Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky Golf

• 20-02-2012 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

Ok, I know we've been through this quite a bit but I'm really getting fed up of them now.

The lack of respect they showed for Mickelson last night was just sickening. Andrew Coltart slagged him from start to finish last night. It almost seems amazing that someone like that can slag a 40 tournament winner.

Pugh has become intolerable...and Rob Lee...he's like the Matt Chapman of the game (for those that don't know he's an eccentric, and smarmy, horse racing presenter). They have their favourite players and make their love for them way too obvious. For example, they really dislike Kevin Na and never waste an opportunity to have a go at him.

What do you guys think of their coverage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Ok, I know we've been through this quite a bit but I'm really getting fed up of them now.

The lack of respect they showed for Mickelson last night was just sickening. Andrew Coltart slagged him from start to finish last night. It almost seems amazing that someone like that can slag a 40 tournament winner.

Pugh has become intolerable...and Rob Lee...he's like the Matt Chapman of the game (for those that don't know he's an eccentric, and smarmy, horse racing presenter). They have their favourite players and make their love for them way too obvious. For example, they really dislike Kevin Na and never waste an opportunity to have a go at him.

Cant stand Rob Lee. You described him well there. Whats his golfing background, if any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Whats his golfing background, if any?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Lee_(golfer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Russman

He played on the European Tour for around 15 years, with 2 wins.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

You again sound surprised, you have 2 options one been send a strongly worded letter to those who may care i.e. Sky (very much doubt it'll have any impact as Sky cater for a UK audience and won't give a toss what a Paddy thinks), and the second been or turn off the sound (or don't watch it at all).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Missed all this somehow, I thought they liked Phil. I deffo heard them say lots of positives about him

I don't mind any of them. They're not going anywhere and I love watching golf so I'm not going to fall out with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Whilst I understand everyone's frustration on the coverage on sky they dont have any say as its American coverage sent to them but the studio coverage is pitiful. I do enjoy denis at the wall but as for Rob lee. How he ever got the job I will never understand. He is more cringe inducing than faldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I don't really mind them, they're pretty harmless. They are more critical, but it makes a change from the all the bland and boring coverage which you get for most other sports, with pundits not speaking their mind.

I agree in principle with their condemning of Bradley/Na/Crane for example, although they do go a bit over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Whilst I understand everyone's frustration on the coverage on sky they dont have any say as its American coverage sent to them but the studio coverage is pitiful. I do enjoy denis at the wall but as for Rob lee. How he ever got the job I will never understand. He is more cringe inducing than faldo.

Now hang on a minute! Rob Lee's a tw@t, no question, but I'm not having Faldo's "work" undermined like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Not a big fan of Sarah Stirk either! Bring back Di!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

Did'nt notice much dissing of Mickelson I have to say......the presentation can be a little timid but at least they try to liven things up.....compared to Sky soccer (Jamie Redknapp) its cutting edge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

the anser wrote: »
    Did'nt notice much dissing of Mickelson I have to say......the presentation can be a little timid but at least they try to liven things up.....compared to Sky soccer (Jamie Redknapp) its cutting edge!

Jamie Redknapp:mad::mad:
    Don’t get me started on that guy.

Anyway, I have to say I didn't notice the Philly bashing either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Jamie Redknapp:mad::mad:
    Don’t get me started on that guy.

Anyway, I have to say I didn't notice the Philly bashing either..

"E does eva so well"

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

you mustnt have been watching all night like I was so. Coltart was at it all night long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

Didn't notice much bashing of Phil myself.

Bradley is a great competitor, but his routine is agony to watch, spitting and twitching and practice swing after practice swing. He seems to love the pressure though, I can see him winning more majors.

Rob Lee is a bit smarmy but he is a presenter, it's nothing new. Denis Pugh is decent and Mark Roe is very knowledgeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Can't say i noticed this Phil bashing but Coltart absolutely laid into Bradley about his pre shot routine, labeling it disgraceful, which i though was a bit harsh.
    One thing i do like about Sky is that they are not afraid to give out about a player or the coverage which the Americans are giving them which makes it all the more entertaining imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Mark Roe is the only one I find truly unbearable, he has a sycophantic devotion to Tiger Woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭katnia

What really irritates me about their coverage is that it's so stuffy and boring, I think the fact that they are all wearing suits really puts me off too.

I think they could liven it up so much more with the shot centre too but it's normally really boring.

My advice is lose the suits, make the shot centre more fun and make it a more 'relaxed' affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

I'm sure I've said this here before but my absolute favourite weekend of the golfing calendar is the British Open. All because of the BBC's amazing coverage... Biggest problem is finding time to eat and use the jacks due to their complete lack of ad breaks!!!

Benny Cake wrote: »
    I'm sure I've said this here before but my absolute favourite weekend of the golfing calendar is the British Open. All because of the BBC's amazing coverage... Biggest problem is finding time to eat and use the jacks due to their complete lack of ad breaks!!!

Sky + is where its at. You would be doing well to stay watching from 9 til 5 straight. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Main problem with everybody's coverage of golf is that it is GB centric.
    The lads at SKY reckon Monty still has a Major in him.
    The CBS / Golf Channel lads (except Oosterhuis) all wish they were Tiger, and not because of his golf. Love Feherty though.
    Didn't think anyone, except Coltart, was dissing Lefty.
    To anyone who used to get irritated with Sergio's regripping routine, watching Bradley must be a complete horror show. (The spitting HAS to stop).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Maybe I missed something, but the only thing I heard them say about Phil was that they couldn't see him winning last night. I thought their analysis of Bradley veered into borderline mockery, but what they said wasn't too far from the truth.

