Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

interviews for MSc financial services

• 21-02-2012 6:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I've been called for an interview for the MSc financial services. Does anyone know what sort of questions they ask? Id appreciate any advice at all from anyone out there who has done a postgrad interview in UL. I just wana get an idea of what to expect and if i should prepare for it...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 eoinmjmac

I have also got called for an interview next week. Not sure what to expect but I was told its very casual. But ill still be suiting up and doing my research for it. Lecturers have been telling me that the look for potential nowadays over your track record, but clearly both of these are essential.

Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jay88fitz

hey,

thanks. Will u actually suit up??.... i was just going to wear a shirt. have u studied any finance at undergrad? I just did econ so i cant really go over anything other than some news articles.

If ur interview is before wednesday next week can u let me know what to expect? I'll do the same for you if urs is after wed.

cheers again

Ah being realistic ill probably wear a shirt and tie anyways. My interview is 10.45 next Wednesday so I doubt ill be any use since im having it the same day.

No I have studied History & Geography, with Math and IT. So I'm coming from a compete different background altogether.

cool. im at 10:15.

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Interviews tend to be fairly informal, dress up but not TOO formal! Shirt and suit pants type of thing.

Don't worry, you will be grand

jay88fitz wrote: »
    cool. im at 10:15.

good luck

Hey,

How did you get on? I got interviewed by Dr Fergal O'Brien, there was a last message change of personnel. He could not of being nicer. Was panicking before the interview but he made it very easy.

went grand. yeah he was sound alright so that was a relief. it was actually more about him selling it to me than him scrutinizing me. i only checked the portal thing this morning and i got accepted!! I thought that yoke was redundant. have u checked it yet? i was expecting something like an email 2 months from now..

Yeah I got in too :D, I got a phone call on Friday from the Post grad office, coz I was already accepted into another masters and I had told them I would cancel that one if I got financial services. Fairly complicated, but the main thing is im in. Fergal said to me that we should know by the end of last week, so twas handy nothing worse than waiting around for it.

Fair play.

deadly congrats. c u in september so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

I wouldnt worry - demand versus supply at the moment for these courses means that if you come off ok in the interview, can pay the fees and have the basic requirements, you're in down herein the KBS!