Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin to Galway. Too ambitious?

• 07-03-2012 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭

Hi everyone! I'm sorry if this is a very vague question, but I want to cycle from Dublin to Galway (C. 240k) this summer (alone probably), and I'm unsure whether this would be too much of a challenge to manage.

The furthest I've ever cycled so far is 147km from Rathfarnham-Dundrum-Saggart - Naas - Blessington - Sally Gap - Laragh - Roundwood - Enniskerry - Glencullen - Kilakee Road- Rathfarnham at 25km/h average speed, and honestly, at the end of that I was wrecked.

Would anyone have any tips for training specificaly for something like this?
    Am I being too ambitous having cycled only over half the distance before?
    Should I wait till next summer?

Here is the propable route I would take (my obvious lack of routing skills mean I've probably not got it right but it's vaguely there.) :)

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/73285434/?open_ive_done=1&new_route=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Nah, you'll be fine. Did a couple of years ago, before I took up racing. Hadn't cycled anything near the distance. If you've got 150km under your belt, and a decent bike, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

it should be doable provided you hydrate and eat and train. Im thinking of something similar myself, down to county limerick, circa 270 kms. pace yourself, and allow yourself good time.

I did Cork to Galway in one day, which is similar kind of distance. took about 8 hours. The big decider as to how tough you will find it will be the wind. On a normal day when you're riding a big loop, even if it's windy, the wind will be at you back for at least some of it. However, going Dublin to Galway you will be going against the prevailing wind, and 8 hours or more into a strong headwind can be soul destroying. If you can pick your day, wait for an easterley (rare) or at least a southerly wind. A very light westerley would be ok.

In terms of training, I'd say keep doing what you're doing, get some good miles in, endurance will be more important than power for this kind of ride.
    On the day, try to ride steady and remember not to wear out your legs too soon!

Physically, the thing that is most likely to get you is running out of fuel. Eat plenty of carbs the night before, have a good (carbohydrate filled) breakfast and eat regularly throughout the day. On such long rides it is a case of balancing between the nausea caused by eating too much and the hunger knock caused by eating too little.

Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

I did Cork to Galway in one day, which is similar kind of distance. took about 8 hours. The big decider as to how tough you will find it will be the wind. On a normal day when you're riding a big loop, even if it's windy, the wind will be at you back for at least some of it. However, going Dublin to Galway you will be going against the prevailing wind, and 8 hours or more into a strong headwind can be soul destroying. If you can pick your day, wait for an easterley (rare) or at least a southerly wind. A very light westerley would be ok.

This is a cycle I'd love to do (and have been thinking of doing) as well but as JamesL85 said, you would be better with the wind at your back. Would you not consider instead cycling from Galway to Dublin? Get the train down, stay in a hostel or B&B? Best of all at journeys end you are home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

+1 on all the above advice. I did it solo last summer in about 8 hours and got the bus back that afternoon. Had a decent amount of training, ie had done the wicklow 200 a couple of weeks beforehand, but i wouldn't consider myself particularly fit nor fast nor healthy. Just get used to sitting on a saddle for a few hours and eat loads. Though I was hurting at times I wasn't nearly as wrecked as i'd thought i'd be but was slowing after athlone. I broke the day down into stages, so lots of small goals to achieve rather than counting off the whole distance. Theres a town or village pretty much every 20km. Its quite flat and quite boring in the midlands, but it undulates a bit more as you progress further west, but once you start seeing sign posts for athenry and galway city and then see the sea its quite a buzz. Was the most bizzare feeling sitting in eyre square eating a bag of chips having left my house in Dublin on my bike that morning. Heres the route I took and a photo i took on the day

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/581475

6047466034_c178f55594.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Doc Daneeka

Ha, waiting for the day when the first response to one of these threads is... Whoa, hang on a minute!

250k on your own is a pretty big ask. If its wet and windy I certainly wouldn't fancy it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

If you go the opposite way, you'll probably have the wind on your back.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I did Liffey Valley - Galway at the start of February as part of a charity cycle, but it was split across 2 days with an overnight stay in Athlone. I haven't done anything of that distance before and got on grand, felt fine at the end of it! Of course doing it over 2 days makes it easier, but the route itself isn't difficult, it's very flat for the most part!

