Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballyhoura first-timer

• 27-02-2012 11:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭

Heading (hopefully,) to the Ballyhouras later this week with the young fella (15). Both roadies, so first time on MTBs off-road. I was planning on bringing my old non-suspension/hard-tail MTB (on which I can put knobblies) and renting a bike for him. I've searched the forum for info, and some good stuff has come up, but still have a few questions:

Considering the trails, we may just stick to the green trail - but is it too ambitious to think we'll complete the green-brown combination? We'll have c4 hours.

Secondly, should I leave my bike behind (old but good nick, cantilever brakes, no discs) and just hire two? At €35 or so per bike, I'd been keen to save a few quid.... Also, there are lots of rental places - any specific recommendations?

Lastly, what about footware? Not bringing my road shoes! so are runners and rambling/walking shoes OK? As I expect we'll get fairly filthy, I presume a change of clothes/shower afterwards is the way to go......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭cycletheroad

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    Heading (hopefully,) to the Ballyhouras later this week with the young fella (15). Both roadies, so first time on MTBs off-road. I was planning on bringing my old non-suspension/hard-tail MTB (on which I can put knobblies) and renting a bike for him. I've searched the forum for info, and some good stuff has come up, but still have a few questions:

Considering the trails, we may just stick to the green trail - but is it too ambitious to think we'll complete the green-brown combination? We'll have c4 hours.

Secondly, should I leave my bike behind (old but good nick, cantilever brakes, no discs) and just hire two? At €35 or so per bike, I'd been keen to save a few quid.... Also, there are lots of rental places - any specific recommendations?

Lastly, what about footware? Not bringing my road shoes! so are runners and rambling/walking shoes OK? As I expect we'll get fairly filthy, I presume a change of clothes/shower afterwards is the way to go......

I would leave the bike behind,and hire the two bikes first time round, particularly as the bike you have has only cantilever brakes. I've been around before on a bike with cantilevers and they dont have the stopping power that disc wheels have. The footwear you suggested will do grand.After being there, you ll have a better appreciation of having a decent enough bike. All the climbing is done mainly on the fire roads,and its a great facility........dont forget to bring plenty water with you too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Never been to Ballyhoura but I'd definitely recommend renting a bike. The difference between a decent modern mountain bike and one from ten years ago is night and day.

As regards footwear, if you're not riding clips then pick whatever has the flattest, gummiest soles. Skate style shoes are probably the best non cycling specific shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭redzone

Ye would manage with the bike you have but if I were you I'd hire 2 bikes for the day, ring ahead and try and strike a deal before you arrive, you will enjoy it more on a bike with good brakes and front end suspension,

I've never hired a bike there so couldn't recommend any of the rental places. There is one on site at the carpark.

The brown loop is well doable in the time you have and you could fit in a spin round the green loop at the end,

Its guaranteed fun, enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 norris

i have a friend that had a bike with no suspension and cycled ballyhoura fast regulary for two years. He has since bought a full suspension.

If its your first time, and you know your limits and are used to cycling, take it handy and just get used to the place. I'd go with just renting one bike.

in 4 hours ( taking it handy and nornal fitness) you would get the 17k loop and start again and do the 6k loop again. The last 2k is fast and good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Repolho

Just to be aware before you go, the half day rental from the guys in the carpark is only 2 hours!

I got caught out with that last summer when I went with 2 mates who were renting bikes. They rang ahead and booked for half day which we all assumed would be 4 hours. Guy was quite strict about it and more or less told us not to do brown as we wouldn't get it done in time. He wrote down the time we had to be back and said he would be charging for the full day if we were late. Ended up doing Green X 2.5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I'd go for the 35km loop, and cut back at waypoint 4 it probably adds 5 or 6 km onto the brown one, but it's worth it. If you continue on where the brown loop turns back there's two or three really great sections before you get a chance to take a shortcut that knocks a couple of km off the white loop on the way back in. There's a couple of places you can bail out along the way if you aren't feeling it also. Easy in 4 hours.

A pair of runners or light hiking boots would be grand, personally I'd prefer toe clips or clip in's to stop you from slipping off the pedals.

And I'd chance the old no-suspension MTB with about 20 - 25psi in the tires!!!;) Nothing like saving a few quid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭carrielou

you could also try www.ballyhourabikehire.com, they are based in Kilmallock and organise to drop and collect bikes to the bike trails. no harm getting a second price :-))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Just to keep in mind that the trails will be in use this weekend.... The "Ballyhoura Blitz" is on this Sunday, so will cover the White and Brown loops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭random.stranger

^ Didn't realise the blitz is on, well spotted!

I've done Ballyhoura on a rigid hybrid. It's doable, but I didn't really believe in the bike & because of this I didn't really enjoy the experience, it just felt like hard work.

If its your first time off road, I'd recommend you get a rental if you're travelling a good distance for the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

Also good advice for first timers - if its raining take it handy on the boardwalk sections. The wood gets very slippery on them.

