Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

umbilical slurry spreading

• 23-02-2012 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭

anyone know of a contractor that does this with a trailing-shoe or an injector. I have too much grass for a splash plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

my slurry contractor has one.
    what part of country are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

south roscommon, could you pm me his number.thanx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

my contractor has a dribble bar its very good on grass , the problem with the injector or trailing shoe is that it takes a lot of effort to pull it around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Looking for a slurry contractor with an umbilical trailing shoe set up. North KK area

Any takers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Any takers

Our slurry contractor is based in doneraile in cork but has gone up to parts of north clare as well. Comes down to bandon here as 4 or 5 farmers use him. He would prob travel but because of distance could be heading opposite direction when u need him. Don't know of anyone yer direction

Any takers

What quantity are you talking about
    Our lad regularly travel to west wicklow

dar31 wrote: »
    What quantity are you talking about
    Our lad regularly travel to west wicklow

Will you pm his number. How many meters pipe do you recon he has?

He dose 1.4 km for us. He was talking of getting more though.
    Was getting on to him to get a flow meter as spread rates can be a bit varaible.
    Will send pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Was getting on to him to get a flow meter as spread rates can be a bit varaible.
    Will send pm

Mate of mine spread 5kl /ac of water from lagoon along with dairy washings - lagoon went 8n last sept only getting cubicles in this yr.
    The grass thar came after it was unreal.

Will send pm

Cheers Dar got it

Mate of mine spread 5kl /ac of water from lagoon along with dairy washings - lagoon went 8n last sept only getting cubicles in this yr.
    The grass thar came after it was unreal.

That's what I want but with shoe. All lagoon slurry with slatted tanks pumped to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That's what I want but with shoe. All lagoon slurry with slatted tanks pumped to it
    we had a guy from meath with the trailing shoe, grass bombed it after it. Will do it again next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭visatorro

used dribble bar on paddocks with heavy covers, was very happy with results. wasn't exactly watery slurry. he didn't pump too far for me but come pump 4k. after seeing dribble bar I wouldn't bother with shoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Harrahill near templemore might have one. He's got a fairly big set up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Didnt know they done that, m barry from mid tipp but not sure is it just a splash plate. Sound guy

Know him Does work this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

visatorro wrote: »
    used dribble bar on paddocks with heavy covers, was very happy with results. wasn't exactly watery slurry. he didn't pump too far for me but come pump 4k. after seeing dribble bar I wouldn't bother with shoe

Our lad did say u need a good cover with dribble bar as if there isn't enough grass cover to keep the pipe up so to speak the pipe smears the slurry across the grass as it's pulled along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I thought trailing shoes and dribble bars were pretty common now. There's a fair few of them around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Miname wrote: »
    I thought trailing shoes and dribble bars were pretty common now. There's a fair few of them around here.

I think I remember seeing an article in the journal about a contractor who had a self propelled slurry tanker spreader in monaghan. It was a serious piece of kit. I wonder did he get much work for it and whether he still has it or not?

A trailing shoe tanker isn't what I'm after its one with an umbilical

tanko wrote: »
    I think I remember seeing an article in the journal about a contractor who had a self propelled slurry tanker spreader in monaghan. It was a serious piece of kit. I wonder did he get much work for it and whether he still has it or not?

I've heard nothing more about it since then and haven't seen it in use anywhere local either. Conor's covering the other side of the county so he might have seen something.