We went Day 1: Maynooth - Enfield - Kinnegad - Kilbeggan - Moate - Athlone
    Day 2: Ballinasloe - Loughrea - Oranmore - Galway

If you can manage 147km at 25km/h average then you are a lot fitter than I was, so with a good bit of training, the whole distance in one day should be doable. The 2 day option is something else to consider, but at roughly 120km a day, it might be a bit too easy! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Reading the posts on here have made me realise that I'm not crazy for trying to attempt cycling from Malin Head to Mizen Head in two days this May!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Reading the posts on here have made me realise that I'm not crazy for trying to attempt cycling from Malin Head to Mizen Head in two days this May!

with todays fuel prices you would be crazy to NOT attempt cycling from Malin to Mizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

Thanks for all the replies! I feel a little less daunted now, I can cycle from family in Galway to Dublin if that would be more manageable but honestly I'd rather go the other way.

Is there anything specific I should be doing training wise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

I feel a little less daunted now, I can cycle from family in Galway to Dublin if that would be more manageable but honestly I'd rather go the other way.

These wind roses from Met Eireann for the country might help you make up your mind. As you can see the wind is from somewhere westerly about 2/3ds of the time. The difference between cycling into the teeth of a westerly (probably increasing in strength as you approach Galway) and having it push you along is very significant.

WIND DIRECTION (percentage frequency of wind direction)
    Circled number=%CALM
    climate_windmap01.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Also to help your planning in picking the day (or the direction you cycle)... this surfing site gives a chart of the forecasted wind for the next 7 days.

http://magicseaweed.com/UK-Ireland-MSW-Surf-Charts/1/wind/in/

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Did it with a Friend a few years back, 240 km door to door.

The wind wasn't bad for us except for a section between Moate and Shannon Bridge.

The wind will be a bit of a lottery, but obviously the prevailing wind is from the west.

My friend suffered a lot more than me, neither of had been cycling seriously before. My preparation involved a mixture of intense midweek cycles of 30-60 kms and progressively longer weekend cycles up to 150 kms the weekend before. My friend did a load of 80 km cycles in the 3 weeks before Dublin-Galway. (I live in Galway, he lives in Dublin, hence we weren't really training together).

I had two big dinners a day in the week leading up to the cycle.

I did a long cycles to Achill last summer with an other novice friend, the 2-3 mid-week intensive plus 1 long one at the weekend method seem to work for him too. I think this a relatively simple, but effective way of building up cycle fitness and endurance.

Also on any given day, determination will usually get you through, so if you have any cycle fitness at all you be able to do it if you're mentally determined, if you can do 140 km you can almost certainly do 240 km.

Also, Enjoy it! If you're lucky with the weather and do it mid-summer it'll be a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

I have been waiting to do this cycle for a while now and like the OP, don't have a huge amount under my legs. 160k is longest I have done and was floored for the last 20k of that.

OP, basically I'm going to wait for a day when the weather is forecast decent, but not too hot and the winds are either light or not blowing in my face. In advance I hope to have gotten up to say 180k under my legs. My experience of these things (from running) is that the third or fourth time you do a given length it becomes relatively easy. So hopefully I'll get 3 - 4 150k cycles into me first.

Then on the day I'm going to get up and leave early, prob 4 or 5 am, bring loads of High 5 and nutra grains and eat regularly during the day anyway. And I'm hoping to do it on a Friday when me and the missus are heading down (to her folks) anyway, so if I can't make it she can just pick me up along the way. Or possibly overnight in Ballinasloe.

Headed for Connemara too so should have an extra hour and a bit of pain at the end :)

Seems there are a few of us interested in this cycle (OP and a148pro), maybe we could meet up and do this together. My preference though would be Galway to Dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

jaqian wrote: »
    Seems there are a few of us interested in this cycle (OP and a148pro), maybe we could meet up and do this together. My preference though would be Galway to Dublin :)
    That just struck me also! Can make it a lot easier cycling in a group!

And thanks to everybody for all of the replies, I'm not feeling as daunted anymore! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Hi! I would be interested in doing Dublin-Galway too!
    Am away in July so either June or August!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭PurpleBee

You should check out David O Doherty's epic failure of same on youtube, its inspiring in a weird way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

May be interested too but depends on when. Would certainly vote Galway - Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Depending on dates I'd jump in on this. Would get the train/bus to Galway and cycle back if that was on the cards. Or cycle over, train back that night if it was an option.

Arequipa wrote: »
    Hi! I would be interested in doing Dublin-Galway too!
    Am away in July so either June or August!

Away last week in June and first week in July, after that should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭RV

I am planning Mizen to Fair Head myself starting next weekend. I am hoping to get close to 30 hours. I regularly do Dublin-Kinnegad- Dublin (with a long stop in K'gad) so am used to longer distances. I just built the hours in the saddle gradually over time and it is not so daunting anymore. Hard to get the wind behind you though, no matter which direction you go. Dublin - Galway is quite flat with plenty of places to stop and a great achievement to complete it. Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

The Op was saying he averaged 25km an hour on a 147km cycle.
    That's a fairly good average speed, it shows a reasonable amount of fitness and ability.

