Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Energy Choices

Options
  • 22-02-2012 10:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 40

Hi everyone, i was wondering if there was anyone doing energy could help me on my choice of one of the streams (markets, Science, Power, Mangement)? any feedback on any of these streams would be greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Hi I'm in 3rd year and I am doing the power stream. Are you doing eng or sic maths
    Martket would be based around carbon trading
    Power is based around building systems to control power supply from diffrent sources and feeding them to a base load
    You have to do eng maths to enter these streams

Management would be around incressing energy efficenicy in buildings
    Sicence would be R&D of batterys and other energy storage systems

What I can tell you about Power is that for the first term of second year it is the same as sicence and management. Markets has one moduel diffrent they do an ecominces module instead of the circuit module.
    The second term of second year Power has modules in robotics and a programming moduel with lab view and mathlab (control). I loved these modules both of the lectures were some of the best lectures I have had. You will have to do thermal physics and it is a hard module but the lecture is a teacher so if you attend most of the hours and do the work you will be fine.
    The first term of third year you have to do a module in java easy as can be and a mathlab module that if you did mathlab before it okay. The other are similuar to what you did before.