Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenager, assaults pensioner bragged of buzz from sound of blood hitting window

• 28-02-2012 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭

Teenager who attacked pensioner bragged on Facebook that he 'got a buzz' from sound of blood hitting a bus window

Daniel Blyth, 18, punched and headbutted the defenceless 71-year-old in a 'relentless' and unprovoked attack, Bolton Magistrates' Court heard.

Blyth admitted assault occasioning actual bodily harm and criminal damage and was remanded for sentencing.

The court heard that the pensioner had got off the bus after a window was smashed by a bottle and was then beaten up by Blyth, of no fixed address.

The Greater Manchester court heard that the driver of the 571 pulled into a layby after a window was smashed by the makeshift missile at 9.45pm.

Police were called as another bottle was thrown at the driver.

The bus passengers were frightened and shaken, said Howard Sloane, prosecuting.

As the driver, the pensioner and another passenger got off the bus, Blyth attacked the elderly man.

Apparently unprovoked, Blyth struck the man repeatedly, said Mr Sloane. The victim said he feared for his life as he was headbutted and punched in the face.

'He was grabbed to the chest area and thrown and pushed,' the prosecutor added. 'He was not able to escape.

'The driver and the other witness were concerned for their safety and they went back on the bus and saw what was happening outside.

'He was relentlessly attacked while on the ground. He was repeatedly kicked all over his body.'

The victim needed stitches to his face and suffered a fractured finger and an injury to his shoulder.

Later that night, Blyth posted the message on his Facebook page. It attracted comments from people saying it was sick.

He responded by saying he would be caught sooner or later. The posts were removed the next day.

Blyth pleaded guilty to assault occasioning actual bodily harm and criminal damage.

He was remanded in custody and will be sentenced at Bolton Crown Court on March 19.

His victim said: 'There was one stage when I was being battered and thought I had had it. It was extremely frightening.

'I do not have a car so I am totally reliant on public transport. But I am not going to let it stop me.

'As soon as I was released from hospital, I got straight back on a bus.

'It has made me feel uneasy and more cautious, but I have been on buses at night since.'

The attack led to Maytree Travel threatening to withdraw all buses from Bolton amid concerns about safety.

Michael Renshaw, Transport for Greater Manchester’s Bus and Rail director, said: 'This kind of behaviour, although thankfully rare, is completely unacceptable and will not be tolerated.

'Safety and security is one of our top priorities because everyone has the right to travel - and work - on public transport without fear of harassment or harm, and we will support the police and operators in taking whatever action is necessary to bring offenders to account.'
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2107626/Teenager-attacked-pensioner-bus-bragged-Facebook-got-buzz-sound-blood-hitting-window.html

What a complete and utter piece of garbage. Why are these people allowed to live in the same cities and countries as us? Plus why aren't the people who produce these heaps of dirt immediately quarrantended and banned from reproducing.

There are photos of the pensioner in the daily mail website. Nothing gory, but the OAP is busted up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Scumbag bastard should be beaten to within an inch of his life and then locked up.
    And before the high-horse brigade jump in with "violence solves nothing". I don't care. He deserves to be whipped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

Ah could the two lads who hopped back on the Bus not have help the poor man?

The scumbag that did this should be gang raped every night in prison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

He was gloating about it on facebook so he must have an account. I hope he gets a severe beating in jail or in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭egan2020

alexmcred wrote: »
    Ah could the two lads who hopped back on the Bus not have help the poor man?

The scumbag that did this should be gang raped every night in prison

But the reality is that even if he gets sent to prison he'll be among his own kind make loads of scummy friends and he'll get along just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

That's right, post the details of a crime you committed onto Facebook. Infallible logic there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2107626/Teenager-attacked-pensioner-bus-bragged-Facebook-got-buzz-sound-blood-hitting-window.html

What a complete and utter piece of garbage. Why are these people allowed to live in the same cities and countries as us? Plus why aren't the people who produce these heaps of dirt immediately quarrantended and banned from reproducing.

There are photos of the pensioner in the daily mail website. Nothing gory, but the OAP is busted up a bit.
    Bring back the cane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Bring back the cane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Bring back the death sentence i dont care what your sob story is you have no excuse in this type of situation .
    Lets outsource our justice system to the chinese they are a great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

Taking an example from the London riots, and what instigated them. If the Gardaí did this to a scumbag there would be uproar on behalf of the undesirables and I say there could be riots.