In general though, I think they do an OK job. The only one I wouldn't be particularly fond of would be Mark Roe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭pauldoo

Bbc is terrible-the open is prob my least fav major because of it,aylas talkin crap and constant shots of wildlife with replays in super slow motion-absolute rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Didn't really notice any Phil-bashing myself. Pugh is usually good but he really has a bee in his bonnet about Bradley's antics which is a bit OTT in my opinion.

Coltart is unbelievably dull, doesn't suit a pundit role at all. Van de Velde is great when they have him on and I don't mind Roe nowadays, doesn't take himself too seriously.

I've said it here before but it bears repeating...Robert Lee is an unbelievable plank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Really is each to their own when it comes to commentators! Rob Lee is a disaster, think we can all agree on that. Mark Roe's not as bad but still comes off as a bit of a clown sometimes. Coltart doesn't really add much to the broadcast imo, seems to panic a little when he's asked a question. Simon Holmes, with his quivering lower lip, is very hard to listen to. Annoying and smug beyond belief. Seems to be there on the basis of coaching Nick Faldo a hundred years ago. Tony Johnston is likeable but mediocre.
    A lot of Ewen Murray bashers out there; I think he can be repetitive but he's by far the most knowledgeable commentator in the game. Feherty is good. A caricature of himself by now, but very sharp and very funny at times.

I'd still listen to any of them over Jim Nantz or Rich Learner of the Golf Channel any day of the week. Sickening, the pair of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I usually take those breaks when Ken Brown does his walkabout on the course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

I think Rob Lee is good - he does a very difficult job well of keeping conversation going during the sometimes long random breaks of coverage when there is nothing obvious to talk about. I also like Simon Holmes and Denis Pugh, I find them both amusing. Obviously my opinions aren't widely held around here.

I usually take those breaks when Ken Brown does his walkabout on the course :)

Thats one of my favourite bits. Come Masters time when he talks about the azaleas and all the inside work that goes on during tournament week.
    Can still remember him rolling footballs down the 13th fairway in Augusta, couldn't get over the amount of slope in it. Its the small things really that make the coverage all the more better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Hate Ken on the course more then pitch marks not being repaired! Prefer Wayne Riley for on course reporting. Big fan of David Howell when he's on sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Really is each to their own when it comes to commentators! Rob Lee is a disaster, think we can all agree on that. Mark Roe's not as bad but still comes off as a bit of a clown sometimes. Coltart doesn't really add much to the broadcast imo, seems to panic a little when he's asked a question. Simon Holmes, with his quivering lower lip, is very hard to listen to. Annoying and smug beyond belief. Seems to be there on the basis of coaching Nick Faldo a hundred years ago. Tony Johnston is likeable but mediocre.
    A lot of Ewen Murray bashers out there; I think he can be repetitive but he's by far the most knowledgeable commentator in the game. Feherty is good. A caricature of himself by now, but very sharp and very funny at times.

I'd still listen to any of them over Jim Nantz or Rich Learner of the Golf Channel any day of the week. Sickening, the pair of them.

I actually quite like Simon Holmes. :pac:

The analysis he does of each players golf styles is pretty good, and highlights things that I, as a lay-viewer, wouldn't necessarily pick up on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

The BBC golf coverage could be compared to fixdpitchmarks sub 80 thread..you either love it or you hate based on the descriptive txt/language/imagery...personally I'm a fan but others prefer to avoid it

BBC coverage is ok but people go on about it as if it's sent from some sort of golfing heaven. And, there are plenty of times to take breaks or go for a run while they're having their close ups of the foliage.

As for Peter Aliss, I fear that he's become a bit rusty due to lack of opportunities. He seems totally out of touch with the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

katnia wrote: »
    I think they could liven it up so much more with the shot centre too but it's normally really boring.

I thought the Dyson piece on shotcentre was very good, really interesting to hear from the players themselves. And they had a short game piece, was it Tony Johnston who was working with Robert Rock and he went through it on the shot centre, again, very interesting. Each to their own, I suppose.
    I think Rob Lee is good - he does a very difficult job well of keeping conversation going during the sometimes long random breaks of coverage when there is nothing obvious to talk about.

I think this is a great point. We as viewers probably don't appreciate what a difficult job it is to fill the gaps from the American coverage. In this vein, I'd cut Rob Lee a bit of slack. This has to be a tough part of his job. Although in saying that, you'd imagine they'd prepare topics to discuss before going on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

I agree this is a very under-appreciated role in the broadcast but I think Stirk is better and Livingstone is infinitely better than Lee. They ask more intelligent questions of their studio guests, whereas I find Lee can be almost patronising at times. On top of that, every five minutes he asks for a prediction- headwrecking :(.

Paul Mcginley is in the studio now. He's brilliant IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

I disagree.

McGinley constantly brings up the Ryder Cup because it's his only claim to fame.

The Ryder Cup is a security blanket for guys who weren't good enough to win a Major.

The less successful a guy's career is, the more he'll go on about the Ryder Cup.

Peter Alliss - Class
    Alex Hay - Class
    Mark James - A vile individual
    Rob Lee - A clown
    Nick Faldo - A disgusting individual
    David Feherty - Amusing but a horrible man
    Ewen Murray - Very good
    Colonel Critchley - Class
    Tony Johnson - Good
    Mark Roe - Despised in the golf world but quite good
    Radar Riley - A moron
    Wayne Grady - Good
    Ian Baker Finch - Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,238 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I don't know if i can take these adds anymore , I'm going to throw a golf ball at the screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Radar Riley - A moron
    Wayne Riley - Good

There the same person, so i take it hes a good moron.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

tang1 wrote: »
    There the same person, so i take it hes a good moron.

I meant Wayne Grady (good)