Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The power of scumbags and how to rise above their threats and intimidation

• 22-02-2012 2:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭

Last weekend my friend was in the beer garden of a pub and got into a tussle with this guy over a girl. It was your usual run of the mill argument. The scumbag had split up with the girl, my friend moved in and the scumbag got jealous.

But then at closing time, the scumbag waited for my friend outside, dragged him against a wall around the corner and pulled a knife on him. It was a stanley knife and he pressed it against my friend's neck and threatened him to stay away from the girl. He then said that if he complains to the guards about the attack that he will come after his family and they will pay for it. He said 'petrol is cheap, and I know where you live'

My friend was distraught and didn't know what to do about it, In the end he decided to break it off with the girl and not contact the police over the threat. He was too scared to.

So, the scumbag wins out. What's new? What could and should have my friend have done differently? And this wasn't just a scumbag that was all talk, many of his immediate family are or have been in prison and the family is well known (for the wrong reasons) in these parts.

Is it too dangerous these days to go to the guards over these dangerous scumbags, or is there any protection programs that actually work? How does society go about reducing this 'power' that big name scumbags have? Something needs to be done IMO.

I don't hate much in life, I am usually a fairly laid back person. But honest to God, these scumbags make my blood boil :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

petrol ain't cheap, he's some arsebag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

simple do on to the scumbag as what he would do on to you,2 or 3 good shots to the jaw and that would be that,he wont bother him again.
    if you let them walk all over you,then the will continue to do so.

its like the school bully,as soon as you face up and show no fear,thats it game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Is she really worth the hassle?

In the real world faces get slashed and fires happen. But in the style of the forum he should stand up for blah blah blah....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Tell a dodgy family member the craic and at the very least they'll know some other dodgy fcukers to sort it out.

bassy wrote: »
    simple do on to the scumbag as what he would do on to you,2 or 3 good shots to the jaw and that would be that,he wont bother him again.

its like the school bully,as soon as you face up and show no fear,thats it game over.

Lol! Yeah, all scumbags are like bullies. If you punch them in the face, there's absolutely no way they'll stew over it, think about how they've been humiliated and add this to the rage over the fact that this guy has stolen his missus and take out some bad revenge!

Now that I think of it, I can't think of one single instance of when a scumbag has taken revenge on someone whose done something to them!

longshanks wrote: »
    Is she really worth the hassle?

In the real world faces get slashed and fires happen. But in the style of the forum he should stand up for blah blah blah....

ye the harmless ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

jive wrote: »
    petrol ain't cheap, he's some arsebag

It's probably cheap when one of your family members is the town drug lord.

They're not short of money anyway.

Yeah but this scumbag had a stanley knife and one of his brothers is in prison for attempted murder.

I wouldn't fancy fighting fire with fire in this situation tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Once there was a poster on boards named The_Citizen

Hasn't been around in a long while and the scumbags took over :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Leo Dowling

Consider it a blessing that you/your friend didn't end up going out with this girl and suddenly bumping into Stanley knife man at a later stage. And you did the right thing by not getting further involved.

I'm not sure that we have an epidemic of Stanley knife wielding maniacs in the country tbh, not where I live anyways.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Lol! Yeah, all scumbags are like bullies. If you punch them in the face, there's absolutely no way they'll stew over it, think about how they've been humiliated and add this to the rage over the fact that this guy has stolen his missus and take out some bad revenge!

Now that I think of it, I can't think of one single instance of when a scumbag has taken revenge on someone whose done something to them![/QUOT

up to yourselves how you would handle it,but theres no way the would walk all over me.

Yeah but this scumbag had a stanley knife and one of his brothers is in prison for attempted murder.

Well after your mate beats the sh*t out of the scumbag, let;s all hope he sends his brother to take revenge on your mate. After all, his track record is piss poor so far.

Murders Attempted: 1

Murders Completed: 0

Amateur!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

ye the harmless ones.

Ye the harmless ones what?

probaly in prison for robbing a pensioner.

up to yourselves how you would handle it,but theres no way the would walk all over me.

Good man yourself! You show them career criminals whose boss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Do you think it's wise to be posting this on here, someone might be reading it and will know who you are talking about.
    They don't sound like very nice or forgiving people. I would stay will clear of them if I were you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

But then at closing time, the scumbag waited for my friend outside, dragged him against a wall around the corner and pulled a knife on him. It was a stanley knife and he pressed it against my friend's neck and threatened him to stay away from the girl. He then said that if he complains to the guards about the attack that he will come after his family and they will pay for it. He said 'petrol is cheap, and I know where you live'

Tell your friend to report it,OP.
    That's all you can do,I hope he does.