Instead when a scumbag does it, he posts on facebook about the incident and enter courts later in the week with a smirk on his face, the prospect of a salesman lawyer in his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Sure all he needs is a weekend in Alton Towers. Theres nothign to do for teenagers nowadays , etc etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I'm not defending the guy but the assault wasn't that bad in the greater scheme of things. Death penalties, canings, whippings and gang rapes in prison? It would normally take a story a lot worse than this one to bring out the "what should be done to them" brigade.

Here's one for you to show off how hard and righteous you are; €5 to the first person to use the word 'castrate.'

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/Child-lured-to-temple-in-Kirti-Nagar-raped/articleshow/12064706.cms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

latenia wrote: »
    I'm not defending the guy but the assault wasn't that bad in the greater scheme of things. Death penalties, canings, whippings and gang rapes in prison? It would normally take a story a lot worse than this one to bring out the "what should be done to them" brigade.

Here's one for you to show off how hard and righteous you are; €5 to the first person to use the word 'castrate.'

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/Child-lured-to-temple-in-Kirti-Nagar-raped/articleshow/12064706.cms

castrate.

Was I supposed to read it before or after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Someone should beat the **** out of his grandfather so this thug knows what it feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

latenia wrote: »

There's nothing "hard and righteous" about it.
    Scumbag attacks innocent helpless pensioner, he deserves to be beaten to a pulp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Stuff like this makes my blood boil, attacking a defenceless OAP. What makes my blood boil more is the fact that people stood back and watched it take place, I'm not a hard man by any means but I wouldn't care how frightened I was, I would still jump in and try and help. I've a lot more chance of recovering from a beating than an OAP :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Someone should beat the **** out of his grandfather so this thug knows what it feels like.

His grandfather is probably in his early 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

In fairness, his grand dad didn't do anything and this thug probably wouldn't give a damn about his grand dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

If I saw an elderly person being attacked I'd have to step in even at risk of getting a hiding myself because only ****en scum would attack a vulnerable person like that, Hope the scumbag has an awful life because if you can attack a person like that then there is no hope for reform.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

poisonated wrote: »
    In fairness, his grand dad didn't do anything and this thug probably wouldn't give a damn about his grand dad

Dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

We should bring in forced sterilization for this kind of criminal, it was an unprovoked attack, and he could well be genetically predisposed to violent behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

lividduck wrote: »
    Bring back the cane

Yeah, that's sure to make young people more kind to the elderly. Have them enforce physical punishment. And as we all know, teachers are fair and even handed when dealing out punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

poisonated wrote: »

Dude?

Haha a bit slow tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Bullchomper

That's appalling - but also how could you stay in a bus and watch that happen? That's even more disturbing.

I agree.

I dunno, in the heat of the moment if you were watching this beating adrenaline would be flowing, butterflies in your stomach. The shock of what is unfolding before you eyes, the beating that is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

charlemont wrote: »
    If I saw an elderly person being attacked I'd have to step in even at risk of getting a hiding myself because only ****en scum would attack a vulnerable person like that, Hope the scumbag has an awful life because if you can attack a person like that then there is no hope for reform.:mad:

I feel the same, however what I highlighted would never happen for the simple reason that scum like this would only attack people who they think cant fight back.. they are fcking cowards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

You are predominantly liars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Some people just take pride in being hard.. And others, seemingly, in giving a hard response. I dont get it myself. This thug has mother issues, possibly provoked by father issues and definately confounded by peer issues in conjunction with societal and socio-economic issues in association with genetic and temperamental issues. Ah fcuk it, he just needs a good hiding.

nice_very wrote: »
    I feel the same, however what I highlighted would never happen for the simple reason that scum like this would only attack people who they think cant fight back.. they are fcking cowards

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I hope he gets the same 'buzz' from being anally raped every night in prison and crying himself to sleep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Hope he dies, alone under a bridge, a needle in his arm, grinding his teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Well hopefully the pensioner has sons and grandsons who will enjoy using his head as a football when he is released from prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Taking an example from the London riots, and what instigated them. If the Gardaí did this to a scumbag there would be uproar on behalf of the undesirables and I say there could be riots.

Something tells me you don't even know what was the flash point for the London riots tbh.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Something tells me you don't even know what was the flash point for the London riots tbh.

