Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The mysteries of life

• 22-02-2012 2:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭

I’d put this in the religious/spiritual forum but I think it would be better off here as a light hearted after hours topic

Anyway, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, about life, the mere vastness of the universe and the possibility of other life/ beings existing within the universe

I’ve looked at so many theories over the years and to be honest I’m still none the wiser as to what in the feck were all doing here, sitting on this pale blue dot, arguing about trivial things and fighting among ourselves over issues that frankly don’t matter a ****e in the grand scheme of things

I’ve been an atheist for most of my life but the more I think about it, the less sense it makes. We sit here and ridicule people who believe in a Christian/Islam gods yet our explanation to life on earth is the big bang theory which states that the entire universe began 13 billion years ago when it exploded forth from a singularity the size of an atom. That doesn’t sit well with me because it lacks any real evidence and has many many holes in the theory

Other beliefs that have went through my head are that we are some strange experiment planted on this hospitable planet by a far far superior race of beings in order to observe us or even harvest us when they get peckish!

At the end of the day I’d class myself as an agnostic person, I don’t know if there is a higher power, I doubt it but I think it would be ignorant to completely discount the possibility

There are obviously loads more theories out there, tell us what you think what in the name of jaysus we are doing here(excuse the pun:D)

What's your beliefs? 5 votes

I’m of the Christian faith(Any variety)
    0% 0 votes
    I’m of the Islam faith(Any Variety)
    20% 1 vote
    I am an atheist( We die and rot, zero chance of anything after death
    0% 0 votes
    I am an agnostic. (We will never know or understand what happens after death)
    60% 3 votes
    Other(Please specify!)
    20% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I'm just here for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'm some sort of agnostic alatrist buddhist.

Nah not really, I think I'm like Dutch or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

as a light hearted after hours topic

aPDqp.jpg

• Administrators Posts: 54,420 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I am an atheist and strongly opposed to all forms of religion. Even that one with the spaghetti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Go Tobban wrote: »
    I’d put this in the religious/spiritual forum.

So would I.:pac: