Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25 YR OLD CARS WHICH MIGHT INCREASE N VALUE WHEN 30 YRS OLD

• 05-03-2012 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭

Hey

love classics but dont have the 5k or so to buy something tasty,with only a couple of grand to spare was thinking about buying 25yr old car and keeping it in dry garage 5 yr years -then either run around with cheap tax or sell on for a few quid profit.Here are a few contenders but please add ur own

RANGE ROVER 3.5 VOGUE

JAGUAR XJ6 XJ40

ESCORT XR3I

BMW 7 SERIES

MERCEDES S CLASS W126

MERCEDES G WAGEN W461

ETC ETC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

If the road tax rates get locked down anytime soon they wont be worth cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

goochy wrote: »
    Hey

love classics but dont have the 5k or so to buy something tasty,with only a couple of grand to spare was thinking about buying 25yr old car and keeping it in dry garage 5 yr years -then either run around with cheap tax or sell on for a few quid profit.Here are a few contenders but please add ur own

RANGE ROVER 3.5 VOGUE

JAGUAR XJ6 XJ40

ESCORT XR3I

BMW 7 SERIES

MERCEDES S CLASS W126

MERCEDES G WAGEN W461

ETC ETC

Yeah , it's an idea and if you have a good dry storage area that's not being used. You will also need patience for 5 years cos inbetween you are going to paying massive tax on these yokes. The G wagen you won't buy cheap particularly if its diesel, they are quite rare and sought after. Best of luck if you decide to proceed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'm with carchaeologist. I don't think it would be wise to "invest" in cars that will go significantly up in value when they qualify for €52 classic motor tax

Should this perk be removed or locked to cars already over 30 years old, most of those cars will have only parts / scrap value in this country

That said, I own a 26 year old car myself that costs €1,683 motor tax per year which I can no longer afford. So I am still hoping the perk stays.

I don't think the perk costs the state any money, for if you removed it, many a classic would simply be taken off the road, not generating any revenue for the state (no excise duty, no motor tax, no VAT)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

My 2 cents worth:

Merc 500 or 560 SEC fully loaded and unmolested.

BMW 635 CSI, ditto.

Late model Capris.

Golf Cabriolet.

Alfa 164

Saab 900, 16 or turbo, 3 dr or cabriolet.

Bentley Turbo R (maybe too expensive)

205 Gti, or any number of hot hatches.

Ford Sierra 5 dr. better if its a XR4x4 or 2.0is

Sierra XR4i, unmolested.

Porsche 924/944/928.

Audi 80/90 Quattro.

Audi 100/200 Avant Quattro, fully loaded.

Audi V8.

Maestro/Montego turbo.

Ford Granada Mk III.

Ford Orion Ghia (in two tone colours).

Merc W124 Coupe, fully loaded.

BX Gti.

AX

Hiace / Liteace / Vanette / Urvan.

Uno Turbo i.e.

Renault Espace.

Lada.

Nissan 300ZX / Toyota Supra / Mitsubishi Starion, unmolested.

By unmolested I mean no major change to suspension, body or engine. If it has a fat exhaust or different alloys etc this can be easily changed.

Some cars its doesnt matter about the spec whether its fully loaded or not, others its important.

Consider as well that petrol will keep going up, could easily be €2.50-€3 in 5-10 years and it will be very difficult to shift a 18-22 mpg V8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Seems to me that anything made by Ford always seems to end up being collected and selling for more than other comparable cars, even though most Fords over the years were distinctly average in all departments.

I would also say (leaving exotic stuff to one side) Peugoet 205, 405 and 306, 106/Saxo, Vauxhall Nova (God knows why but some seem to love them), Honda Civics, Toyota Corollas, VW Golf/Jetta Mk2, Nissan Micra, Fiat Uno, Citreon Xantia, New shape Minis, Volvo 850 and the original Renault Clio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i'd say pretty well everything on your list is distincly average or below

But those are the sorts of cars ordinary people buy to relive their youth and not everyone can afford a Porsche.

Below average, I wouldn't say so. A Mk2 Golf for example is vastly superior to any other similar sized car from the late 1980s. Golf or Mk4 Escort? The Golf drives better, is better packaged, rusts less, is more reliable, is more economical and in GTI 16v form is pretty quick. Better than average for it's class i would have said. But the Escort will probably end up being more valuable, probably because they've all fallen to bits by now.

wot rot! A golf (unless its a GTI) is a bland car,overpriced to buy with over-priced spares

corktina wrote: »
    wot rot! A golf (unless its a GTI) is a bland car,overpriced to buy with over-priced spares

That's your opinion. I just happen to disagree.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

i'd say pretty well everything on your list is distincly average or below

Thing is he said a couple of grand, all the cars I mention come in well under €3k with the exception of the Bentley.

Some of the cars mentioned are already going up, such as the Golf Cabriolet, a Golf II GTD 3 DR would be a good buy too. It wasn't that long ago that a decent MK1 or MKII Escort were being scrapped as they were worth nothing. Admittedly they are both, especially the MKII, iconic rally cars from arguably the golden age of rally sport, but it still doesnt escape the fact that they were worth peanuts at some time.

A clean 90's Civic, Corsa or Subaru will be worth a few bob in years to come as the Celtic Tiger generation look to buy cars that they drove in their youth, its the way things go.

Its just a matter of buying cheap at the right time, storing them properly and flogging them at the right time. handy money if you time it right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

While this can be a good idea, it is risky. Times are uncertian, the cheap tax on classics is something that could change in any budget, although personally I doubt it will, it may go up, but not to the levels of more modern cars. The 30 year rolling exemption from main stream tax might be iffy too.

