Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carpool rules

• 06-03-2012 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭

It can be difficult to keep your car clean and habitable when you regularly car pool.

Are these reasonable rules for the way to a match etc when you've all the lads in the car?:

No coleslaw / grated cheese / crumbs / other food that goes every where.

No commenting on choice of route / speed / gear / lane / cd / radio station / temperature setting.

No smoking.

Plastic bags for wet gear / boots EVEN IF THEY ARE IN THE BOOT OF THE CAR.

You're getting dumped out at the club unless your gaffe is actually on my way home.

If your gaffe is on my way home you're getting dumped at the entrance to your estate.

Any other suggestions??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Take up camogie, ya sissy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Any other suggestions??

Don't offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No commenting on choice of route / speed / gear / lane

Thats grand as long as you can drive properly. If your sitting in the middle or outside lane with nothing inside you, driving with your fog lights on, indeicating right going straight through a roundabout, going right from the left lane of a roundabout/ straight from the right lane (assuming normal roundabout rules) then I'm pulling you up on it.

The only time most people will be told of the wrong things they are doing is when others are in the car with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

draffodx wrote: »
    Don't offer?

x2

i ended up car pooling to college with an ignorant ****.

he half invited himself and i thought "how bad can it be" getting a few euro off the fuel etc.

pretty bad, thats how bad. commenting on not liking what i listen to on the radio, putting his feet on the dash plastics, malling my steamed up windows in the rain, getting crumbs everywhere, never being on time, occasionally not paying making it totally un beneficial to me.

in the end i stopped bringing him because you cant put a price on your own sanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

andyseadog wrote: »
    x2

i ended up car pooling to college with an ignorant ****.

he half invited himself and i thought "how bad can it be" getting a few euro off the fuel etc.

pretty bad, thats how bad. commenting on not liking what i listen to on the radio, putting his feet on the dash plastics.........................

........Mirror, indicate, brake to a stop, open door and fcuk the cnut out of the car never to set foot in it again.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

draffodx wrote: »
    Don't offer?

Which is what I did when I shared on a commute. Constantly being told that I should go the other way because she didn't like the road I took. Then being told to slow down when I am doing the limit etc...

Warned her once, declined after that.
    pretty bad, thats how bad. commenting on not liking what i listen to on the radio, putting his feet on the dash plastics, malling my steamed up windows in the rain, getting crumbs everywhere, never being on time, occasionally not paying making it totally un beneficial to me.

Your former passenger wouldn't live to tell the tale of how that ended if he did it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

No fapping allowed in the back seat on those dark evenings...

MugMugs wrote: »
    Your former passenger wouldn't live to tell the tale of how that ended if he did it to me.

i'm mr. detailing OCD with my cars generally, but i bought this car with the intention of dogging it because of the miles im doing in it. the damage/ dirt of the car didn't bother me, just the principle of the fact he didn't respect my stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No food or smoking seems reasonable.
    Crap/bags/etc in the boot.
    If I drive I decide route.
    Music is just radio when we pooling so whatever is on will work.
    A few bob for petrol per week - this is the least anyone can do that gets free transport home.

Essentially, same rules as in a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

I used to car pool a lot on road trips to the west. There was a lot of water sports kit involved. Company car so free fuel back then...

I was very strict on smoking / eating dirt in car. Also, you had to put your wetsuit in a bin liner (preferably double bagged) in the boot.

Remember driving back from the north in a van with a bloke who had peed in his suit and had left it on top of the kit bag. Stink was unreal.

Hence the fascism.

Pet hate: Moany, moody, spoilt passenger. Typically this was a Girl thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

No Durians allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

i bought this car with the intention of dogging

o_O :pac:

I generally allow smoking in my car as I smoke myself.

That said, when a certain mate is home from the UK, I blitz the car and carry on that I NEVER smoke in my car.

Generally, drivers who smoke are clean smokers in cars. He's a nightmare. Ash going everywhere and a refusal to point the cigarette out the window... Drives me nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

There is plenty of generall etiquette when in someone elses car i reckon, but so many people don't give a Sh*t about their own car so it wouldn't even dawn on them to care about yours.