Milked out wrote:
    Our lad did say u need a good cover with dribble bar as if there isn't enough grass cover to keep the pipe up so to speak the pipe smears the slurry across the grass as it's pulled along

that would make sense alright, when he's reeling back in the pipes it's nearly impossible to avoid. but would still recommend it. better than splashplate imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan2 wrote: »
    we had a guy from meath with the trailing shoe, grass bombed it after it. Will do it again next year

I got a guy called Kevin Meade Agri in after silage with dribble bar and umbilical- he will be back 4-5 times a year from now on- gonna park up the tanker as too time consuming- calving and breeding too important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

How soon are u all grazing after dribble bar / t shoe .
    In other words is a widescale spread for early and late season only?
    What about disease issues. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »
    I got a guy called Kevin Meade Agri in after silage with dribble bar and umbilical- he will be back 4-5 times a year from now on- gonna park up the tanker as too time consuming- calving and breeding too important

And tax efficient too!!,use trailing shoe tank here 2/3 times a year and also got contractor in to spread fertliser a few times as well..really frees up time .i also only process a 1600 gallon tank and 1 tonne rauch spreader .priced replacement 1.5 tonne rauch with gps,cover etc near 10 k .will be sticking with what I have and use contractor more .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I've heard nothing more about it since then and haven't seen it in use anywhere local either. Conor's covering the other side of the county so he might have seen something.

There was a big contractor up in Carrick maybe Farrelly had a brand new one years ago, haven't heard a whole pile about it since. There is a lad near me had one on behind an old artic Massey but she gave up he ghost this year so he bought a yoke in from Germany, would be new and haven't seen her.

C0N0R wrote: »
    There was a big contractor up in Carrick maybe Farrelly had a brand new one years ago, haven't heard a whole pile about it since. There is a lad near me had one on behind an old artic Massey but she gave up he ghost this year so he bought a yoke in from Germany, would be new and haven't seen her.

There's no farrelly in carrick that I know of.

Your right! Dessie Cunningham is who I was thinking of, slurry.ie is his website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

17 days no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

ye thats the guy, he must cover a fair area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Often grazed after 10 days ,no issue .advisor says should wait 20 days at least due to rapid release of phosphorous in the plant especially with applications early in season

Would go that road if farm was all together. Tankers are slow, costly and inefficient

That depends on layout of farm and scale really though

Your right! Dessie Cunningham is who I was thinking of, slurry.ie is his website

A website for slurry that's a first for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Is there a mcguinness fella up that side with a umbilical setup. Went to ag college with his son.

Not mc cann by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Not mc cann by any chance?

Nope, definitely mcguinnes.

There is a McGuinness near me does silage anyway not sure about slurry, Monaghan town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How are lads being charged for umbilical? Us it per hour or gallons pumped?

Got slurry spread by umbilical this spring. It's some job. Big plus l see with it is little or no compaction.

Muckit wrote: »

Got slurry spread by umbilical this spring. It's some job. Big plus l see with it is little or no compaction.

Between 120-150 an hour around here, some charge for rolling out the pipes some don't. 12 bays agitated and out for less than 700 this year. It wouldn't pay to spread your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Muckit wrote: »

Got 12 bays spread for €450 a few years ago. Charged per hour spread, it was well mixed.

Between 120-150 an hour around here, some charge for rolling out the pipes some don't. 12 bays agitated and out for less than 700 this year. It wouldn't pay to spread your own.

Same here, all I know charge for setup and spreading time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

There is a McGuinness near me does silage anyway not sure about slurry, Monaghan town

Taites?

td5man wrote: »
    Taites?

I'm lost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

I'm lost!

Have Taites pipes?

100 euro an hour. that includes reeling in and out. rough estimate bit I reckon when he got going he was fit to pump 60000 litres and hour. that's what, 12000 gallons in old money. not a mark on the field. used dribble bar. he'll be here hopefully twice in the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

visatorro wrote:
    100 euro an hour. that includes reeling in and out. rough estimate bit I reckon when he got going he was fit to pump 60000 litres and hour. that's what, 12000 gallons in old money. not a mark on the field. used dribble bar. he'll be here hopefully twice in the spring.

I thought they could spread 20-30 k gallkns/hr, great job nontheless

kevthegaff wrote:
    I thought they could spread 20-30 k gallkns/hr, great job nontheless

yeah when I get calculator out its 25k an hour. was far from watery stuff aswell