Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louth fans finally found guilty for assaulting referee.

• 01-03-2012 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0301/sluddenm.html

Who can forget the disgraceful scenes from the Leinster Final in 2010 when a number of Louth supporters showed their inexperience of a big day out by running onto the pitch and attacking the referee at the final whistle because a decision didn't go their way.

Thankfully some justice has been done. I'm assuming that the Louth County Board will now take this a step further and ban these two men from all Louth games for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Who can forget the disgraceful scenes from the Leinster Final in 2010 when a number of Louth supporters showed their inexperience of a big day out by running onto the pitch and attacking the referee at the final whistle because a decision didn't go their way.

Thankfully some justice has been done. I'm assuming that the Louth County Board will now take this a step further and ban these two men from all Louth games for life.

No need for the cheap dig, Meath havent exactly been ever presents on the big day themselves.

But yes you are correct only right that the two men were found guilty and the LCB should act accordingly, the only thing about a life time ban for a supporter is it is practically un-enforceable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

Quit your messing! Seriously, no need for that. Given the circumstances, it didn't matter what county the fans are from, the referee made a very bad and incorrect decision at the end of a final. What happened did not happen because it was Louth, that could have happened regardless of the county that was wronged.

Thankfully justice has been done and like yourself I hope lifetime bans follow for these two "gentlemen".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Boxin' Martin Sludden,
    Boxin' Meath Midfielder Mark Ward,
    Boxin' Sean Boylan,
    Boxin' off a great big day out for the lads up in Croker Lad, Hey!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

pipelaser wrote: »
    Boxin' Martin Sludden,
    Boxin' Meath Midfielder Mark Ward,
    Boxin' Sean Boylan,
    Boxin' off a great big day out for the lads up in Croker Lad, Hey!:pac:

What in the name of jesus does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

What in the name of jesus does that mean?

that he's local closed around 2am I assume :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Did Meath Co Board suspend the racist when he abused a coloured guy in Oz ?,NO.
    They also let him off with an appeal for assualting Ref Jim smith, spitting on an opponent in Croker and he was no house angel either and thats a fact.
    So dont think ye are all saints in the Royal County,.
    These guys barely touched Martin Sludden, the guy that shouldered him twice wasnt even charged, so what benefit would it be to any Co board to ban these guys for life, even sludden withdrew his statement.

What about the guys that did assault him in the Hotel in Monaghan on the way home, they really got into him and he didnt make any staement about these guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Gest

macadam wrote: »
    They also let him off with an appeal for assualting Ref Jim smith, spitting on an opponent in Croker and he was no house angel either and thats a fact.
    These guys barely touched Martin Sludden, the guy that shouldered him twice wasnt even charged, so what benefit would it be to any Co board to ban these guys for life, even sludden withdrew his statement.

What about the guys that did assault him in the Hotel in Monaghan on the way home, they really got into him and he didnt make any staement about these guys

I never heard about that assault in the hotel - did he go public about this? Does he still referee?

Gest wrote: »
    I never heard about that assault in the hotel - did he go public about this? Does he still referee?
    That was kept quiet both him and the umpires were assaulted leaving a well known Monaghan town hotel after having a meal, gardai were on the scene but no complaint was made strange as he received several blows.
    Look the man made a mistake and I am not standing up for the morons who ran onto the field but its gone on to long and being taken too serious, ive seen more pushing and shoving by ould wans going for communion, I also referee myself so I know all about abuse and assault on the field.
    The man was big enough to say he got it wrong and he withdrew his statement but i definitely think C Cooney was pushing the court case as it helped with the case for keeping spectators off the pitch after games.
    Might I also add I walked across the pitch while Meath were being presented with the cup and two middle aged meath supporters verbally abused me, but most shook hands and said it was unbelievable what happened, you get a minority of rotten eggs in every county.
    Yes Martin Sludden is back refereeing and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Gest

That was kept quiet both him and the umpires were assaulted leaving a well known Monaghan town hotel after having a meal, gardai were on the scene but no complaint was made strange as he received several blows.
    Look the man made a mistake and I am not standing up for the morons who ran onto the field but its gone on to long and being taken too serious, ive seen more pushing and shoving by ould wans going for communion, I also referee myself so I know all about abuse and assault on the field.
    The man was big enough to say he got it wrong and he withdrew his statement but i definitely think C Cooney was pushing the court case as it helped with the case for keeping spectators off the pitch after games.
    Might I also add I walked across the pitch while Meath were being presented with the cup and two middle aged meath supporters verbally abused me, but most shook hands and said it was unbelievable what happened, you get a minority of rotten eggs in every county.