Its not comprehendable to me to smoke in someone elses car, even not 100% confortable if they smoke. And eating I wouldn't do either.
    As for whats on the radio thats more something to laugh about than anything i wouldn't be upset if someone asked or changed the radio.

As for consistently telling me to take a different route than the one I want to take or telling me what lights i should or shouldn't have on that will get them a direct trip to a bus stop or looking for a good pair of runners :)

as for the detail that you have OP, I think your better off driving solo
    and living a longer and less stressfull life for yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I carpool fairly regularly, our rules are.

1. I pickup/drop off or you pick me up/drop off from where is convenient for both of us, if that involves walking to a 5 minutes to a main road or getting a bus so be it.

2. If we swap cars we pay nothing to each other.

3. You ride only, you pay per Kilometer, 25 cent /km (for my car) theres a calculator available, it goes down the more people ride in the car.

4. If your over 5 minutes late your lift is gone.

5. Call in advance if you not going to turn up.

6. No mucky shoes.

7. No messy food.

8. The driver sets the route.

9. Any large luggage should be agreed before hand.

10. Any alteration to pickup or dropoff time will be agreed at least 2 hours before the pickup/drop off time. (e.g. finishing work late)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

i bought this car with the intention of dogging
    Keep the family away from TV3 for a bit. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

MugMugs wrote: »
    Constantly being told that I should go the other way because she didn't like the road I took. Then being told to slow down when I am doing the limit etc...

Warned her once, declined after that.

So basically it was like driving your Mrs around :D

Thank god my car can't take passengers :cool::cool:

mrs crilly wrote: »

Any lass I've ever done a line with, knows better ! :)

Stark wrote: »
    o_O :pac:

dogging in a sense of not having to worry about keeping it clean, worry about where i park it, worry if it picks up a scuff or a stone chip etc...

a car capable on doing maybe 500+ miles a week with as little tlc needed as possible :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

rule one should be no grassing to the Insurance Company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

You got one of these? :pac:

peel_p50_and_trident_on_their_way_back_large_30714.jpg

bijapos wrote: »
    You got one of these? :pac:

Kinda. While the seats in the back of my car are very comfy (ahem) they are only there for decoration or people who weigh less than 4 stone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I carpool fairly regularly, our rules are.

1. I pickup/drop off or you pick me up/drop off from where is convenient for both of us, if that involves walking to a 5 minutes to a main road or getting a bus so be it.

2. If we swap cars we pay nothing to each other.

3. You ride only, you pay per Kilometer, 25 cent /km (for my car) theres a calculator available, it goes down the more people ride in the car.

4. If your over 5 minutes late your lift is gone.

5. Call in advance if you not going to turn up.

6. No mucky shoes.

7. No messy food.

8. The driver sets the route.

9. Any large luggage should be agreed before hand.

10. Any alteration to pickup or dropoff time will be agreed at least 2 hours before the pickup/drop off time. (e.g. finishing work late)

Wow folks this is unbelievable...
    It's just too much thinking and organising to be worth it...

I've often given lifts to folks in/out of work but never taken lifts as I'd be furtherest away.. IF it's not out of my way I wouldn't dream of charging or asking for money as they're a mate... Have turned down folks I wouldn't consider a mate because why would I want to carpool with a stranger or worse some slob...

Got the odd bottle of wine at Christmas which I was really happy about as it showed appreciation...

bbam wrote: »

Wait till you check out the rules on calling shotgun! www.shotgunrules.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

bbam wrote: »

I've often given lifts to folks in/out of work but never taken lifts as I'd be furtherest away.. IF it's not out of my way I wouldn't dream of charging or asking for money as they're a mate... Have turned down folks I wouldn't consider a mate because why would I want to carpool with a stranger or worse some slob...

Got the odd bottle of wine at Christmas which I was really happy about as it showed appreciation...

Its very popular over here, but people prefer the rules clear up front.

Checkout www.karzoo.eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭emmbaasee

Wait till you check out the rules on calling shotgun! www.shotgunrules.com

Classic. Love it !!:D