Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancy a One Day Licence?

• 23-02-2012 8:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭

I know a lot of the lads here would like to try a bit of racing using our unique 1 day licence system. If so I thought I would just give you a few small tips ;)
    • No tribars allowed
    • No ipods allowed
    • No mudguards
    • No lights (not illegal but if they come off!)
    • make sure the bike is in good working order
    • think about washing it
    • put your number on the pockets of your jersey
    • think about not having a huge saddle bag on the bike
    • Be careful
    • Don't be an @$$
    • Shoulder rubbing will occur so be prepared
    • Fecking smile it's great!
    • Bring safety pins
    • Plain kit if you're unattached
    • Try do some club races beforehand
    • No riding four abreast on the wrong side of a solid white line on the approach to a blind bend.
    • Feel free to ignore those strange individuals who pour more energy into roaring instructions at others than they do into their own cranks.
    • No cra*****. Cra***** is absolutely prohibited.
    • Get up the front and do some work. Or join a spinsters' touring club.
    • Keep your hands on the bars....always
    • enjoy!

Anything else??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

From a newbie to racing:
    • Don't be an @$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

Do all of the A4 races permit one day licences or is it just a select few ? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Bring safety pins. Plain kit if you're unattached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

seve65 wrote: »
    Do all of the A4 races permit one day licences or is it just a select few ? Thanks

all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

morana wrote: »
    • No tribars allowed
    Anything else??
    Yes. How about flat bars fitted with bar ends?

[I'm pretty sure I know the answer but I might as well take this opportunity to get an official pronouncement on the matter ;)]

Yes. How about flat bars fitted with bar ends?

[I'm pretty sure I know the answer but I might as well take this opportunity to get an official pronouncement on the matter ;)]

like on a mountain bike???

Yes in an MTB race! a big fat 'non' in a RR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

If a fellow rider asks how you're feeling during the race - don't say 'fine', say 'BUENO'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

• No riding four abreast on the wrong side of a solid white line on the approach to a blind bend.
    • Feel free to ignore those strange individuals who pour more energy into roaring instructions at others than they do into their own cranks.
    • No crashing. Crashing is absolutely prohibited.
    • Get up the front and do some work. Or join a spinsters' touring club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

How about stuff in rear pockets, mini pumps, etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

I know a lot of the lads here would like to try a bit of racing using our unique 1 day licence system. If so I thought I would just give you a few small tips ;)
    • No tribars allowed
    • No ipods allowed
    • No mudguards
    • No lights (not illegal but if they come off!)
    • make sure the bike is in good working order
    • think about washing it
    • put your number on the pockets of your jersey
    • think about not having a huge saddle bag on the bike
    • Be careful
    • Don't be an @$$
    • Bring safety pins
    • Plain kit if you're unattached
    Anything else??

Really no mud guards, i seen plenty of people with mud guards i thik i may of raced with mud guards before but it could of been club league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

tips are optional, this stuff is mandatory:

http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=14734316

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭LCRC_BAX

* Make sure you have bar plugs in end of your bars
    * Ensure correct tyre pressure before race
    * Try not to slam on the anchors in middle of the bunch - keep it smooth!

did you not race once with no bar tape ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Maybe a dozey question, but what is "plain kit"?

Does such a thing definitely exist, when it comes to cycling gear?

sbs2010 wrote: »

no big logos thats all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Do not patronize female riders. They can kick your ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Years ago if you had a branded jersey,we were just told to turn it inside out.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Shave your legs. Unless you want to be marked out as a clueless n00b.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Small logos. But the main thing is not wearing another team's kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Don't ride up peoples insides taking corners and dont overlap wheels

Do not patronize female riders.
    ...just love them :)
    Years ago if you had a branded jersey,we were just told to turn it inside out.

especially PRO team kit!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Pieterblurb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The Crunch

[*]put your number on the pockets of your jersey

This is the most important one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

Just a question, for unattached riders, clothing is to contain no trade names ? But does that mean no logos at all, its difficult to get a completely plain top ?

doh must read the previous post first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

LOL at Rule #11 (My first car was an AX GT, fecking weapon)

// Family does not come first. The bike does.

