Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun clubs

• 25-02-2012 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Hi all
    Im looking for info on gun clubs around the newtownmountkennedy area for game and vermin shooting, living in the area all my life and been target shootin last few years and would like to get into the hunting side of the sport and meet new people to gain some valuable experience and tips,
    I have nargc insurance and a .22 rifle and currently saving for my shotgun

Any help would be appreciated
    And thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Go on to the web or NARGC. and you will get all the info you need of the Gun Clubs in your area do you not know any one local thats shooting as you live in the area all your life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Watsdecrack

No dont know any local shooters will have a search and see what i can find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

No dont know any local shooters will have a search and see what i can find

so your living there all your life and dont no any shooters... thats odd your neck of the woods is obviously different to my neck of the woods as it usually shooters who get others shooting in my area

Dont no any local shooters because i never really around the area much always away with work got interested in shooting on a stag do rifle shooting few years ago and kept at it since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭iTom

I tried to get membership of my local gun club last year and they said no and I have been living in the area all my life.
    The worst thing is that half the members in it are not from the area and are only in as the are related to local members.
    Is there anything I can do.
    I also have permission on all the gun club lands from the owners(Farmers),

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

I'm not too far from you and when I came down here first I enquired about getting into a club but realised I had no chance. In all fairness I do understand why as I see how many applications we get in my current club and the waiting list could be years. In my opinion though you are better off trying to get your own permissions especially where you are based as there is a lot of sheep farming and the land owners are usually very welcoming to anyone who is willing to do a bit of fox shooting and things will lead on from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

well i have to agree with moby there fella i was wanting to get in a clunb for years a local one and all relations on it as well well no way in heaven so i got mad one day out i went talking to several farmers and now to this day i have approx 4000 acres for my self and insuranve i have my self as i myself run a group insurance cheaper that way for every one and thats my totally opionion on gun clubs best of luck fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

iTom wrote: »
    I tried to get membership of my local gun club last year and they said no and I have been living in the area all my life.
    The worst thing is that half the members in it are not from the area and are only in as the are related to local members.
    Is there anything I can do.
    I also have permission on all the gun club lands from the owners(Farmers),
    I think the best thing you could do iTom is shoot every game and vermin that you see on the lands you got permission. Well i think you can tell by your talk that what ever gun club that is is full of loosers. I wouldn't please them by joining them just leave nothing for them to shoot. I'm not in any gun club or never want to be but that's my choice

Im no specificly lookin to join to shoot game im really just looking to meet few lad ta go out with and learn few bits and get some experience specially with gun dogs as im tryin to train a springer pup at the min and would like meet few lads ta show me the ropes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

If you have choice pick the club that dose the most, like habitat development and that don't just pick one that does clays and then blows everything out of it on the 1st alot of clubs are full and run by dicks like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭AL 555

Why does it always seem and sound that no matter who you are or where you live if your not in the know you cant and wont get into a local gun club?? and what if the nearest club to you is miles away and your not considered a local then what can you do?? Is their a closed shop rule in clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

how do you have nargc insurance without being in a club, i thought the insurance was only for club members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭ClarkyTrd

I'm from the same area as yourself and do alot of shooting / ferreting. send me a pm and we might be able to arrange something.

I probably know who you are anyway :p

Im a member of hilltop shooting club who use nargc so have the insurance that way

ClarkyTrd wrote: »
    I'm from the same area as yourself and do alot of shooting / ferreting. send me a pm and we might be able to arrange something.

Pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I have lived in newtown all my life and have been shooting about 18 years now and only got into the gun club a few years back.I would like to be able to get more lads into our club but the old guard don't seem to want new members.They are set in their ways and its hard to get them to do anything.I was lucky to get in myself.I'm hoping we will release some pheasants this year but its even hard to get them to do that.Anyway if you want a chat some time send me a pm.

ClarkyTrd wrote: »

How you getting on with the ferreting Clarky?

Not bad Wayne, been out a few times and caught a few bunnies. Only started ferreting this year so its a bit of craic and a change from being out with the gun the whole time.

You doing much yourself?

Yeah ferreting good sport but we have finished now,to many young in burrows.We only ferret with the birds anyway and its nearly time for them to moult now to so we'll be putting them away.Time to start at the foxes now.Hows the springer going for you?

Went out the other night for foxes but there wasnt a thing around, gonna be at them for the next while and have to try out my new foxcall so hope it brings me a few rewards.

Dog is going grand, havent had him under the gun in a while but he's hunting away. Could of shot him the other day, ran after two sika hinds while out walking :p. Friend of mine has a young Wirehaired Pointer so kept busy getting her ready for next season, she's pointing away already so look forward to getting her out.