Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Place To Watch the Festival ?

• 28-02-2012 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭

Just Wondering where do you watch Cheltenham? Any Good Pubs with promotions or good craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Just Wondering where do you watch Cheltenham? Any Good Pubs with promotions or good craic?

On my couch, in front if the TV alone.

I'e, no idiot beside me claiming Ruby pulled the horse, or some other excuse for losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

If you're in Dublin City then Cassidys on Camden St is decent. There's a Boyles beside it and every screen will show racing. They often throw out some free food as well. Last year they were serving Beef Curry on the Wednesday.

Further out, the Goat Grill in Goatstown is very good. A bookies close by and usually full of a good horsey crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Gerlad

mccarte2 wrote: »
    Further out, the Goat Grill in Goatstown is very good. A bookies close by and usually full of a good horsey crowd.

what? Like the apes in the Forpadydeplasterer scarves? No thanks.

Agree on Cassidys. Toners on Baggot St is good too.

Gerlad wrote: »
    what? Like the apes in the Forpadydeplasterer scarves? No thanks.

Agree on Cassidys. Toners on Baggot St is good too.

When you've managed to not act the ape after being in a syndicate who's horse won the Arkle, then come back to me :cool:

Wouldn't go judging books by their covers either. Plenty of sound lads will be there for Cheltenham. And plenty of them would have no time for the syndicate lads as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Hmmm I might head to Cassidy's. I'm only down the road from it. College is going to be forgotten about that week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Hmmm I might head to Cassidy's. I'm only down the road from it. College is going to be forgotten about that week

Another thumps up for Cassidy's,have'nt been in there to watch racing but havebeen for a few Ireland games and it was grand every time.
    Next to Zaytoons aswell for on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Used to watch it in PP in Galway for the buzz when I was in college. Think I'll be sat at the laptop with Betfair for it this time around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

We'd an electrician re-wiring most of the house the Tuesday last year. Was forced to watch the first day in the bookies. One of the worst days of my life. Rarely venture near a bookies these days & this day confirmed why

I happily sit at home to watch the festival. Best place to do so IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 judgethemoment

When you've managed to not act the ape after being in a syndicate who's horse won the Arkle, then come back to me :cool:

Wouldn't go judging books by their covers either. Plenty of sound lads will be there for Cheltenham. And plenty of them would have no time for the syndicate lads as well.

I personally know a few lads in that syndicate, theyre not the problem. its all the earwigs

they got on their high horse after Pady won the arkle and started reserving seats etc in the pub....even the year after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Definitely at home. Get a big lunch into you and sit with a cup of coffee to enjoy the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

If you're in Dublin City then Cassidys on Camden St is decent. There's a Boyles beside it and every screen will show racing. They often throw out some free food as well. Last year they were serving Beef Curry on the Wednesday.

Was there for the Friday last year. Excellent place to watch the racing. Will be there again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Only one place to watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I watch the Friday in Judge Roy Beans(Porter House Central) every year. Normally not too many racing fans.

Was there one year, down 75% of my money before the triumph where I had 20ew on Barizan at 33s and a saver on Soldatino and the rfc. After the 3rd last Barizan is about a furlong in front and a group of clowns down the bar were screaming for barizan to fall, I did well not to throw my stool at them! If I am on the wrong one I am on the wrong one, drives me mad when people are wishing ill on horse and/or jockey cause they are.

I try to avoid bookies as a rule as there is always someone there unshaven in his jumper telling you that you are wrong.

I was backing Denman in 2007 before the Hennessy for the Gold Cup and this guy was going on and on about Kauto and same again after the Hennessy. In the summer of 07 I picked up Zarkava after her Prix Diane win and was looking for odds for the Arc in the same bookie, same fella over who is Zarkava I told him a brilliant French filly, a filly wont win the arc...

Eventually after 3 more trips in for odds I only got them at 7/1 after her Vermille win and everytime this guy was over. Needless to say when she won I was waiting near the counter til the guy came up so he could see the bookue count out my winnings. I fanned my face with the notes and said I told you she would win and I walked out. Havent been in a bookie since!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Used to watch it in PP in Galway for the buzz when I was in college. Think I'll be sat at the laptop with Betfair for it this time around.

Often go in there to watch racing these days but do my backing via betfair app on the phone. Nice shop though, and pp have good specials every so often.

Re Hucklebuck, I agree, nothing annoys me more than people wishing horses to fall in a bookies. Shocking how much you hear it too. I always try to shout out 'shut the fcuk up', which a few regulars would generally then agree with and say the same. Nothing better than embarrassing these idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ryant1981

Standing at the winning post to cheer in the winners you have backed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Never thought of Cassidy's used to go there for champions league matches great atmosphere and pint. Reckon at least one day there this year maybe more depending on winners :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

ryant1981 wrote: »
    Actually, on the grandstand outside the Mandarin Bar, thats better than down on the lawn in front.

Sure you can't see anything down there so how would you know if it was your horse that won?

I have no hassle seeing everything from there, never have in all the previous 9 times I was there & also it says favourite place to watch does it not ??????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

I always book the Thurs and Friday off work for Cheltenham, it's a yearly ritual :D

Me and a few mates usually head to the bookies around 12ish then back to one of our places to watch the first few races then head back into the bookies for the late races and just watch in there.