I can understand he probably was sick of all the publicity and just wanted to have it all finished with. I am glad he is still a referee - it is not a job I have ever done but from observing the abuse they get from the sidelines I'd say it is not easy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Folks, do not bring up unrelated items, especially other legal cases, discussing legal cases is a big no-no here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Oh so you're from Louth. Im from Meath, but my father is from a little place in Dromin in Louth. I've probably been to as many Louth championship games as Meath ones over the years. Louth Supporters can be be very, very good (Craic), but when they're bad there atrocious. They give their own team some unmerciful abuse. Even the aul fella admits this.

By the way, calling people 'Coloured' is about as cool as using the N word.

pipelaser wrote: »

By the way, calling people 'Coloured' is about as cool as using the N word.

So what do we call him, thats now politically correct, coz when I was at school that's what we were told to call people with dark skin:confused:.

Anyway I agree with what you are saying about Louth fans, but every county has a similar problem, yes Im from Louth but I also go to a lot of games that doesnt involve my home county and this problem is almost country wide, but not just as bad in Munster.
    As I said earlier I was abused by a few meath supporters whilst crossing the pitch and what these morons said to me was unbelievable, but I just bit my tongue and walked on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Classy. Very classy. 2002 still hurts then?
    I find it funny that you accuse him of "assaulting" Jim Smith when he did much less than the Louth fans did to Sludden in 2010.
    The rest of your post is, at best, laughable and at worst, libellous. Could you possibly expand on what you mean by "he was no house angel"? You should stick to things you know something about in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Clareman wrote: »
    Folks, do not bring up unrelated items, especially other legal cases, discussing legal cases is a big no-no here.
    Wouldn't it be fair to add "Two" at the beginning of the thread title, just like the RTE articles? It might make things a little less inflammatory.

Classy. Very classy. 2002 still hurts then?
    I find it funny that you accuse him of "assaulting" Jim Smith when he did much less than the Louth fans did to Sludden in 2010.
    The rest of your post is, at best, laughable and at worst, libellous. Could you possibly expand on what you mean by "he was no house angel"? You should stick to things you know something about in future.
    So he got a 48 week suspension for nothing from Meath Co Board.
    And laugh all you like as its all true, and well you all know it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

So he got a 48 week suspension for nothing from Meath Co Board.
    And laugh all you like as its all true, and well you all know it.
    Christ almighty learn to read will you? Where did I say he did nothing? It's well known that Jim Smith "embellished" the truth in his report and that "all" Geraghty did was knock the notebook out of his hand (tell me, how long did current 'public enemy number 1' Paul Galvin get for the exact same offence?).

I also see that you conveniently skipped over my request to elaborate on your "no house angel" comment, so I'll ask you again. What exactly do you mean by that? Yet another libellous claim no doubt.
    It is actually quite funny how much you obviously hate the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭boynesider

Rumors about Geraghty's behaviour in his private life are completely groundless. Nasty lies spun by a few bitter Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

ill tell ya something geraghty like him or lump him was an EPIC footballer for meath and deserves a little respect..

ambassador for the game imo every player has murky moments we all know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Good to see that this thread is good balanced debate without any sniping :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

boynesider wrote: »
    Rumors about Geraghty's behaviour in his private life are completely groundless. Nasty lies spun by a few bitter Dubs.

Ah jaysus, ye Louth and Meath folk are well able to fight amongst yourselves without dragging us Dubs into it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭boynesider

Ah jaysus, ye Louth and Meath folk are well able to fight amongst yourselves without dragging us Dubs into it ;)

To be honest I just don't get the same satisfaction out of fighting with the Wee men. Can't explain why