Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lonely wanderer

• 18-02-2012 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭

Don't know if this is in the right place.

Mods feel free to move.

I'm heading away on holidays to Boston for a week around Paddy's day. I am... ..... well, I was really looking forward to it until recently. I'm going alone as my "mates" slowly bailed on me, the last one of the lads to go with me dropped out and even cancelled the his flights, we had booked the whole thing together. I managed to change the room in the hotel. For a while I was still quite eager to go even though it is on my own. I was just wondering is it normal to go on holidays on their own. Has anyone done it themselves and enjoyed going on their own??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭okiss

I have been to Boston on my own and I enjoyed it. When you get to Boston go to one of the T stations ( the metro) and you can get a weekly ticket for $15.
    Ask for this weekly ticket.
    Just be aware that there are 4 green lines.
    I would ask the person in the station for a map as it is useful to have.
    The Boston Public Library is worth going to see and take the bus tour which includes a tour of the bay. The DK top 10 book on Boston is good and not to big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I've been on 6 or 7 holidays alone and I love it, always being able to suit yourself and just getting out there and meeting people.

I am not a fan of Boston so I would get myself down to NYC which is without doubt the best place to holiday alone on the planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

I always travel alone. Its great how many people you get talking to abroad. When in a group people will leave you to it but being alone is better to meet the locals IMO.

You could try a penpal site and do a search for Boston residents and get chatting to them and perhaps meet up. Interpals is a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ThunderApple

I don't mind going on my own. I've been alone to Norway and Sweden for several times. I also went alone to Germany and Austria and it was really cool. I met so many people and we are still good friends.
    And, to be honest, I prefer sightseeing alone. Noone disturbs me with their endless 'oh, I'm so hungry, let's go and get a hamburger', or '**ck those paintings, noone cares, let's get drunk'. You know what I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I much prefer going on my own, the first few times alone in a restaurant feels a bit weird but at least you always get to choose the restaurant. Luggage can be a pain too, remember to get the toilet stops in before you pick up your case 'cos it ain't going to fit in the cubicle with you. I always felt a bit vulnerable to pickpockets alone in busy places with a rucksack but you get used to standing with your back to walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭lc180

I prefer sightseeing alone. Noone disturbs me with their endless 'oh, I'm so hungry, let's go and get a hamburger', or '**ck those paintings, noone cares, let's get drunk'. You know what I mean?

- haha brilliant description!

This is the beauty of travelling solo, you can do whatever the hell YOU want, whenever the hell YOU want! You'll love it.

I've been to Boston - great town, loads to see and do, a perfect choice for your first solo trip. Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I don't feel weird for going on holiday alone now. I am just tired of the lads always bailing in mew last minute and then I don't go and miss out on class holidays. This is why I've decided to go this one alone.

Thanks everybody for the encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭december83

DEFO go for it! you will have a brilliant time!!
    i can understand where you are coming from too, mates are full of ideas and promises and often bail when it comes down to it. thats why i started travelling on my own. i was sick of waiting around for people to make up their mind whether they wanted to travel or not.
    hence, im off to valencia, spain for Las Fallas in a few weeks! eeee! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭fichillie

Boston around Paddys day? That should be great! I've never had the pleasure of being, but Paddys day is definitely the time of year I want to go.

I'm a tiny little girl doing South America by myself for a month this year, so I'm sure you'll be fine in Boston Big Steve! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

I'm going to LA on my own and doing a tour! I've never done anything on my own before so I'm scared but I'll be grand! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Frank1969

I travelled alone many times in my single days. It's the best way to travel. It's very easy to meet new people and you have so much more flexibility. There are lots of solo travellers on the road. Not many are Irish though. We seem to prefer travelling in big groups and getting drunk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I think its fine if you travel alone on a quasi cultural experience. Don't ever, under any circumstances go alone to a boozy/sun spot for any length of time or you'll look like that bloke in the Inbetweeners movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Denerick wrote: »
    I think its fine if you travel alone on a quasi cultural experience. Don't ever, under any circumstances go alone to a boozy/sun spot for any length of time or you'll look like that bloke in the Inbetweeners movie.

Agreed, I did it once and it was a mistake. Cities or touring are the best bets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Big Steve wrote: »
    Don't know if this is in the right place.

Mods feel free to move.

I'm heading away on holidays to Boston for a week around Paddy's day. I am... ..... well, I was really looking forward to it until recently. I'm going alone as my "mates" slowly bailed on me, the last one of the lads to go with me dropped out and even cancelled the his flights, we had booked the whole thing together. I managed to change the room in the hotel. For a while I was still quite eager to go even though it is on my own. I was just wondering is it normal to go on holidays on their own. Has anyone done it themselves and enjoyed going on their own??

Been travelling world wide ever since i was 19,part of my job.
    Working offshore.:D
    Prefer it that way.Met alot of people on my travels,good and bad experiences,but mainly good.;)
    have also gone on several holidays on my own in my single days,no regrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Hey, I went to Paris on my own for three weeks last summer (aged 19) and I had a great time. I was doing a language course in the mornings, but in the afternoons I grabbed my guidebook and camera and went everywhere.

The only thing that's a bit weird is taking photos by yourself :P but I'm so glad I did it in the end. I was supposed to go with some others but we couldn't pick a date that suited everyone so I said feck it and went anyway. I actually met a load of people who'd travelled there alone too.

Also, hostel bars are a great place to meet people! Lots of solo travellers and couples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 vitalscience

Travelling to our Northern areas since 1995 but I want to visit Machu Pechu just once. One of the 7 world wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Go away Steve. Solo travelling is great. You will meet more people when solo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭HOS 1997

I have been in the same position as the OP on a couple of occasions. Never stopped me from going though and I would definitely recommend that he goes.

Push yourself as much as possible to talk to people in bars, restaurants etc. It's a cliche but they love the Irish in Boston so you'll have no problem meeting people and getting into groups on nights out.