Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink driving in tractor?

• 19-02-2012 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

Good evening to everyone.

Has anyone on here ever heard of someone getting put off the road for drink driving in a tractor?

I'm not looking for a lecture on how immoral it is to drive after drink, I've heard that more than enough of that from the parents. I'm just wondering about this because at a vintage rally last year I saw a good few lads driving antiques home after drink.

I've only ever done it once and that was during the harvest when there was no one else to drive for the old man.

Thanks for reading
    ids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Ya I know someone that did but they had got plenty of warnings beforehand. There's no getting away from the traffic core now anyway. If they want to get you they will, most local guards would turn a blind eye till the are getting reports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

I thought you could even be done for DD if riding a bicycle, so anything on the road which is motorised would be the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Has anyone on here ever heard of someone getting put off the road for drink driving in a tractor?

yeah , twice . they were using the tractor as transport and not going to/from farming . cheaper than a car !
    oh and local guards WONT turn a blind eye if ur doing that

cjmc wrote: »

yeah , twice . they were using the tractor as transport and not going to/from farming . cheaper than a car !
    oh and local guards WONT turn a blind eye if ur doing that
    I'm not suggesting that you try it, I don't actually drink so I never have but from what I see going on every day the local guards don't go near em, the traffic core come around every few months then and get someone to give them a fright. Would nearly guarantee you every small rural village in Ireland is the same. The local guards leave it to the traffic core around here, I suppose the don't want the hassle of it, mind you when there is real crimes being commited they don't want the hassle of it either!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

It's an interesting question to be fair because you rarely hear of tractors being stopped at all, never mind for drink driving. I used to use a tractor for transport at nighttime when i was 16 and always wondered what it would be like to get stopped by the guards.

As a matter of interest, can you be charged with drink driving on a bicycle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i drove a tractor on evening for a lad, after about 4/5 pints. It was in a field backing in bales of silage and on a head wrecking Fiat 90-90 and never again would i drive one of them or drink and drive. ( I was dropped field and never touched the road)

So not worth it, but at least i was feeling good the next day putting out slurry :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

kkdela6 wrote: »
    It's an interesting question to be fair because you rarely hear of tractors being stopped at all, never mind for drink driving. I used to use a tractor for transport at nighttime when i was 16 and always wondered what it would be like to get stopped by the guards.

As a matter of interest, can you be charged with drink driving on a bicycle?

Ditto

The old fella once commented I must have been pissed last night , as it was the only time he ever saw the tractor parked right

We were using it at the time to power the milking machine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

My brother got done for using the phone on the tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Captain Morgan Freeman

If you drive straight into a car while driving a tractor you are guaranteed to kill everyone in the car.

I could care less if you get if you get in trouble with the guards stop being such a selfish prick and cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

If it is a mechanically powered vehicle you can be bagged and prosecuted .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

tbh with u i have never done it on the night i was drinkin but i have often woke up early the next day still a little worse for wear :/ thinkin on it now i've been lucky had a close scare or 2 but never anything happen :L never been stoped with the tractor let alone breathalised touch wood it stays that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

idunnoshur
    I'm not condoning this action but read this.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/jan/19/man-drink-driving-mobility-scooter[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭haybob

Ya I know someone that did but they had got plenty of warnings beforehand. There's no getting away from the traffic core now anyway. If they want to get you they will, most local guards would turn a blind eye till the are getting reports.

I know a lad that got done and was caught a second time but the sample was ''lost''. Would the gent in queston have a beard ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

haybob wrote: »
    I know a lad that got done and was caught a second time but the sample was ''lost''. Would the gent in queston have a beard ??

And was it on the night of Dec 25th??? And were a team of reindeers pulling him along????????? Pissed outta his head as usual????????:D

haybob wrote: »

Nope, clean shaven :) must be a lot of people getting bagged in tractors!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Yep,it happens.A lad was pulled here last year for a bald tyre on a trailer by the TC.Rumour has it he fell out the door of the cab to them on the ground.He got a ban.