Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crush Gate

• 20-02-2012 9:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭

I know that this has been done to death, but here goes again anyway. I need to buy a crush gate for an outfarm. I already have 2 nugent semi-automatic crush gates in 2 different places. The older one is grand. Its made from good heavy stuff and its sturdy and secure. The newer one is made from lighter steel. using it for cows has strained some of the bars in it and it doesn't always close properly when the animal is walking up into it. Its about 30% lighter than the old gate and I don't think its secure.

I'm playing with the thoughts of buying an automatic gate - but its only for an outfarm - will only be used a few times per year. yest it still has to be secure. The ideal solution would be to put in a semi-auto gate - but it would have to be the same quality as the old gate.

Has anyone bought a crush gate lately?
    Any idea on price? (A Nugent semi-auto is ~ €300)
    Any recommended brands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

Although we've never actually bought a crush gate, have always made our own rope pull ones our scanning/hoof pairing technician says that the o'donovans auto crush gate is the best one he thinks, from his travels and since he covers Clare galway tipp offaly laois and westmeath I reckon he comes across. A lot of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭limo_100

we have three nugent automatic gates they are very good no animal will ever strain them there very heavy. cant recommend them highly enough the only thing is small cattle cant close the gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

priced a nugent recently and decided to get a local fabricator to make one instead. Same price but he just put heavier stuff into it (not galvanised though). Havent used it yet but will let you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

limo_100 wrote: »
    we have three nugent automatic gates they are very good no animal will ever strain them there very heavy. cant recommend them highly enough the only thing is small cattle cant close the gate

Any idea of price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

reilig wrote: »
    I know that this has been done to death, but here goes again anyway. I need to buy a crush gate for an outfarm. I already have 2 nugent semi-automatic crush gates in 2 different places. The older one is grand. Its made from good heavy stuff and its sturdy and secure. The newer one is made from lighter steel. using it for cows has strained some of the bars in it and it doesn't always close properly when the animal is walking up into it. Its about 30% lighter than the old gate and I don't think its secure.

I'm playing with the thoughts of buying an automatic gate - but its only for an outfarm - will only be used a few times per year. yest it still has to be secure. The ideal solution would be to put in a semi-auto gate - but it would have to be the same quality as the old gate.

Has anyone bought a crush gate lately?
    Any idea on price? (A Nugent semi-auto is ~ €300)
    Any recommended brands?

i looked at a new gate only this week all Nugent :semi E300, fully E447 and some gate that is E635 but it was pure class in fairness 3 settings on hooks for using on younger cattle, fine job but alot of money for a gate, i wouldnt have the cattle numbers to justify it but id love it!!

I agree with you i thought the E300 nugent (semi) looked filmsy against the others

Any idea of price?

about €450 but there worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Charlie Charolais

Standard Sculling Gate €310.00
    Semi Automatic Sculling Gate €332.00
    Fully Automatic Sculling Gate €487.00
    Prices are inclusive of vat and are ex Cashels Eng.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

can someone please tell me the difference between semi and fully automatic thanks.:confused:

leg wax wrote: »
    can someone please tell me the difference between semi and fully automatic thanks.:confused:

The semi automatic opend inwards when you pull a lever and this allows the animal in the crush to push his head through it. His shoulders catch the gate, closing it on himself and trapping his head within the gate. Then you pull the lever to release him again. You then need to pull the lever again to reset the gate so that the next animal can be caught in it. When an animal sees you doing this they become weary and often think it hard to go through the gate.

The automatic gate resets itself once you release the animal and it is therefore much easier to encourage animals to go into it.

As per the cashels website:
    Fully Automatic gate

Two important features over the semi-automatic gate:

Its opening width is very wide before engagement so the animal will not be in fear of it. On engagement, it closes on the neck.

When it is opened to release the animal, it comes back into the wide position automatically. So you can be driving the next one forward.

I wonder what the quality of the semi auto gate is?
    As i said above, it won't get too much use, so a semi-auto gate might be sufficient. But I wouldn't buy a gate if it was only the same quality as the current nugent that I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I have a question

we have a semi automatic gate - how do i keep the gate open to let the full crush of cattle out??

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I have a question

we have a semi automatic gate - how do i keep the gate open to let the full crush of cattle out??

When you open it out fully, it should stay open. Mine is strained and won't stay open, so I drilled it and i can put a pin into it to keep it open. If the gate isn't strained, you shouldn't need the pin.

by open to you mean fully open (width of crush approx) or do you mean open as in if the animal pushes it it will open outwards??

Ours seems to be sprung so that when the first animal goes out, if the second animal is not right up their ass then the spring will pull the gate in, often shutting it, locking it

We would like to have the gate so that it would stay open fully (width of crush)

by open to you mean fully open (width of crush approx) or do you mean open as in if the animal pushes it it will open outwards??

Ours seems to be sprung so that when the first animal goes out, if the second animal is not right up their ass then the spring will pull the gate in, often shutting it, locking it

We would like to have the gate so that it would stay open fully (width of crush)

When the animal goes through it, he pushes it open 90 degrees and it springs back closed shutting it and locking it (as you pointed out). This is normal. However, if you open the gate by hand and turn it 100 degrees (just open it around that little bit further), it should hold itself open.