Sean Kelly, being interviewed after the ’84 Amstel Gold Race, spots his wife leaning against his Citroën AX. He interrupts the interview to tell her to get off the paintwork, to which she shrugs, “In your life the car comes first, then the bike, then me.” Instinctively, he snaps back, “You got the order wrong. The bike comes first.”21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Do any clubs (preferably near or in Dublin) accept one day license racers in their club races? Have just left a tri club and have no real interest in joining a cycling club. Would like to dip my toe in the water in regards to racing and figured they might be a good place to start.

Dowee wrote: »
    Do any clubs (preferably near or in Dublin) accept one day license racers in their club races? Have just left a tri club and have no real interest in joining a cycling club. Would like to dip my toe in the water in regards to racing and figured they might be a good place to start.

Thats the benefit of the club! I dont of any although some might allow you ride as a guest but I dont know any club that would have 1 day licence books at hand. Why no just do an open race?

(I know this is perverse logic as why should a potential newbie should be allowed in the middle of a big bunch. We wanted to introduce a system whereby clubs would have to vouch for a riders competency but we felt it was unworkable)

Thanks Morana. Am I correct in assuming that an open race that accepts A4 riders will allow one day license holders?

Any advice on an "easier" open race around Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

Thats the benefit of the club! .............

The three best pieces of advice for a newbie?

Join a club.

Thanks Morana. Am I correct in assuming that an open race that accepts A4 riders will allow one day license holders?

Any advice on an "easier" open race around Dublin?
    Yes the A4 should take 1 dayers. Saturday the LAlly memorial in Batterstown doesnt have any huge hills. Sunday is a bit rougher in Navan but if you have any form its a great race.

Thanks again. Sorry I should have clarified, I'm not planning to race until maybe April. One that might suit is the Noel and Kieran Hammond memorial near Roundwood.

As regards competency and form, who knows, I'd be near the top end of tri / duathlon race in terms of the bike but that probably doesn't count for a whole lot! This is why I'd like a "soft landing" in terms of trying out some proper bike racing.

@King Kelly - I totally understand where you're coming from but I'm just not interested in a club right now.

Thanks again. Sorry I should have clarified, I'm not planning to race until maybe April. One that might suit is the Noel and Kieran Hammond memorial near Roundwood.

As regards competency and form, who knows, I'd be near the top end of tri / duathlon race in terms of the bike but that probably doesn't count for a whole lot! This is why I'd like a "soft landing" in terms of trying out some proper bike racing.

@King Kelly - I totally understand where you're coming from but I'm just not interested in a club right now.

What I meant by competency is the ability to ride in a very large bunch at high speeds. I have no doubt you will be strong. The Hammond races are on avery hard course afaik.

Ye, not having raced before that's what would concern me most (in addition to being hopelessly dropped of course :)). Have cycled in large groups but that's not the same. I imagine the closest I've come to it was enduring the chaos at the front with Lance Armstrong in the park a few years ago for a couple of laps!!

Thanks a million for your help, will look into the details of a few more races and contact the organisers to ensure they let my kind in.

I don't really have to shave my legs do I? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

seve65 wrote: »
    Just a question, for unattached riders, clothing is to contain no trade names ? But does that mean no logos at all, its difficult to get a completely plain top ?
    Predominantly plain with the manufacturer logo is entirely OK. Radioshack, Sky, Lampre team kit is not.

@Dowee- as others have said the issue is entirely whether you can handle yourself safely in a bunch at race intensity. This is entirely different from leisure riding in a bunch, even leisure riding at a hard pace. You will have no experience of this whatsoever from triathlon. The best place to learn this is honestly in a club league, where the group numbers are smaller than in an open race. Being dropped is unlikely to be an issue if you are race fit from triathlon, but bike handling may well be.