In terms of cars to make money on, I suppose you have to look at what is chaep as chips now, but worth a bit in a few years, that way if it goes tits up the loss is small. You want cars that everyone drove but are all but gone now.

5 or 6 years ago the Renault 5, Mk2 Jetta and Golf, MK 1 and 2 Fiesta and Boxy Starlets were to be had for next to, and in some cases, nothing, but they are all worth a bit now and are increasing in value.

Don't forget Jeeps are popular and are big business now too, Range Rovers, Hilux, 70 Series Landcrusiers, old Pajeros, Patrols and to a certian extent Troopers, maybe little Suzuki SJs too. The old BJ 40 Landcruisers are making a fortune now but there was nothing about them a few years back

Cheapish future classics at the moment :confused:

Jaguar XJ 40, big tank, comfortable and the Jag name, XJS already popular by now

MK2 and Mk 3 fiesta, pretty rare on the roads now

Fiat Uno if you can find one

Japanese cars like the older Civic, RX7, maybe MR-2, Corolla E80 and E90

Ford Scorpio, that would be a long wait though

Mercedes S class, in Particular the 500 and 560, especially the SEC

Any Saab, now that they are gone, it maybe the same as a famous artist dying, 900's 9000

Any Lancia you can find with no rot :rolleyes:

Older Audis are rare but will be popular as well as VW scirocco

And the cars boy racers had, Skyline, first of the Imprezas, Civic, Galanza and Integra, but they will be around a while before having "classic" status

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

Scrap prices increase everyday....as the metals get rare,r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

A totally standard low mileage very early Subaru impreza turbo would be a good investment , impossible to find now not to mind in 10 years time. Search all the websites and try to find an unmodified low mileage impreza turbo today . I know you said 5 years but in 10 years these will be very rare.

i wonder if its the case that as more cars reach classic status, older models get squeezed out at the other end.

when I started Cortina-ing there was only one mk3 around the place , all the rest being mk1 and 2...now you hardly see a mk1 and mk5s are pretty common. What hope for a 100E or a sit up and beg Anglia I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

My original post focused on large engine/ tax vehicles as they are cheap as chips at present, not small cars -there is a market for them now! - road tax is low for them and they will never be worth as much as a classic jag or mc. ! i will get around paying road tax for five years !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

goochy wrote: »
    My original post focused on large engine/ tax vehicles as they are cheap as chips at present, not small cars -there is a market for them now! - road tax is low for them and they will never be worth as much as a classic jag or mc. ! i will get around paying road tax for five years !

I can't see any Jag ,20 to 25 year olds today becoming an appreciating sought after classic in the next 5 to 10 years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Diegodelizia

Why wait 5 years?

1) Buy post-1973 car in the UK, where it does not qualify for tax exemption
    2) Bring back to Ireland
    3) VRT €200
    4) Resell

This way the risk of things changing in 5 years' time will be removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

i wonder if its the case that as more cars reach classic status, older models get squeezed out at the other end.

when I started Cortina-ing there was only one mk3 around the place , all the rest being mk1 and 2...now you hardly see a mk1 and mk5s are pretty common. What hope for a 100E or a sit up and beg Anglia I wonder?

That's because you singlehandedly imported most of the Cortinas into Ireland, not even Ford imported as many as they were built in Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

ur missing point - these cars wont b cheap as chips because of all the points u have mentioned - also modern classics are cheaper here than in uk due to high road tax / lack of demand . none of the cars I mentioned which i really like fall into the 1973 category either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Hard to forecast what anything will be like here in 5 years time !! Maybe the new tiger will be a year old and people will be starting to buy Luxury items again , who would have forecast where we are now 5 years ago. Classic motoring is a bit of nostalgia really , many people buying cars they either drove when they were younger or admired. Best piece of advice I got was buy what you really like and then you have it and you like it even if it doesn't appreciate :p However my experience with all cars is that they are better when driven than when stored , give less trouble and are more likely to be maintained than when they go into the back of a shed and are forgotten about :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

tbh, it's very hard to know.

If you are interested in a nice car, and are prepared to mind it properly, and not let it detiorate, and - and here's the key thing - are prepared to buy on the premise that it may NOT go up at all, and would still like to own it in 5 years time, then go ahead and knock yourself out. That would be a win-win.

But, as an investment............nah. If you want something that really won't depreciate, you need to buy something really special....and that means low-volume made cars. Which more or less rules out anything made in the last 25 years.

Nope, if you want a good classic, that will actually never lose money, and may appreciate, then you need to buy something that if it disappears, will be actually missed.

1925 Rolls, 1908 Rex motorbike. At least you'll get your money back AND get to use it - unlike that shower of pricks in the Banks....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

To be fair it's not a bad time to buy at all. I know people say cars (dailys) are a luxury but any family will tell you different. A second (classic) car is most definitely a luxury though and your average classic has fallen in value by cq. 40% the last few years. Those just outside the 30 year tax exemption are worth SFA at the moment and will certainly be worth more once they reach the big 3-O AND the economy has improved.

Would I take a chance on investing for profit? Not a hope because it's difficult to predict what will be in demand and you never know when the govt will put an end to the rolling 30 year exemption. If I saw something I like which was say 83/84 for small money I would take the chance for sure and wouldn't be dissapointed if it didn't appreciate as it would be something I would be happy to keep.