Thanks (you explained it much better than i did:D) - will give it another go although I am almost certain that it will not hold

Gate was only put in last year and we have never managed to keep it open

Thanks (you explained it much better than i did:D) - will give it another go although I am almost certain that it will not hold

Well if it won't stay open your option is to drill a hold in it that you can put a pin into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Our semi automatic gate is the same. It will not stay open, as it's spring loaded. Cattle can be slow to exit as you have to stay there and keep it at the side and keep it opened with the handle.

I bought a small device from http://www.uniqueinventionsco.ie/ at the ploughing one year that solves the problem. I still never got around to fitting it! :rolleyes:

It catches and holds the gate open and you can tread a rope onto it so that you can pull it from anywhere along the crush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Anyone have a semi auto Gibney crush gate?

Im looking for a semi auto crush gate also and got quoted €340 inclusive for it.

The bit*h is Gibneys is 5 mins from my place and they wount sell to me direct. Not even seconds gates :rolleyes:. So when it came to power box and bale handlers i took my business else where also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭thetiredfarmer

Anyone have a semi auto Gibney crush gate?

Im looking for a semi auto crush gate also and got quoted €340 inclusive for it.

The bit*h is Gibneys is 5 mins from my place and they wount sell to me direct. Not even seconds gates :rolleyes:. So when it came to power box and bale handlers i took my business else where also.

Good for you I Did the same when they told me they could not sell me 9 gates for the slatted shed or supply me with a Calf dehorning crate either.
    I got better value later in co.Louth.I wonder will they always be in a position to be so choosy about who they sell to.
    Sorry for cutting in Reilig but I couldn't resist !

An update:

Bought a Nugent automatic crush gate yesterday in McCorry's in Derrylin. EUR400. Semi auto gate was Eur330. Great buy in my opinion. Its almost twice as heavy as a semi auto gate. It has an easily adjustable headlock and can even hold calves. Now to get it installed . . .

An update:

Bought a Nugent automatic crush gate yesterday in McCorry's in Derrylin. EUR400. Semi auto gate was Eur330. Great buy in my opinion. Its almost twice as heavy as a semi auto gate. It has an easily adjustable headlock and can even hold calves. Now to get it installed . . .

but small cattle wont be able to close the gate takes alot of force to close it but apart from that its a great buy

reilig was that price inclusive of NI vat?

Yes it was and it was the same as any price down south without the vat. (I think VAT is reclaimable on such a gate down south?) Picked up another few bits and pieces on my travels which covered the cost of the trip.

Do anyone know if IAE have official distributors in Ireland? They look to have very well designed crushes and head gates

Muckit wrote: »
    Do anyone know if IAE have official distributors in Ireland? They look to have very well designed crushes and head gates

Th Jenkinson in Northern Ireland are distributors for them. Don't know of any southern distributors.

Hi Reilig, Ye vat can be reclaimed in the south on a crush gate. Would the gate suit 4 or 5 month old calves? I see on nugents there is a fully auto and universal. I need a gate to suit from 6 months old to 600kg type animals.

I do pop up to McCorrys every few months. Saved 90e on the 0.6ton jfc meal bins each and €45 on the jfc 10 teat milk feeders.

Yes it was and it was the same as any price down south without the vat. (I think VAT is reclaimable on such a gate down south?) Picked up another few bits and pieces on my travels which covered the cost of the trip.

Hi Reilig, Ye vat can be reclaimed in the south on a crush gate. Would the gate suit 4 or 5 month old calves? I see on nugents there is a fully auto and universal. I need a gate to suit from 6 months old to 600kg type animals.

I do pop up to McCorrys every few months. Saved 90e on the 0.6ton jfc meal bins each and €45 on the jfc 10 teat milk feeders.

He only had the semi auto and fully auto in stock. I think it would be grand for 4 or 5 month old calves. The headlock is adjustable to hold any size. I recon I will be able to use it for dehorning on the outfarm (Only 10 cows there). I'll be able to close the gate to a narrow position and just push the calf into it and he won't be able to move. It will be a lot easier than holding them with a halter.

Place was wedged up there last saturday.

cheers reilig.

Would you not have bought off JFC direct? They are based in Tuam

I priced stuff direct from JFC in the past - quad trailer, meal bin, troughs etc and my local Connacht Gold could supply the same stuff at a better price. JFC won't sell direct to you at a trade price!

I didnt even know they sold direct to the public. So many companies sell only to shops/co ops and hardwares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭tomieen jones

limo_100 wrote: »
    I have a semi automatic gate that won't lock! Unless they make an almighty run at it ! It never seems to make it to the lock position! Real pain as I have to try push it locked and usually the cow will back out of it when she sees me approach! Anyone with this problem or any solution!! I have adjusted it in every way as in gap closer and gap bigger but to no avail! It's bloody useless the way it is!! I hope i'm missing something very simple but I have looked at why and no obvious reason to what's holding it from closing when they walk into it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I have a semi automatic gate that won't lock! Unless they make an almighty run at it ! It never seems to make it to the lock position! Real pain as I have to try push it locked and usually the cow will back out of it when she sees me approach! Anyone with this problem or any solution!! I have adjusted it in every way as in gap closer and gap bigger but to no avail! It's bloody useless the way it is!! I hope i'm missing something very simple but I have looked at why and no obvious reason to what's holding it from closing when they walk into it!

It's the shaft that the locking mechanism slides on (grease it and check it's free)failing that get a grinder and knock the tiniest wee edge off the piece on the gate that hits off the locking piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Get an anti-backing bar to slide up behind her. Find cows unmanageable without it