Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How does one enjoy running?

• 25-02-2012 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Can anyone tell me is there a way to enjoy jogging. I have been jogging for the last number of months, only about 6-8 kilometre runs but the last few weeks I've hated every second of it. How do people who run 10 miles a day and at unreal speed keep themselves motivated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Look in the mirror before and after each run, also consider getting a mirror installed at various points you will pass on your run, these should keep reminding you of your figure and why you're better than everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Can anyone tell me is there a way to enjoy jogging. I have been jogging for the last number of months, only about 6-8 kilometre runs but the last few weeks I've hated every second of it. How do people who run 10 miles a day and at unreal speed keep themselves motivated?

Give yourself short term and long term goals, be it a race or the length of your longest run - then mix up the types of runs you do (pace, distance, location, surface).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Take most of your runs easy, and don't increase the distances too much. If you're pushing yourself on almost every run you're going to burn yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Give yourself short term and long term goals, be it a race or the length of your longest run - then mix up the types of runs you do (pace, distance, location, surface).

Good idea.

If you are hating every run, change something, or you will give up.

We all have a bad day at the office, every so often, but you have to be getting something out of it, to keep going.

Do you every run races ? Its a great idea to motivate yourself, and give yourself a goal.

Do you find the runs physically difficult, or are you just wondering why you bother?

if it is physically difficult, slow up a bit. As Ray said, most of your runs should be easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

surley if you dislike something this much you should be looking at alternative things to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

i go running in woods and on trails , the time flies as there is always distractions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

OP, why are you jogging if you hate it. Are you training for a race or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Don't waste your time doing something you don't enjoy.

If you're looking for something purely for fitness then try cycling, swimming, football, hockey, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,895 ✭✭✭✭dahat

2 years ago i was 20 stone and more,today i am just over 15 stone,every yard i run be it a good day or bad day i love...
    Sometimes it hurts sometimes i feel like Mo Farrah but that is running...slow down a bit is the key for you i think,you should be drifting off running and thinking about the good things in life not hammering out the next half mile,to me that is no fun unless you are in race specific training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Look in the mirror before and after each run, also consider getting a mirror installed at various points you will pass on your run, these should keep reminding you of your figure and why you're better than everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

corny wrote: »

The whole premise of installing mirrors also deserves to be in bold also!
    while trying to type that I dropped a pen from my mouth and when attempting to catch it between my thighs i crushed one of my testicles. I regret ever signing up for boards. I'm off to stare at my own reflection for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭IrishJack89

I am jogging because I want to keep my body fat down because I'm also weight training in the gym 4 days a week. Aswell as keeping my body fat down I want to be fit and I would love to run a marathon some day so they are my reasons for jogging. Everyday I go out my aim is run 6-8km and do it in a certain time. Perhaps I need to change route, distances and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I am jogging because I want to keep my body fat down because I'm also weight training in the gym 4 days a week. Aswell as keeping my body fat down I want to be fit and I would love to run a marathon some day so they are my reasons for jogging. Everyday I go out my aim is run 6-8km and do it in a certain time. Perhaps I need to change route, distances and all that.

Here's your problem. You are pushing yourself too hard on every run and you are doing the same thing time after time.

Concentrate on running easy for a while with no time pressures. Vary your routes and mix your distances. You'll come to enjoy it and soon notice you can run much fater times than before when you try to push it.

Also sign up to a race 5-10k would be ideal. It's good to have a short term goal rather than just a long term goal (marathon).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,895 ✭✭✭✭dahat

From Tipperary i see,there is a 10k on May 13th in Clonmel,sign up when it opens and aim for that.
    Follow a set plan for it(Hal higdon or the like) and i bet you will enjoy it alot more.Going to aim for that myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

dahat wrote: »
    From Tipperary i see,there is a 10k on May 13th in Clonmel,sign up when it opens and aim for that.
    Follow a set plan for it(Hal higdon or the like) and i bet you will enjoy it alot more.Going to aim for that myself....

Seconding that! Don't run hard every day, you'll kill yourself. Get stuck into a plan and hit a few races. Racing is where the craic is at.