The funny thing is that I always end up winning at the different venues that day rather than Cheltenham itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Ah Cassidy's one of my favourite haunts, but never there for the racing. Might pop in on Tuesday then.
    The Lotts bar is also a good spot. Not the lounge part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Gautama

Tuesday and Wednesday, in the club enclosure, on the line, midway between the stands and the near post.
    Thursday and Friday: www.aertv.ie Assuming they haven’t shut it down at work. If they have, then downstairs to the TV in reception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

hucklebuck wrote: »
    I try to avoid bookies as a rule as there is always someone there unshaven in his jumper telling you that you are wrong...

For me it's at home with a laptop and a few cans o' Genius but I like to take Gold Cup day in the local boozer, preferably sitting on packed back pocket (or at least with more than shrapnel in it)

I have no hassle seeing everything from there, never have in all the previous 9 times I was there & also it says favourite place to watch does it not ??????????

I think it was more because you were gloating that you've been there. Big woop, so have most of us.

Obviously everyone's favourite place to watch it would be at the track. It was fairly obvious that the thread meant fav place other than the track

I always book the Thurs and Friday off work for Cheltenham

I hope you only get two days holidays or you have a lot of explaining to do:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Don't know what to do this year, Whether to watch it at home or in the pub or in the bookies. I like being in the bookies with my mates, But i like being at home too in comfort. Always feel like i'm missing something when i'm at home though.

All this could be irrelevant now though seen as i've got a new job and will probably be stuck in word for every day of the festival :(

On the plus side more money for cheltenham :pac:

baraca wrote: »
    All this could be irrelevant now though seen as i've got a new job and will probably be stuck in word for every day of the festival :(

This might get you out of word quicker http://www.dummies.com/store/product/Word-2010-For-Dummies.productCd-0470487720.html :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

hucklebuck wrote: »

worK, WORK.

EDIT: Nice ninja edit :cool:

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I think it was more because you were gloating that you've been there. Big woop, so have most of us.

Obviously everyone's favourite place to watch it would be at the track. It was fairly obvious that the thread meant fav place other than the track

Whats the point in Gloating Hulk Hands ? eh ? just stating the fact that my fav place to watch it is there. why would I be gloating that I have been there ? Please provide me with evidence that this is gloating ?
    If this is so, then I think you are even worse stating "OOOHHH SO HAVE MOST OF US "" !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

baraca wrote: »
    Don't know what to do this year, Whether to watch it at home or in the pub or in the bookies. I like being in the bookies with my mates, But i like being at home too in comfort. Always feel like i'm missing something when i'm at home though.

On the plus side more money for cheltenham :pac:

Work is a disaster When the festival is on and punchestown for that matter..especially tues at chelt...Id get more done in work playing the drums at my desk when the festival is on..between running out to watch it or waiting anxiously for the next race..concentration levels =0
    In that regard I'm going on tues and weds..thurs at home .. Fri in the Pub I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Anytime I tried to work during Holy Week, I ended up pacing around the office, getting little work done and slipping off to the TV every 30 minutes or so. So for the last 5 or 6 years, to end the self torment, the week has been booked off well in advance.

I generally watch Tuesday at home, then head to the local Wednesday (strictly 7up’s ) to have a bit of banter with the locals. Thursday at home again & Friday is high stool day from 12 noon with the mates.

Sun is shining, 10 days of joyful anticipation still remains. This is simply the most wonderful time of the year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

I head to O'Neills Suffolk Street every year that I dont head over, big screen, carvery, bookies close by..... what more do you need!

modmuffin wrote: »
    I head to O'Neills Suffolk Street every year that I dont head over, big screen, carvery, bookies close by..... what more do you need!

Sluts !! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭unir1916

I like the sackville lounge just off o Connell ST.The first two days for me there this year always a good crowd in for the racing and the banter does be flying

unir1916 wrote: »
    I like the sackville lounge just off o Connell ST.The first two days for me there this year always a good crowd in for the racing and the banter does be flying

Awful stout though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Don't go to this pub regularly but Tolka House, Glasnevin are doing the following special for CheltFest.....€20 ticket on the day will get you €5 free bet, 4 pints & a carvery dinner, great offer IMO....

Also not sure how legal this is & don't want them getting in trouble but barman stated that they will have the local bookie, The Track I think setup in the pub....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Have no idea where Glasnevin is, but that's a cracking offer

Don't go to this pub regularly but Tolka House, Glasnevin are doing the following special for CheltFest.....€20 ticket on the day will get you €5 free bet, 4 pints & a carvery dinner, great offer IMO....

Also not sure how legal this is & don't want them getting in trouble but barman stated that they will have the local bookie, The Track I think setup in the pub....

By charging a ticket price I think that allows them have the bookie in. They can pass it off as a private event or something like that. Once the bookie declares all bets or passes them through their machines then it's all above board (I think!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Pub is 15mins from where I live just wouldn't usually drink in it. It's a well run boozer & the local bookie around the corner is 'The Track'....I'll defo be there on the 1st day & c how it pans out from there....oh this day next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

I'll be working most of the week but have sacrificed my St.Patricks day bender for the Friday off for the Gold Cup and a few Guinness's in my local The Graduate in Killiney:D Bookies next door and always a good crowd and atmosphere there for the festival. Gonna be some head on me in work on Paddy's day i think!

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Have no idea where Glasnevin is, but that's a cracking offer

It's in Dublin :pac: