Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do I do this...

• 01-03-2012 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

quick question. I met a guy I really like about 2 weeks ago on a training course I'm on for work. I've been single about 6 months after a long term thing so I'm sorta beginning to think about dating again. Anyway, I'm sure he's single because of a conversation I overheard. We've chatted a bit and stuff, he seems really friendly. We're mid twenties so I'm not sure at this age what are positive signs to look out for? Anyway, I'd quite like to go on a date or somethin with him. I'm interested obviously!

There's only 2 weeks left on this course and I'd like to make something happen by then as I may never see him again. I usually let these sorta opportunities pass me by so I'm doing my best to not do that this time! :( From a guys perspective (or a woman with experience) how should I go about doing this. I'm too intimidated to ask him straight out and I don't know if thats seen as a crazy thing?

Ugh...dating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭midnight_train

Hey OP,

I know it'll sound old-fashioned, but I truly believe that if he really likes you, he'll ask you.

So if I were you, I'd be friendly, open, look my best, etc., but I'd let him do the asking.

That's just me :-)

Good luck! x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

Can you find some mutual interest and suggest going somewhere related to that? That way, it can be seen as a date but it's also a little less forward and formal.

Don't agree with the 'he'll ask you out if he likes you' thing at all, you have no idea where he stands on that - for all we know, he could be a radical feminist who believes that sort of thinking is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

OP - if you both have Facebook profiles you could add him and have a chat on there. It's a little less formal than asking for his number but will still give you a chance to get to know him better outside the course. When your course is finishing up you could say how you've really enjoyed it, he must keep in touch, here's your number and maybe ye could go for coffee some time.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

dumdeedum wrote: »

quick question. I met a guy I really like about 2 weeks ago on a training course I'm on for work. I've been single about 6 months after a long term thing so I'm sorta beginning to think about dating again. Anyway, I'm sure he's single because of a conversation I overheard. We've chatted a bit and stuff, he seems really friendly. We're mid twenties so I'm not sure at this age what are positive signs to look out for? Anyway, I'd quite like to go on a date or somethin with him. I'm interested obviously!

There's only 2 weeks left on this course and I'd like to make something happen by then as I may never see him again. I usually let these sorta opportunities pass me by so I'm doing my best to not do that this time! :( From a guys perspective (or a woman with experience) how should I go about doing this. I'm too intimidated to ask him straight out and I don't know if thats seen as a crazy thing?

Ugh...dating.

The facebook suggestion is good, but if you want to be more direct while still casual just approach him after your course one day and say "Wow I think I need a coffee/drink after that! Ha, would you like one?". Be casual and friendly - and just be yourself! Treat him like you would a friend - if something more arises out of it, great! Away from the setting you've met him in, you should be able to tell if there is any underlying chemisty etc :) If you're never gonna see him again, what do you have to lose?

Even if he declines, you at least tried - you don't want to be left wondering "what if" you'd just gone for it ;)

Best of luck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

Op, its crucial you test the water with this guy or you'll always wonder what might have been. Nothing ventured nothing gained. As others have suggested keep any approach subtle. Don't necessarily buy into if he likes me he'll ask me out. He doesn't know that you like him and we live in a different age now. Best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

dumdeedum wrote: »
    ... I'm not sure at this age what are positive signs to look out for?...
    Neither are you sure, I suggest, what positive signs to give. For all you know, he might be wondering about the prospects of your being interested in him.

Don't leave it to him, or to chance. He might be a great person for you, but he might be a little reticent or unsure of himself. You need to work out how to get a bit of interaction going with him, the sort that might lead to more. I am sure that you don't want to be too blatant, for fear of rejection or in case you send the wrong message. The suggestion that you ask him to join you for coffee is good: it's safe, and a few minute's exclusive one-on-one conversation can evolve into something.

Depending on the type of training course, you might find some opportunities (not flimsy excuses) to interact during the course - things like asking for or offering help, or simply conversing in a "we-are-in-this-together" mode, creating a bit of camaraderie.
    ... From a guys perspective (or a woman with experience) how should I go about doing this. I'm too intimidated to ask him straight out and I don't know if thats seen as a crazy thing?
    Guy's perspective from a long, long time ago: if you have managed some friendly interactions, he might be quite pleased to be asked out. You could contrive a date that is not quite a date (thereby allowing, if necessary, face-saving all round) something like "I want to go to such-and-such a film/play/gig/sports event; would you be interested in going too?"
    Ugh...dating.
    Yeah. Glad that's behind me now. So is Herself. She wouldn't like it if I were on the prowl (or, then, maybe she would, because she'd get much amusement from watching me make a fool of myself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

My advice is to flirt flirt flirt and then flirt some more!

Look him in the eye and chat to him about anything and ask him questions about himself.

Also try to get a gathering together to celebrate the last day/night of the course.

Be positive and out-going and i'm sure he'll notice you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Janet1986

You could arrange a night out for everyone after the course ;)

If he turns up with a partner then that's the end of that :(