Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

speeding offence on N4 at Liffey Valley

• 05-03-2012 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Hi ye all,

I just received notice of a 80 euro fine from the gardai for a speeding offence in a rental car. (and 30 euros from the rental agency also)

I know I was speeding, but did so in order to change lanes to move clear of what I thought was a broken down van at the side of the motorway with perhaps someone out changing their tyres, I thought they had shot at me when I saw the flash etc etc..

Anyway, I'm not a resident of Ireland nor do I have an Irish driving license...
    and I'll be arsed if I pay the thing and just want to know what awaits me.. regarding court, well, I don't plan a trip back to go to the hearing.

Thanking ye all in advance for any advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Johntegr

Pay it on numerous reasons.

If it was a rental company that operates in numerous countries it'll be kept on record and noted for when you want to rent from them again.

If you plan on visiting here again.

It's only €80.

You wont get points.

Unless this car had some serious powahhh, it probably would've been easier/quicker to stop before whatever was blocking the road.

Our country is broke, please contribute your €80 to keep us afloat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

the rental company will simply charge it to your card.

Pay up, you done it, bang to rights Guvner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 the.hcd

Johntegr wrote: »
    Pay it on numerous reasons.
    [snip]

Unless this car had some serious powahhh, it probably would've been easier/quicker to stop before whatever was blocking the road.

Our country is broke, please contribute your €80 to keep us afloat.

I don't think the rental agency really care if I have am a wanton murderer or have a point or two on my license. I've got a few foreign parking tickets abroad also and the rental agency never do anything other than charge 30 euro for providing my address to the local authorities.

There were obviously other choices possible, on the spur of the moment, I chose one to speed up and change lane to the outside.. I did it with safety in mind.. whatever the circumstances, I am just asking, as a foreign resident, with a foreign (continental european) license, what happens next?
    I don't think Ireland has any juristiction over my license and don't think I'll be extradited on this particular occasion..

I contribute enough to Ireland from abroad as it is.. I even buy itchy aran sweaters, however I don't feel like contributing on this particular occasion ..

corktina wrote: »

unlikely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I wouldn't pay.

I presume you're not living in Ireland? And for summons do guards have to deliver them? Wonder what would happen there. Nice little holiday for some guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

the.hcd wrote: »
    unlikely

They are responsible for whoever is driving the car at the time, so the fine will go to them, if you don't pay it they will pay it and then charge it to your card with a fee for having to do it included.

draffodx wrote: »
    They are responsible for whoever is driving the car at the time, so the fine will go to them, if you don't pay it they will pay it and then charge it to your card with a fee for having to do it included.

All they are responsible for is providing the address of the renter. They don't collect fines (apart from the toll booth on the M50).

I've just reported my credit card as stolen nonetheless..
    They'll have a hard time getting money from it now...

JerCotter7 wrote: »
    I wouldn't pay.

I presume you're not living in Ireland? And for summons do guards have to deliver them? Wonder what would happen there. Nice little holiday for some guard.

Yep, that's makes it about 15 years since I left Ireland..

Hope they send a nice ban garda!
    Will of course keep you updated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

corktina wrote: »

Pay up, you done it, bang to rights Guvner.

Gawden bennet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Mate, you sound like a right twat, just grow a set of balls and pay up for your mistake.

What mistake ye auld bat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

This is coming across as more of a wind up with each post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How fast did you go?
    I'm guessing if the mods do an IP check, they'll spot a rereg...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭cml387

What advice are you looking for OP?

You obviously don't intend to do anything about this fine, so why post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I don't think the rental agency really care if I have am a wanton murderer or have a point or two on my license. I've got a few foreign parking tickets abroad also and the rental agency never do anything other than charge 30 euro for providing my address to the local authorities.

There were obviously other choices possible, on the spur of the moment, I chose one to speed up and change lane to the outside.. I did it with safety in mind.. whatever the circumstances, I am just asking, as a foreign resident, with a foreign (continental european) license, what happens next?
    I don't think Ireland has any juristiction over my license and don't think I'll be extradited on this particular occasion..

I contribute enough to Ireland from abroad as it is.. I even buy itchy aran sweaters, however I don't feel like contributing on this particular occasion ..
    You've already been told. They'll charge it to your credit card, as per the rental agreement you signed. Reporting your credit card as stolen makes no difference - you're still liable for all charges incurred before the 'theft'. Have some common sense - is your credit rating really only worth €80 to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

Thankfully not the same one your mother made by giving birth to you ;)

100%, it could get quite entertaining, roll it there Roisin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

If you'll never come back to Ireland, never rent a car with the same company again and did not pay your car rental by credit card, then yeah, you'll probably get away with it ;)

Me, I'd cough up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

All they are responsible for is providing the address of the renter. They don't collect fines (apart from the toll booth on the M50).

I've just reported my credit card as stolen nonetheless..
    They'll have a hard time getting money from it now...

...real upstanding individual eh?

re:
    Ya I was speeding

but they cant touch me

I wont pay anyway

I've cancelled my credit card just in case they tried to

I have other motoring offenses yada yada

I think the country could do without you obviously valuable contributions of buying the odd scratchy aran jumper imo...

cml387 wrote: »
    What advice are you looking for OP?

You obviously don't intend to do anything about this fine, so why post?

for the benefit of other who ask the same questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

for the benefit of other who ask the same questions.

Aw thats really lovely!

...and i took you for someone who doesn't give a s*** :rolleyes:

gozunda wrote: »
    ...real upstanding individual eh?

get a grip.

10 km/h more than the speed limit warrents this?
    I maintain that the speed I was travelling at was as a result of what I believed to be a safety manoeuver. I didn't want to fly by a van parked on the side of a 3 lane national road while the owner was out changing his tyre.

I'd prefer my day in court to explain this, but don't feel like travelling back just for a court appearance when the courts decide.

I'll pay the fine if judged to have driven in a reckless and unsafe manner.
    I don't believe I have and want to contest it. simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Pay if you want. Don't if you don't. Why discuss here.

I think you're just trolling anyway.

Closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OP banned for insulting other users.