Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"reasonable force"

• 02-03-2012 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭

any idea if throwing a saucepan full of boiling hot wax directly into the face of a threatening intruder to your home / business would come under "reasonable force" :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If you kill them outside the house then drag them upstairs and leave them in your bedroom

It'll look better on the garda report

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Trouble in paradise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Why would one have a saucepan full of wax? Wouldn't oil be tastier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

To right, but the next time use the chip pan oil boils at a higher temperature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

any idea if throwing a saucepan full of boiling hot wax directly into the face of a threatening intruder to your home / business would come under "reasonable force" :confused:

....somebody in your gaff needs to consider laser treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

sorry mate its specifically wax that relates to my latest business venture hehehe just wondering

Luring strangers into your museum and turning them into oddly realistic waxworks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I hope the wax made a cast of the intruders face so you'll know what they look like.

I think it's reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

And why do you need to know this?

This all sounds very premeditated OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

...you'll be grand...

...as Ward escaped he shot him again and "beat him like a badger"...

...not guilty...http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00633/2007_Padraig-Nally__633502t.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

enniscorthy uses super hot wax

its super effective!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

hehehehhohohohohoheheh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Nodin wrote: »
    Luring strangers into your museum and turning them into oddly realistic waxworks?

He pretty much has to lure harrison ford in if that what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

enniscorthy uses super hot wax

its super effective!

...you'll be grand...

...as Ward escaped he shot him again and "beat him like a badger"...

...not guilty...http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00633/2007_Padraig-Nally__633502t.jpg

I'd ask just how one might beat a badger, but we know where that would lead.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I'd ask just how one might beat a badger, but we know where that would lead.....

Aggressively. They are vicious and aim for the testicles according to my farmer landlord.

I remember bein told they were ferocious bastards when cornered. One got a taste for a relations chickens down in Donegal when I was a lad, and yer man waited out the night for him. Shot him, though, as oppossed to challening him to fisticuffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Veet might be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭darrcow

forget hot wax. i think boiling hot oil would be better plenty of blisters and scarred for life. nearly forgot then blast them with p1ss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I remember bein told they were ferocious bastards when cornered. One got a taste for a relations chickens down in Donegal when I was a lad, and yer man waited out the night for him. Shot him, though, as oppossed to challening him to fisticuffs.

He made a wise choice: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c81bcjyfn6U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

I think it depends on whether or not you had the wax boiling before or after they had entered the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Why would one have a saucepan full of wax? Wouldn't oil be tastier?

Yeah but then theres the temptation to make chips in the oil, which the burglar would then steal too. Then you have no chips alongside being robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

what temperature does wax boil at?

molten wax is probably reasonable, boiling wax is probably not.

probably a legal difference there. like panicking and throwing a mug of tea at someone versus luring them into an industrial microwave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

From my subjective vantage point, genocide against all black birds constitutes reasonable force in response to a single black bird that raids my patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

What if you just happen to trip them and they fall into a tank of carbonite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Ordinary water has a higher specific heat than oil, so contains more energy per litre at a given temperature, meaning burns would be worse. It would be less likely to stick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

When are you going to have time to do that?

Intruder bursts into home, "STOP, while I bring the wax to a boil!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Question!
    What would you be doing with a a saucepan full of boiling hot wax anyway?

In order to throw one, you have to have been preparing it previously.
    If you were making something in the near future with it, fair enough - but if you were heating wax just in preparation for use as a weapon, NO, it would not be considered reasonable force.
    In fact the law might argue that it shows 'prepared intention to harm' and at the very least you could be charged with a variety of charges including Attempted Manslaughter in the first or second degree (if the victim lives!).