Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on Triumph gt6

• 03-03-2012 5:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭

I'm buying my first classic in the next few weeks, was originally looking at the Mgb but I don't like the plasticy bumpers, but I do like the price.

Then I saw this:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3083147
    I have not rang about it yet and there isn't much info. Supplied; from reading forums the body work is the bit to look out for, as the engine,gearbox etc. Can be replaced easily enough.
    Anybody have any advice for me? Do people haggle much when buying classics? My budget was 5k, but this car is super looking so.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

At that price it might be worth asking in the Triumph Club of Ireland.
    Someone there might know it, or there might be info on the GT6.

Looks smashing but at that price it would want to be mint!

Have you driven a 70s car like this before?

Also, have a read here:
    http://www.vtr.org/GT6/GT6-buying.shtml
    http://www.classicsmonthly.com/files/2010/11/gt6drivebuy.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭milhous

Nope I've never even being in a 70's car. But I do like the look and idea of them. I'll be doing 15-20 mile a week in it prob. just for tipping to the shop etc. Plus the odd Sunday drive added to that. I don't really want a project, I want a ready to go classic, so something mint is what I'm in the Market for. I'm expecting that i'l be getting work done to it as and when it needs, I'm keeping 1k as a back up fund for it. Would it be hard to get someone (who is used to rootin with these, or possibly a mechanic) to come take a look at it with me.?
    Thanks for the links.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭salysol

milhous wrote: »
    Nope I've never even being in a 70's car. But I do like the look and idea of them. I'll be doing 15-20 mile a week in it prob. just for tipping to the shop etc. Plus the odd Sunday drive added to that. I don't really want a project, I want a ready to go classic, so something mint is what I'm in the Market for. I'm expecting that i'l be getting work done to it as and when it needs, I'm keeping 1k as a back up fund for it. Would it be hard to get someone (who is used to rootin with these, or possibly a mechanic) to come take a look at it with me.?
    Thanks for the links.!
    I think the AA do a pre purchase inspection for €350 or ask Ken Nolan of the triumph club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 damo244

Hi milhous that is a nice car but don"t be afraid to haggle as every car owner will tell you their car is worth thousands to them, but its only worth what someone wants to pay for it stick to your budget and if you don"t get it move on their are plenty of classics out there and with your budget very nice ones but do your homework on which one you choose before handing over your hard earned cash.some parts on the gt6 are hard to get and can be expensive so think first.join a classic car club they are full of usefull information they can offer cheap insurance and advice on buying a classic and its cheap to join €25 to €50 a year,i bought my first classic car last year and learning more everyday:eek: good luck in your search and let us know how you get on oh and think how practical the car has to be do you want only a two seater or do you want to carry more people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TRNIALL

6 Grand is Strong Money for that Car in this Resession it would need to be Very Good,you would need a lot more Details of what was Done when it was Restored and who it was Restored by and also Photo Evidence of Restoration,from the Pics it looks Black if so thats not an original Colour also ask the Seller the reason he is selling and how long he has owned the Car and did he Import it.If you are 6ft or Bigger you will Struggle for Headroom in the Car also they become quite Warm/Hot inside Cabin as the Manifold and Exhaust runs infront and under the Drivers side.

Where abouts are you Living,might be able to Help,long time Triumph Owner.

Hi, I live in Dundalk. I'll only take the car if it's in perfect condition as I really want a car that's ready to go. It definitely looks like a respray alright. Would it be a concern if he did the work himself or should of it being done by a specialist?I'm just 5'11 but I'l manage with the room. Might compile a list of questions that need asking and give him a call this evening. If he passes the 'phone test' and you have a fair bit of knowledge about them I'd be happy to pay you for your time to come take a look with me, as I really wouldn't know were to start looking for trouble.

Hi milhous if you go to look at it check if the engine is warm you need to start it from cold to see if theres blue smoke or any other nasties happening out the back end,don"t be afraid to lift carpets,rear seats if any checking for rust or accident damage,when the engine is warm look at all guages temp,oil pressure etc ,under the bonnet lift off the oil cap check for a white milky scum if its visible you could be looking at a haedgasket replacement :eek:.if you get to drive it which he dosen"t have to let you unless you are insured to drive classics,listen out for any whineing at the rear some triumphs suffer diff problems.ask as many questions as you can think of,history is a big help when buying any car so the more their is with it the better.don"t let your heart rule your head if he is genuine he has nothing to hide,but if you have your doughts :confused: walk away theres plenty more out there.let us know how you get on

Thanks damo, if I get as far as taking a look at I I'll def be taking a mechanic/enthusiast with. From what people have being telling me that car should be pretty perfect for that money. What will be good questions for when I ring him? I'm Pretty much going to ask him who restored it and if it's in perfect condition, then let him know what my budget is and tell him I'll be taking someone who knows there stuff with me. Just so I won't be wasting my time or his.

No, it would not be a concern if he done the Work Himself providing its been done to a Good Standard and the only way that that can be seen is by Inspecting the Car Carefully and looking at Photographic Evidence of the Restoration Work Done,the First part of these Cars that attracts the Dreaded Rot is the Cills and inside the Footwell/Bulkhead sides,on the Driverside you need to Pull back the Carpet on the Driverside Righthand Sidewall and Inspect for Rot or a Repair, if Repaired to a Good Standard Happy Days, the same applies for the Passenger Side, if you dont like what you See Walk Away and Keep Your Money.
    Mechanical things can be fixed Cheap Enough,Bodywork and Painting dont come Cheap so Inspect Carefully.
    If you go to OKISTAGS Post about his Sons Spitfire look at the Photos, that will give you some Idea as the GT6 and Spitfire are Basically the Same Body and Chassis except the GT6 has the 6 cylinder Engine and a Roof.