Other ideas:
    Run with someone else.
    Join a club.
    Run somewhere scenic or just change your routes.
    Stick on an album on the mp3 player.
    Start a log on here.
    Mix up the training as BeepBeep said (hill repeats, strides, intervals etc).
    Make sure you have decent gear (shoes, tech top and shorts etc).

Running is bleedin' deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Start swimming, cycling or something your interested in. If runnings not for you, don't force it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

If you find that you continue to hate running, you should find a different exercise that you do enjoy.

But, if you were enjoying it and now you are in a rut, try some of the advice here first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭kc83

I used to feel like that also...but I took swimming up too and it changed it around-I also entered a 15k so I did the Hal higdon programme Nd I found a friend who came out once a week with me-I did the other days alone but even having someone one night a week helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭Thud

Change your route regularly or run in woods or off road, new/different scenery will keep your mind off the running part and runs will fly by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Run with people and change the route you run.Goal setting is important both short term and long term.

Ask yourself why you are running?
    is it to get fitter?
    look better?
    aiming for a race?
    Find out why and then you can plan ahead.

As some others have mentioned you might be pushing too hard and going out of your comfort zone too early on your runs.

If you can't figure out why find another sport !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭clear thinking

Meet up with people to do your runs, motivation is easier and time passes quicker on the run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I was running with a couple of lads in RC's training group a while back. 1st one says he hates LSRs and prefers quick short training. The other guy preferred the slow stuff and hated the speedwork. I told them I hated both and I don't think they believed me, but it's true. I hate the idea of 2 or 3 hours slogging around on a slow run. I hate running hard and fast.

But I always feel glad that I got out and ran. And I like feeling fit. And I love racing. Sometimes it's the destination and not the journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭mike.l

But I always feel glad that I got out and ran. And I like feeling fit. And I love racing. Sometimes it's the destination and not the journey.

Agree 100%

Was thinking of this thread yesterday when I was doing an 8 mile run in the wind and rain,It would have been nicer to sit on the couch and watch telly, I wasn't really enjoying it , but the feeling of achievement when it is completed , also with a goal race to aim for make it worthwhile especially if you can get a new p.b. . There is also something quite nice about beating someone 1/2 your age!

I would have felt a lot worse going to bed last night if I had sat on the couch and watched telly than I did going for that run in the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Rambling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mdlb

Very simple for me;

love that feeling you get after finishing a run, especially the long runs

love running a route that I haven't done before and just figuring it out as I go

love the fact that you can do it anywhere...all you need is runners and away you go......was in drogheda, dublin and now Antwerp in Belgium in the last week so there has been a lot of different routes!!!

@ OP
    As others have said
    definitely change around your route and distance...same one day after day will get stale v quickly!
    also sign up for a race to get you a bit more motivated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

I used to do exactly what you're doing, Gym, Run, Gym, Run, Gym, Run Gym, Run, etc... All my runs would be 6km, and I'd try to get the same fast time everytime. I started to dread going out because I knew it was going to be tough. Sometimes my max heart rate would be 195 with an average heart rate of 185, then I'd do it all again the next run.

It was that dam Garmin watch! I'd be looking at it all the time to see if I was a head of my previous runs, and if not I'd put the foot down or try too.

I forgot to charge my watch up one day and just went out and ran at a nice relaxed pace listing to some tunes and had the most enjoyable run ever. Now I only do one fast run a week and I find I'm enjoying running much much more.

Do yourself a favour and leave your time piece behind and just relax, you'll enjoy the run much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Astrozombies

it helps with music, alot.
    Today in particular, I ran 2 miles in just under 30minutes. I was really angry so I decided to let off some steam and go for a jog, fab idea because I felt so powerful and happy afterwords :) just think of the fit bod you'll have aswell haha, always helps me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I go through phases where I'm just not feeling the running love and like others said the best thing I can do is leave the watch at home, get away from the roads and into the woods and just run whatever way feels right and if that includes stopping to look at stuff, listen to other stuff, talk to people or just catch my breath so what. I enjoy it much much more when I'm not being a slave to the watch:)