On that basis, with a bit of training, Dublin to Galway is easily do-able.

I think any reasonably fit person can cycle from Dublin to Galway with a bit of training, as long as you pace yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

There are a bunch of 250 cyclists (students and ex-students) doing the cycle from maynooth to galway in about 20 days http://www.galwaycycle.ie. Some of them have been doing it for the last 24 years with this year being th 25th year. I think you could do it, just plan ahead in terms of stops and food. The cycle is broken into 40k sections with two long breaks over the course of the cycle for a proper meal. You might be happier with some company along the way too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

the big mile eaters like the audex riders will give you plenty of advice on this, personally i would not do it 240km is a long way on a bike in one day but saying that if you start early enough take plenty breaks and a good hour dinner break then yeah anything is possible.
    best of luck with it but pick a nice day and get the best of the trip.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

jaqian wrote: »

Thanks for the offer Jaqian, at the moment I haven't even been on the bike since November though and my availability would be completely random depending on work and wife, so I think I'll leave you to it. Plus I kind of want to experience the loneliness and extra challenge of doing it alone :)

But why doesn't anyone who is thinking of doing it post here and then if others want to join they can. At this rate I won't be doing it until mid to late Summer (fitness and arriving infant would delay anything earlier).

No problemo, fully understand what you mean al48pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

the big mile eaters like the audex riders will give you plenty of advice on this

You rang?

Dublin - Galway or vice-versa is fairly easy going. We rode there and back on the Fleche last year, heading out on the R156 to Mullingar, then Lanesborough, Roscommon and into Galway. It took a group of four (with an intermittent fifth) about ten hours with a favourable wind, but we could have done it in closer to nine if my saddle hadn't broken. There are plenty of places to stop for food along the way, so you don't need to carry much with you, and daylight shouldn't be an issue if you do it in the summer.

The route we took is here. I wouldn't use that route between Kildare and Dublin again - the road was bloody awful - but apart from that, the roads were decent and I think you'd be hard put to find a flatter 230k in Ireland. I'd definitely recommend it - it's a great feeling seeing the sun rise on one side of the country and set on the other. I'd book yourself into a b&b (St. Jude's in Salthill is good), get a few pints in Neachtain's or the Salt House when you get to Galway and then roll back to Dublin the following day with the wind at your back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 ASeoige

I did the run last year to Connemara. 320km within 24 hours given that I am more into leisure cycling. I was well prepped and learned many invaluable lessons.

Do not even attempt such a run on standard tyres it will break your heart with all the flats along the way. Go bonty hardcases or ultremos dd's. I had five punctures in one day some due in part because of snake bites due to incorrect tyre pressure. Hand pumps useful co2 essential on inflation. A foldable spare tyre a good idea. As for clothing think of what you need and then divide by 4. Weight is your enemy. Bring along a lightweight umbrella surprising how useful. Dress warm and start out early hours. Follow the bus route and detail your map. Watch out for right turn at lights in maynooth(not signposted)and plan kilcock well(20km riding around in circles). Take with you a cheap cable lock for the food stop offs but make sure it is tried and tested.Mine broke first time using cost me two hours to get a hacksaw to cut it. Eat a big pasta evening meal followed by a light one two hours before you head out you will rock the house. As for fancy drinks marketing ploy. Orange additive to water, I add in a little honey for boost. Do not make it sweet but light tasting. Gel shorts is a must as well as a proper saddle. Athlone is the half way point and well advised to relax in a hostel or b&b. A fresh start, fresh enthusiasm If the saddle does not fit your sit bones you will know it after a 100k.

met forecasts are very important particularly wind factors so the departure date needs to be somewhat flexible. met eireann helps. Winds are your enemy. It is an awesome run and makes you feel like a million dollars:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

ASeoige wrote: »
    I did the run last year to Connemara. 320km within 24 hours given that I am more into leisure cycling. I was well prepped and learned many invaluable lessons.

