Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do in this situtation ?

• 22-02-2012 9:46pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭cruasder777

Ok, you are working the door, you eject a guy(start of video), the guy comes back and procedes to knock on the club door for 5 minutes shouting and calling you a coward and saying you are scared to have a straightner with him (4mins 20 secs). 1)....Go out and have a straightner with the guy ? thus breaking the law or 2)Not go out and not exactly look great ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hn4Vkwu_UwI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't even have to view the clip to tell if (if thats an accurate description) that I'd stay behind closed doors, I've done it numberous times - eventually they'll feck off.

Only twice did I ever leave the door, and both times it was because they idiots damaged my car outside - I held them for the cops and got money off the fools.

**actually on reflection thats not accurate..

Sometimes you'd have to leave the door and take action if patrons wish to leave the premises but are being prevented in doing so by some prick at the door. And tbh, some people are so intent on having a knock that they won't leave without a few clatters.

So there ya go, it differ's but mostly I'd stay behind locked doors and let the fool blow out of steam.

I'll view the clip ltr.

I'll view the clip later

Ok just viewed the clip.

Sometimes you gotta get your hands dirty, the guy deserved a few clatters tbh.

And the cops turning up at a scene were one guy is striped to the waist, and they probably know the door staff - well its probably only going to go one way.

Lots of witnesses too - great I love that. Everyone of them will have a different story, lots of work for the cops.. It'll go now where except youtube.

By the way OP, I've just noticed this is in a Self Defence and Martial Arts forum - why?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭cruasder777

.....Because its a situation involving martial arts and weather in these circumstances they should be used/not used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Personally think they should have called the cops rather than going out the second time. First time was acceptable but the second, the bouncer should have known better and will probably end in hot water (I do think the bloke deserve it)

2 things strike me as weird, firstly why is the blokes mate hitting him with a belt when he goes down the first time? He seems like a real snake, throwing digs when he cant be seen and 'backing' him when the bloke is back up. The second, is the fact that EVERYONE runs to tell the cops that its the bouncers fault... if the bloke wasn't being such a tool then he wouldn't have gotten a few slaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

How about this guy? Would you go out to him or wait for him to cut through the door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

p to the e wrote: »
    How about this guy? Would you go out to him or wait for him to cut through the door?

ehh..I'd leave via another exit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Looks like he got rightly pasted in the end so I think it was a bad idea to bring a chainsaw.

I was on the door one night and we threw out a guy and he came back with a bushman saw. Its all well and good thinking that you are invincible when you are plastered, but the bottom line is that your reflexes are **** and its not that hard to dodge someone who is lumbering at you with a large single sided weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

RoboRat wrote: »
    The second, is the fact that EVERYONE runs to tell the cops that its the bouncers fault... if the bloke wasn't being such a tool then he wouldn't have gotten a few slaps!

It is the bouncers fault. He was safe inside. There was absolutely no need to come out and start hitting the drunken eejit (not that the drunken eejit didn't deserve it). Also I thought the bouncer was a twonk to come out. He had reasonable, but not good hands (look at that chin waving around!!). He could easily have had the crap knocked out of him if the other guy was in any way good.

Khannie wrote: »
    It is the bouncers fault. He was safe inside. There was absolutely no need to come out and start hitting the drunken eejit (not that the drunken eejit didn't deserve it).

Sometimes you really don't have a choice.

Just a guess and working from personal experience here.

The cop's are called but it seem's like they're taking forever.

Patrons are looking to leave the premises but you're asking them to wait, they're drunk and couldn't give a rats - but you still feel you've a duty of care to them.

So you end up with one angry fool outside and numberous angry patrons wishing to get out and giving you grief over it.

There is no reasoning with the lad at the door, so go out for a knock with the fool.

As regards everyone blaming the bouncer, happens all the time. We know that and thankfully so do the cops.

People should mind their own business..

Also if you listen to the comments on the clip between 25 sec's and 35 sec's the guy talks about the black lad having been thrown out of the club for causing trouble earlier.

So it wasn't just a prick pissed off because the bouncer's just didn't like his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Patrons are looking to leave the premises but you're asking them to wait, they're drunk and couldn't give a rats - but you still feel you've a duty of care to them.

Ah fair enough I hadn't considered that. I thought he was just caving to his desire to give yer man the beating he was looking for.
    So it wasn't just a prick pissed off because the bouncer's just didn't like his face.

I knew that alright. I just thought the bouncer was safe enough inside and the duty is on him (sober, safe) not to go out and start battering some muppet. I wasn't thinking about the people inside wanting to get out though. If he was forced to go out, then by all means that lad got the hiding he deserved.

<name snip> its really a judgement call, and a 50/50 one at that.

In this case, as I mentioned earlier - when the cops arrive to a door and there's one man striped to the waist its really only going to go one way unless he's got a hatchet sticking out of the top of his head with the bouncer's hand cable tied to it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

It would be good to have videos to back up some of the anecdotal stuff here. Lots of keyboard warriors on Boards they say. Dangerous to pass out advice that could get a bouncer hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

An Ri rua wrote: »
    . Lots of keyboard warriors on Boards they say.

You talking about yerself again:rolleyes:you've already got a thread locked for talking through yer hole

is this you??Boards self styled vigilante