Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Won my 1st comp :)

• 03-03-2012 11:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭

Woohoo won my first comp yesterday in Gowran open Singles with 42 pts :) Raging it wasnt a GUI qualifier as would have dropped from 18 to 16! I guess some of the practice is paying off thank god, roll on summer! Il shut up now ;)
    Over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Well done Tones, good shooting and nice to win your first competition.....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

well done tones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

Nice one.

It's nice to get your first win under the belt. Kinda takes the pressure off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭JOSman

Well done. Keep the head down.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Congrats. 40+ is always a great confidence builder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Cheers guys, just shot 43 pts in Mount Wolseley Open singles,be some craic if i won that one too :) Greens were sanded there aswel! lol. Reckon Im after getting chopped from 18.2 to 16.1 as it was gui qualifying

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Maclock

Tones69 wrote: »
    Cheers guys, just shot 43 pts in Mount Wolseley Open singles,be some craic if i won that one too :) Greens were sanded there aswel! lol. Reckon Im after getting chopped from 18.2 to 16.1 as it was gui qualifying
    That's great shooting, well done.
    The course must be in great condition to say it's a qualifying comp. Our course is still so soft that it'll probably be April at the earliest before i can try and get cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Nice one - sounds like the game is solid for this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Good stuff!!

Congratulations.

Cheers dudes, everything came together yesterday and today just a few silly mistakes causing the doubles. Course is in great nick, rough a bit hairy in spots but we try n stay out of that! :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Fair play Tones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Cheers dudes, everything came together yesterday and today just a few silly mistakes causing the doubles. Course is in great nick, rough a bit hairy in spots but we try n stay out of that! :)

Tones remind me again how your of 18? made a few mistakes but can still go 6 and 7 shots better than your hcap?

golfnut1 wrote: »
    Tones remind me again how your of 18? made a few mistakes but can still go 6 and 7 shots better than your hcap?

Im off 18 because i started golf last summer shooting over well 100, got 16 assigned to me after handing in cards which were all over 100 (which was a joke at the time as i should have been given at least 20+), played a good few comps last summer just for experience, got up to 17.2. Club put me up from 17.2 to 18.2 at end of the year there as i wasnt able to get cut in any of the 16 comps i played (shot 3 buffers near the end i think).

I Said id practice my ass off over winter and try get down to single figures by september 2012. I had two 3 putts today and a few silly mistakes that led to those double bogeys thats what i meant, does that answer ur question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Im off 18 because i started golf last summer shooting over well 100, got 16 assigned to me after handing in cards which were all over 100 (which was a joke at the time as i should have been given at least 20+), played a good few comps last summer just for experience, got up to 17.2. Club put me up from 17.2 to 18.2 at end of the year there as i wasnt able to get cut in any of the 16 comps i played (shot 3 buffers near the end i think).

I Said id practice my ass off over winter and try get down to single figures by september 2012. I had two 3 putts today and a few silly mistakes that led to those double bogeys thats what i meant, does that answer ur question?

Chill man, chill... Hes only playing with you..

Good solid scoring BTW, you should easily be down 5 or 6 shots by the end of the summmer if you keep that form going..

good stuff.

Chill man, chill... Hes only playing with you..

Good solid scoring BTW, you should easily be down 5 or 6 shots by the end of the summmer if you keep that form going..

good stuff.

lol im chilled im just trying to answer his question :0 And thanks, il give it a lash, hopefully keep the 0.1's from coming back along the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Good shooting Tones, maybe you should have a thread where you keep track of your progress? ;)

Seriously though, great going, looks like the handicap will topple

Good shooting Tones, maybe you should have a thread where you keep track of your progress? ;)

Seriously though, great going, looks like the handicap will topple

Not a f%&kin hope after last time haha, cheers man. Be nice to get her down to 14 before May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

I'm not having a pop off you or anything I'm just saying. Threads like this will always drag out the begrudgers. Especially if you say you could of done even better. Expect a little bite back from people who aren't capable or who haven't tried to achieve the same. I'm not one of them though, serious shooting. Well done

dines08 wrote: »
    I'm not having a pop off you or anything I'm just saying. Threads like this will always drag out the begrudgers. Especially if you say you could of done even better. Expect a little bite back from people who aren't capable or who haven't tried to achieve the same. I'm not one of them though, serious shooting. Well done

I know exactly what ur sayin, i didnt mean it in such a way as i shot a great score but i played crap or anythin ha, i put together a very good round, i got some great up and downs with some nice chip and runs and bunker play then i missed a few silly putts (and lost a ball off the tee on 14 and still made a bogey, which really gave me a boost of confidence!).

By the way those books by bob rotella help a lot on the mind side of things, wasnt adding up scores or getting ahead of myself right til the last stroke. Wolseley isnt an easy course either so i was very happy with the outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

Well its working so. A minimum improvement of 16, 17 shots in such a short period of time is amazing.

Cheers man, think im after being cut from 18.2 to 16.1 there anyway il know for sure later. Just added my putts up there too, 19 front 9 and 12 back 9 for total 31 putts! 44 out and 39 in for +11 total, goes to show you putting really is for dough! Not worried about the front 9 though as its a bit of a headwrecker when the greens are so heavily sanded and hollow tined

EDIT: Just thinking, played baltinglass last summer and shot 115 (here it is http://golfshot.com/Rounds/Detail/163-5215083-5215259) and went back last week and shot 86 lol. Anyway im really on this mission to see if single figures can be achieved by september (which in turn has pissed my gf off already as im gone totally addicted to golf), 90% of people seem to think its near on impossible but im gonna try do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

Great scoring Tones, I joined my club in 2009 off 18..got to 11 last last year.... like u gave it loads of practice and lessons..... keep it up...I'm sure u will do it.... addiction is a great help;)

Hacker111 wrote: »
    Great scoring Tones, I joined my club in 2009 off 18..got to 11 last last year.... like u gave it loads of practice and lessons..... keep it up...I'm sure u will do it.... addiction is a great help;)

Cheers hack, down to 16 now after that comp yesterday so if i could get to 14 before may it would give me all summer to go hard at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Well done. Congrats on your win and best of luck for the year

Cheers pinky, just found out that i won the mount wolseley sat and sun stableford too! :) Great wknd of golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Wouldn't have thought this was outwith the realms of possibility for an improving 18 'capper - why would you ask this?