The other thing i was wondering is if it matters if he used all original triumph parts for the restoration, I pressume the more original the better? Or is that a non issue as he couldn't use any parts other than triumph ones.?

We'll consider that one as a Non Issue,not all Original Parts are Available so there has to be some Comprimise.

And it's sold. Must have being decent, only up a day. There is only one other for sale in Ireland that I can find.. And it needs some work.. Back to the drawing bord.

Thats a good idea milhous to bring someone who knows what to look out for,if you don"t get it or its gone let me know i will pm you with a few other cars up for sale in a magazine i subscribe to in your price bracket.might intrest you,good luck with the viewing:)

PM sent.
    I was pondering how much a gd service would cost for a GT6 if no major work was needed.
    I'd rather the black but could live with this.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2882754

If 1400 would get her into nick I'd really consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

If the blue one is still on a UK reg then the VRT would need to be factored in

Yeah, I think I'll stick to my guns with the ready to go mint car. The search will go on.

The VRT on that Car is at the Low Rate,any other Car that you bring in from the UK thats pre 82 will cost you the exact same ammount.
    VRT on a pre 82 car is 200 euro i think,then you need to factor in Shipping and Transportation costs plus your own time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

Yeah, I think I'll stick to my guns with the ready to go mint car. The search will go on.

The Triumph GT6 or any Triumph are great classics and parts are easy to get with huge amount of suppliers in the UK. To work on the GT6 and Spitfire are just a pleasure as the design of the bonnett allows easy access. TRNIALL is right do sit in one height can be an issue !! There is no better man than TRNIALL to give it an eye over, Knows them inside out and all the pitfalls.

TRNIALL and I are long standing members of Triumph Classic Owners Club known as the TCOC. There are a number of GT6's in the club and I am sure if you can along to a meeting you could get into one and see if its a good fit :).

There is no shortage of advice in TCOC as I said a few GT6's in the club and most owners work on them themselves.

Best of luck in your search and if we hear of any for sale will let you know.

Thanks guys, might come along some day. If someone could pm me details that'd be great. I tried the site but couldn't look at the forums without signing in, and I couldn't find anywhere to register. But then again I'm trying to navigate on the iPad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

You cant view the forum without being a member. It would be a good idea for you to join, and it is not much. I joined last year, and got great advice and guidance from top lads. Which all helped me while sourcing my 6. I got a belter and can safely say, that I would not have ended up with such a good car but for the help of fellow enthusiasts.
    The next meeting is the 25th in Weston Aerodrome at 10. I would highly recommend getting down to a meet and a looking/feeling :o the cars.

Best of luck and might see you around ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

I had a look around that blue car when the current owner bought it (about 5 years ago). It was a good, solid car then and if its been stored properly then it should be worth a look even if its just to get familiar with the look and feel of them. If I remember correctly, its located somewhere near Rathangan.

That black one looks very like a car that was restored by a Triumph Sports Six member in Cork who sold it immediately afterwards (again about five years ago).

I used to have a GT6 and would be happy to check out a car with you if there's one for sale in the Carlow/Kildare areas.

They're incredibly easy to work on apart from some issues with access to wiring under the dash and removal of the rear hubs. An ideal starter classic with a beautiful sound from the engine.

Thanks guys, I might just join you there. I just emailed the man with the blue gt6 and I might just take you up on your offer 245. Now I'm a complete starter with classic cars so to get the car up to speed that will be going to a mechanic and then hope to learn a bit about mechanics as small things go wrong over the next few years.

Well from the google searches I carried out on this I'm almost sure the owner is on here. But I'l post anyway, this car just caught my eye,it's very different than the gt6 but it's so beautiful. I'd be a bit worried that because it's a conversion( from the 1.6 to the 2.8) I might or a mechanic might run into things out of the norm. I saw on one of the sites that the speedo and tacho are not working, now it's not a big concern but If was to buy it i'd like it to work. Anyway just sorta throwing ideas out there. Thanks.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2959502

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C274807#

I Can't help looking :p

Good site, as is pistonheads, VRT is €200.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Well from the google searches I carried out on this I'm almost sure the owner is on here. But I'l post anyway,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2959502

I'm well out of my depth here as I've never had any interest in Fords but if that's owned by 'Corktina' on this site it may well be Sth African which can mean bigger engines than we got on this side of the world. Even if it is a conversion then it all boils down to the skill of the converter (and the attitude of your insurance company - I had great trouble insuring a 2.5 litre Spitfire).

OP - as an ex-GT6 owner I'd be of the opinion that they're a reasonably specialised purchase as they are quite compromised - climbing out with dignity is an art, only room for one passenger, jiggly, sometimes crashy ride and about the same height as a lorry tyre :p. They're streets ahead of the MGB IMHO, a blast to drive and a hell of a looker but a two door two seater can be impractical, especially if you have family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

I am sure CorKtina will be along soon, but the Mk3 Cortina has been sold

Wow cars move quickly, I opened a few different tabs with cars I liked the look of, all put up in the last week or two, and when I rang they were sold.. Crazy!
    Anyway lads if you know of anyone selling a mint sporty looking classic, pm me, or lash it up on this thread.