I thought the same thing, wasn't it just an opportunity to get free stuff?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

That teenager is obviously not right in the head.

Would you all be so quick to condemn him if he was a schizophrenic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

lastlaugh wrote: »

He gloats about it on Facebook? Obviously a lovely misunderstood chap.

Sorry? There is no, and never has been, a connection between violence towards other people and schizophrenia. There is no evidence to support the concept that Schizophrenics have a higher propensity for assault or violence towards someone else than the general populace...they are however more at risk of self harming.

Having been diagnosed with Schizophrenia i can pretty much guarantee that whatever you seem to think it is, it is not.

Sorry? There is no, and never has been, a connection between violence towards other people and schizophrenia. There is no evidence to support the concept that Schizophrenics have a higher propensity for assault or violence towards someone else than the general populace...they are however more at risk of self harming.

Having been diagnosed with Schizophrenia i can pretty much guarantee that whatever you seem to think it is, it is not.

To do that to a pensioner is warped, there would have to be some kind of underlying mental condition for someone to do that.

The point I am trying to make is that there are always the same responses to this type of article, with people trying to outdo each other with the level of suffering that should be inflicted on the perpetrator.

I used Schizophenia as an example of a disorder he could be suffering from, I never insinuated in any way that Schizophrenics have a higher propensity for assault, but if this person lost touch with 'reality' and started attacking people, could it be as a result of Schizophrenia?

Even a slight chance of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

To do that to a pensioner is warped, there would have to be some kind of underlying mental condition for someone to do that.

The point I am trying to make is that there are always the same responses to this type of article, with people trying to outdo each other with the level of suffering that should be inflicted on the perpetrator.

I used Schizophenia as an example of a disorder he could be suffering from, I never insinuated in any way that Schizophrenics have a higher propensity for assault, but if this person lost touch with 'reality' and started attacking people, could it be as a result of Schizophrenia?

I think he is suffering from scumbagness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I don't think its necessary to have an underlying mental condition to carry out an assault like this. Some people out there just don't know right from wrong.

Are you serious?

People do **** like this everyday. And worse.

So are they all mentally ill?

Or are they just scum?

Are you serious?

People do **** like this everyday. And worse.

So are they all mentally ill?

Or are they just scum?

Maybe a lot of them go undiagnosed and therefore untreated and then end up doing this type of sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If this had happened in the north a few years ago the scumbag would be trying to walk with busted kneecaps. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Eugenics anyone?

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Eugenics anyone?

Churchill was all over the concept until Hitler ruined it for him.

Yeah there was like 30 eugenics societies all over the world, George bernard shaw was fully in favour as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I'm not an expert, but , to the best of my knowledge, if this unprovoked attack stemmed from a mental imbalance, rather than just plain scumbaggery, it would be far more likely to have stemmed from a deep-seated psychological personality disorder, rather than a psychiatric illness.
    But, as I said I am not an expert in this field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I think he should be removed from society. He refuses to adhere to the laws set out for the public's protection and well-being yet he is still allowed to remain in that society.

He will get out of prison, commit another crime, and be rotated through the system again, all the while getting legal aid,food and board at the tax-payers expense.

Here is another case from my town, happened 3 weeks ago and not this mans first offence in the town: http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/02/20/heroin-addict-who-head-butted-easons-shop-assistant-jailed-for-12-months/

He seems to have a thing for attacking women and girls, the other time standing on a young shop-keepers throat while brandishing a knife threatening to slit her throat unless she opened the till.

12 fucking months for a serious of offences. He will be out doing it again without a doubt.

I think he should be removed from society. He refuses to adhere to the laws set out for the public's protection and well-being yet he is still allowed to remain in that society.

He will get out of prison, commit another crime, and be rotated through the system again, all the while getting legal aid,food and board at the tax-payers expense.

Here is another case from my town, happened 3 weeks ago and not this mans first offence in the town: http://www.donegaldaily.com/2012/02/20/heroin-addict-who-head-butted-easons-shop-assistant-jailed-for-12-months/

He seems to have a thing for attacking women and girls, the other time standing on a young shop-keepers throat while brandishing a knife threatening to slit her throat unless she opened the till.

12 fucking months for a serious of offences. He will be out doing it again without a doubt.

Jeez even for a letterkenny man he looks unevolved:p