Having said that, it goes from absolutely terrifying to surprisingly competent after a few races, in my experience and that of many others. Like anything it just requires practice. You probably want to focus on your handling and not doing anything risky in the first few races.

blorg wrote: »
    @Dowee- as others have said the issue is entirely whether you can handle yourself safely in a bunch at race intensity. This is entirely different from leisure riding in a bunch, even leisure riding at a hard pace. You will have no experience of this whatsoever from triathlon. The best place to learn this is honestly in a club league, where the group numbers are smaller than in an open race. Being dropped is unlikely to be an issue if you are race fit from triathlon, but bike handling may well be.

Having said that, it goes from absolutely terrifying to surprisingly competent after a few races, in my experience and that of many others. Like anything it just requires practice. You probably want to focus on your handling and not doing anything risky in the first few races.

Thanks for the advice, much appreciated. I very much intend just trying to get a feel for the racing in any early races I do and wouldn't be trying anything. I would say my handling is at a decent level for a "non racer" but I know racing is going to be a whole different ball game! This is why possibly a few "less instense" races might suit to start off with.

I'll look into the club option but it's unlikely to suit me.

I wouldn't say 'don't try anything,' if you have a chance, take it, and who knows what might happen, you wouldn't be the first newbie ex-triathlete that wins or places in their early races. Just don't try anything dangerous. A break (with a few other riders) is hard work but a safer place than the bunch.

Why are you so opposed to a club, out of interest?

I’d still consider myself a tri-athlete / duathlete, I haven’t left the sport, just the club. Cycle racing is an itch I need to scratch! :)

The reasons I don’t want to join a club right now are the same as the reasons I left the tri club. (i) Due to family commitments I tend to train non standard hours so usually club sessions don’t suit, (ii) I got a bit sick of paying a club sub which was essentially being used to subsidise coached sessions for others in the club that could make the sessions and (iii) Most tri-athletes are little bit nuts!! :P (ok that one doesn’t necessarily count as a reason against a cycling club, but it doesn't make it untrue!!).

As I just want to dip my toe in the water somewhat I don’t want to join a club right now. I cycle with some tri-athlete friends at the weekend and do my own training during the week so I’m not sure I’d even have time for the cycling club.

I wouldn’t rule it out at some time in the future though especially if I like the racing. Dundrum is quite close by and would seem like a logical club for me.

Clubs don't require you to train with them at all. If you want to learn how to race, the club league is the most valuable resource. Your minimal time commitment in Dundrum is to marshal one race per season which is not exactly onerous.

Am I correct in assuming that if you join a club to race the club races you pay the following fees:

Club Sub + Club League Sub + CI Club License

Am I correct in assuming that if you join a club to race the club races you pay the following fees:

Club Sub + Club League Sub + CI Club License

Yes, that is correct, as Rofo said on the other thread,

€50 (Orwell Subs) + €30 (League fees) + €60 (CI Club competition licence)

If you want to do a lot of open races you need to upgrade to a full license (at around €125) but then there are no more day license fees so it works out better value. IIRC you can just pay the difference between the club comp license and the full one. But to be honest there is more than enough racing in the club league, certainly to work out whether you like road racing or not. My first year I raced entirely in the club league on a club comp license, with just two open races (which I found terrifying.) The next year I placed in my first two open races and won my third, so I feel the club league was a good education.

The €30 for the league is exceptional value as it gets you entry to 20-25 races with no further entry fees. Just over a euro a race is hard to argue with. Orwell/IRC/Lucan/Tienans/UCD league involves five clubs with about 180 racers taking part and alternates between Brittas and Batterstown on Thursday evenings for the whole season (+ a hamper race at Christmas.) You can do as few or as many races as you want; league scoring is structured so you can miss quite a few races without it affecting your standing. There are four ability groups which are very well seeded by the organisers. You start in limit and move up as you improve; if you are coming from a tri background they might start you in semi-limit and you would probably move up quickly.

Note the other expense you will have if joining a club is to buy the club kit. If you are in a club you have to ride in the kit. This costs around €100 for the shorts and jersey (but then you do get shorts and jersey out of this which you need anyway.)

Thanks Blorg, appreciate that.

Looks like a U-turn on my club policy could be on the cards! :)

Probably the safest / wisest option all round.