details. The organisers ordered 450 t-shirts however over 500 registered. Additional t-shirts have been ordered and will be sent to all people who did not get one on Saturday night.

Yeah she did, I actually got a phone call from the organisers about this. Just to clarify, I am being 100% positive about the event and have no criticisms and I don't care about t-shirts or anything as long as there is a good course, and I know how difficult it is for organisers to plan for on the day entries. Just the mother wanted the t-shirt for her first race but it's no big deal, I gave her mine! :) As I said, great event, hope it becomes a yearly one!

pconn062 wrote: »
    Yeah she did, I actually got a phone call from the organisers about this. Just to clarify, I am being 100% positive about the event and have no criticisms and I don't care about t-shirts or anything as long as there is a good course. Just the mother wanted the t-shirt for her first race but it's no big deal, I gave her mine! :) As I said, great event, hope it becomes a yearly one!

It will definitely be an annual event and the aim is to be bigger and better next year. Hopefully you will have the t-shirt early next week. I will let you know on this when they are likely to arrive. I myself like getting t-shirts at races and would be disappointed if I got none so keep in touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Nice course and a nice time too there!

It is not mine but I will let the owner know.

enjoyed it myself. no real gripes, but they should have closed the ardesmuin road sooner, when all the runners were at the top there were a number of cars trying to get through, id say it was daunting for them

enjoyed the route, very nice especially though the park.
    fast run too, pity i couldnt stay afterwards as there looked to be a lot of food :)