The brown loop should be no problem in 4 hours and none of it is particularly technical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭TopCat01

As mentioned above, I'd recommend the Brown, and then Green if you have time (in that order). The Green first half is majority up hill with a great downhill second half, where as the Brown is more mixed. Both well achieveable for first timers. As studiorat said, you could incorporate some of the White, but if its your first time round, might be just easier to stick to marked routes.

As for bikes, hardtail is perfect (full sus is not necessary), but if you can go the extra few quid, you will appreciate the disc brakes. As far as I remember, the place in Killmallock is slightly cheaper for the full day than the guys at the car park.

If you don't have a coillte pass, its €5 in coins for the parking. €2 for the showers, and I think €2 for the bike wash. The guys in the carpack have change, but worth bringing plenty of coinage. :)

Enjoy it, I'm sure you'll have a brilliant time, its a great facility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭ratracer

Repolho wrote: »
    Just to be aware before you go, the half day rental from the guys in the carpark is only 2 hours!

I got caught out with that last summer when I went with 2 mates who were renting bikes. They rang ahead and booked for half day which we all assumed would be 4 hours. Guy was quite strict about it and more or less told us not to do brown as we wouldn't get it done in time. He wrote down the time we had to be back and said he would be charging for the full day if we were late. Ended up doing Green X 2.5.
    A half day rental is only for 2 hours??? What a scam...I'm all for enterprise but thats just typical rip-off ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

ratracer wrote: »
    A half day rental is only for 2 hours??? What a scam...I'm all for enterprise but thats just typical rip-off ireland.

I disagree. They tell you, before you rent the bike, what their conditions and charges are. If you don't like their T. & C.s, I'm sure, there is no obligation on you to hire.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    I disagree. They tell you, before you rent the bike, what their conditions and charges are. If you don't like their T. & C.s, I'm sure, there is no obligation on you to hire.
    I would have assumed the same as Repolho, that a half day would be four hours. Two hours would be very different to the norm and should have been explained when the advance booking was made. It obviously wasn't, hence my reasoning for calling this a rip-off. If people are aware of the two hour limit beforehand, then of course they have time to make alternate arrangements, but if not, and you travel all the way there, the bike hire people kinda have you over a barrell, would you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭TopCat01

Just on the 2-hour things, is that set, or was that because you were there at a certain time of the day/year? At this time of the year, if you arrived at, for example 11am, and wanted the bike for 4hours, really thats as good as a full day for them, and they aren't going to be able to hire out the bike again at 3?

I'd be inclinded to side with these guys too as I've been down there several times with friends who needed to rent bikes, and found them consistantly good to deal with. The bikes are kept in good order (great compared to other places), and they've come out to the trail once when we had a serious problem (derailleur broke).

Also, I'm sure they have to deal with a lot of "chancers" who say they are going for a half day and go well over 2/3 or even 4 hours.

I don't think its fair to jump to the conclusion that they are ripping off people. If they make their terms clear, I think its fair enough?

*Edit - Just re-read one of the later posts there. If it is only ever 2-hours, and they weren't advised of that when they booked in advance, then that is out of line. Would be interested to know the full circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭buzzingnoise

what time does the on-site rental place open on saturdays and is there a website or number to call?

TopCat01 wrote: »
    Just on the 2-hour things, is that set, or was that because you were there at a certain time of the day/year? At this time of the year, if you arrived at, for example 11am, and wanted the bike for 4hours, really thats as good as a full day for them, and they aren't going to be able to hire out the bike again at 3?

I'd be inclinded to side with these guys too as I've been down there several times with friends who needed to rent bikes, and found them consistantly good to deal with. The bikes are kept in good order (great compared to other places), and they've come out to the trail once when we had a serious problem (derailleur broke).

Also, I'm sure they have to deal with a lot of "chancers" who say they are going for a half day and go well over 2/3 or even 4 hours.

I don't think its fair to jump to the conclusion that they are ripping off people. If they make their terms clear, I think its fair enough?

*Edit - Just re-read one of the later posts there. If it is only ever 2-hours, and they weren't advised of that when they booked in advance, then that is out of line. Would be interested to know the full circumstances.
    If the guys hiring the bikes were advided of the T&C's beforehand, then of course it's acceptable for a company to charge whatever they like for as long as they like. Market force will decide the success or otherwise. It just didn't sound like that from the post. I've not been to Ballyhoura yet, i'm presently trying to organise a group from work to go there, and i knoe i'm gonna be needing to rent bikes for some of the group. If it's upfront no hassle, if we drive three hours to get there and then find out something like that i'd be pretty pissed.

As you say, it'd be good to know the full accurate story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Thanks for the advise folks....

Leave booked
    Bikes hired
    Plans made.
    Weather looking good.

All set....cant wait !

:D:D:D

PS: bike hire options:
    www.trailriders.ie
    www.ballyhourabikehire.com

see here http://www.ballyhouramtb.com/bike-rental/2.html