Do not even attempt such a run on standard tyres it will break your heart with all the flats along the way. Go bonty hardcases or ultremos dd's. I had five punctures in one day some due in part because of snake bites due to incorrect tyre pressure. Hand pumps useful co2 essential on inflation. A foldable spare tyre a good idea. As for clothing think of what you need and then divide by 4. Weight is your enemy. Bring along a lightweight umbrella surprising how useful. Dress warm and start out early hours. Follow the bus route and detail your map. Watch out for right turn at lights in maynooth(not signposted)and plan kilcock well(20km riding around in circles). Take with you a cheap cable lock for the food stop offs but make sure it is tried and tested.Mine broke first time using cost me two hours to get a hacksaw to cut it. Eat a big pasta evening meal followed by a light one two hours before you head out you will rock the house. As for fancy drinks marketing ploy. Orange additive to water, I add in a little honey for boost. Do not make it sweet but light tasting. Gel shorts is a must as well as a proper saddle. Athlone is the half way point and well advised to relax in a hostel or b&b. A fresh start, fresh enthusiasm If the saddle does not fit your sit bones you will know it after a 100k.

met forecasts are very important particularly wind factors so the departure date needs to be somewhat flexible. met eireann helps. Winds are your enemy. It is an awesome run and makes you feel like a million dollars:D

Great advice! Just on the tyre aspect. I recently purchased gatorskins(700*23). Do u think these would b sufficient?

In my opnion, Bonty Racelite Hardcase, Ultremo DD and Conti Gatorskins are the top three tyres out there. I have experience of the first two and cycling club members swear by the 3rd. As for the argument of 23 versus 25 on tyre width. I can see the 23's becoming obsolete for two reasons. The rolling resistance on a 25 is actually less then a 23 and you get the benefit of a bigger air cushion. Case in point. Having recently just joined a cycle club, did not see one 23mm tyre there amongst all the soldiers. Personally, I think the bontys 25mm pretty much look like 23's so really a moot point. The fact you bought Gatorskins will give you a lot of confidence on the run. There are very few garages along the run so CO2 cyclinders are a necessity. One cannot pump beyond 45 psi with those little hand pumps and you need at least 95 psi. 45psi equals snake bites on standard tyres. A very important point I missed out on is Cadence. This is the rpm at the crank. If you stick to 85/90 you can cycle to the moon. If you do not have a cadence computer do not worry about it. Rule of thumb is never burn your leg muscles, use the lower gears and keep the legs spinning. That means even if you look like a pussy on your nice road bike doing 5 kph. Later you will be doing 40 kmph flying along under the same rule. Drink a litre of fluids(Orange additive which is a carb boost and my favorite honey used by weight lifters for instant boost) before you head out and as for food there are plenty of supermarkets so no need to carry food. A couple of bananas more then enough for the journey. The big carb intake the night before and before the run with pasta will not upset the stomach. This was a recommendation on the net from the man himself and he was 100% right. A telephone mp3 player always helps while away the hours. I do think it is essential to break up the journey at athlone. Personally I slept in a field for four hours before heading on my way. That is because I spent my hotel money buying new inner tubes and a new rear tyre. On changing the rear flat at the motorway roundabout the bead weakened and I ended up with a hump for like 16km before the trek bike shop in Clonard. (hence the reason I suggest a folding tyre spare). Looking back in retrospect, the tyres were my nemesis, map directions could have been better ( I hate kilcock.lol), the umbrella for the odd shower (a real clever idea). When you finish you feel like the six million dollar man..it is that good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you're from Dublin then I agree with the poster saying to start in Galway and cycling home.
    But that's me.

I disagree Biko. Have you ever done the run? Not once in my run to Galway last August did the wind factor bother me until I hit Carraroe. Then I might as well have been Michael Jackon doing the walk, 80 mph winds are no fun. And yes, I got off the bike and walked. But getting out of the saddle is not such a bad thing. I do not think that we were physically designed to sit in the saddle for so many hours. Besides cycling is meant to be a enjoyable exercise. These forums are designed to give good advice based on experience and not designed to make people afraid of even trying. Think of odd ball in Kelly's hero's..'' No negative waves man'' lol

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

We are doing Mayo to Dublin and Dublin to Mayo over 2 days in Sept, head wind on the way home no doubt! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭paddylast

Is is quicker(or better roads) to go Oranmore-Athenry-Ballinasloe or Oranmore-Loughrea-Ballinasloe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭fago

Crossing the Shannon really decides on which route to take.
    Having tried a few routes this year including

Oranmore Athenry Ballinasloe Athlone Tyrellspass
    Oranmore Athenry Ballinasloe Shannonbridge Tyrellspass
    Oranmore Loughrea Kiltormer Bannagher Tyrellspass

I'd go with the last one. its not that much longer (a few K I think), and once you turn at Kilreekil you're on quite roads. And if you're going all the way to Dublin you can keep below the motorway and go via Tullamore Edenderry etc.