Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eoin Brosnan taking down for second Goal in semi Final!

• 18-02-2012 04:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

I don't usually give out about refs but this was shocking... In the crossmaglen and Dr crokes semi final today it was plain as day that eoin brosnan was ripped to the ground before crossmaglan scored there second goal. That goal was a killer and if Brosnan was on his feet i have no doubt that he would have been in the way of that ball hitting the back of the net!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 bcb1

danbrosnan wrote: »
    I don't usually give out about refs but this was shocking... In the crossmaglen and Dr crokes semi final today it was plain as day that eoin brosnan was ripped to the ground before crossmaglan scored there second goal. That goal was a killer and if Brosnan was on his feet i have no doubt that he would have been in the way of that ball hitting the back of the net!!!:mad:

I'll tell you what, Crokes goal in the first half was a clear square ball so one netts off the other one. We won, Crokes didn't, sinn é.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

bcb1 wrote: »
    I'll tell you what, Crokes goal in the first half was a clear square ball so one netts off the other one. We won, Crokes didn't, sinn é.

Never seen that to be honest great game tho... and ya ye won but ye won't win in the final... sinn e......:D

You're probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

and ya ye won but ye won't win in the final..

You have a point. Cross have not met a decent team yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

dont really see the need for this thread, it should be merged with the match one.

no need for the childish remarks either , better team won and deserving to be in the final. their were poor decisions for both sides today, but the best team won.

no need to act like bad winners with smart and childish comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Aye, you make a good point alright. This time last year it was the Kilmacud Crokes lads giving off about the ref. There's no doubt, Cross have the luck hanging out of them - I wonder what Gary Player would say about their luck? ;)

I still think that crossmaglen wanted it more they proved that in the second half, that lad clarke is a cracking player, but i also do think that that decision not to grant a free out cause brosnan was pulled out won the match for them... i not giving out cause i know they won but everyone can have an opinion, i also think eoin brosnan was the best player on the pitch and john buckley was excellent too... great game, a pleasure to watch!:)

Brosnan was bexst player on the field in driving his team forward but the problem was that by driving frward he left holes at the back which we were able to exploit. The way Crokes played played into our hands. By carry the ball into the tackle as often as they did meant that they all took serious repetitive tackles. This will wear your body down and drains your fitness very quickly. They could not sustain it and as a result they were drpping balls in the latter stages and making errand kick passes which was anathema to the way they play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Kerryman in sore loser shocker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Choochtown wrote: »
    Kerryman in sore loser shocker!

no need for this short of s*it. have a look around and you will see practically everybody is saying cross were full value for their win.

complaining about a ref is not being a sore loser, its having an opinion that a person may have influenced the result, but nobody is saying it cost crokes the game, cos it didnt.

ref had a hard game to do and he was fair to both sides. kerry have been on the end of a few harsh reffing calls and gaa decisions over the past few years and its only fair for people to highlight this, given that is a huge gaa culture to blame it on somebody else, i cant see why there is a need to single kerry people out.

we are no more bad losers than any other teams. look at louth for example. no compare how they behaved and them compare how crokes behaved back in 2006 when they would perhaps have been entitled to a replay due to an error by the ref, but they accepted the error(mcentee not sent off, despite getting 2 yellows) and accepted the defeat. any other county would have looked for the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Choochtown

no need for this short of s*it. have a look around and you will see practically everybody is saying cross were full value for their win.

complaining about a ref is not being a sore loser, its having an opinion that a person may have influenced the result, but nobody is saying it cost crokes the game, cos it didnt.

ref had a hard game to do and he was fair to both sides. kerry have been on the end of a few harsh reffing calls and gaa decisions over the past few years and its only fair for people to highlight this, given that is a huge gaa culture to blame it on somebody else, i cant see why there is a need to single kerry people out.

we are no more bad losers than any other teams. look at louth for example. no compare how they behaved and them compare how crokes behaved back in 2006 when they would perhaps have been entitled to a replay due to an error by the ref, but they accepted the error(mcentee not sent off, despite getting 2 yellows) and accepted the defeat. any other county would have looked for the replay.

Would you ever get over yourself! This thread title is about one solitary refereeing decision and it needs to be said how pathetic it is that a thread like this is started.

Every football match has its debatable decisions and to highlight 1 has all the marks of coming from a bad loser.

The opening post claims that the goal was a "killer" and your post includes the
    hilarious paradox "a person may have influenced the result but no one is saying it cost crokes the game"

You then go on to say that Kerry have been on the end of a few harsh reffing calls over the past few years. Statements like this are seldom heard from outside Kerry so I feel that threads like this invite criticism.

My favourite part is saved until the end when you actually bring up an supposed refereeing error from 6 years ago!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Choochtown wrote: »

Would you ever get over yourself! This thread title is about one solitary refereeing decision and it needs to be said how pathetic it is that a thread like this is started.

Every football match has its debatable decisions and to highlight 1 has all the marks of coming from a bad loser.

The opening post claims that the goal was a "killer" and your post includes the
    hilarious paradox "a person may have influenced the result but no one is saying it cost crokes the game"

You then go on to say that Kerry have been on the end of a few harsh reffing calls over the past few years. Statements like this are seldom heard from outside Kerry so I feel that threads like this invite criticism.

My favourite part is saved until the end when you actually bring up an supposed refereeing error from 6 years ago!!!!

I had to listen to a few cocky Crokes fans there a week or two before this game some saying that they were the best club in all of Kerry, Munster and Ireland. I would have no problem agreeing with them with the first two statements and rightly deserved Kerry and Munster champions but not the latter. They were found wanting against the very successful Crossmaglen team. No harm to bring those few cocky Crokes fans that I know down to a bit of reality. I can't wait for the excuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

No they have not

It' a perception going around Kerry since about 2008 that all and sundry are out to get them, they cannot even loose a game to a better team (v Armagh) last week without the whingers piping up saying the ref was this, the ref was that, the ref was the other.

But the reality is that eventough Kerry get punuished for some things they get away with other things, just the same as every other team up and down the land.

Galvin whipping the book out of the refs hands in 2008, an idotic move
    Galvin mouth gouge of Caddigan in 2010, again deserved.
    Tom O' She's suspension after review in 2010, again deserved.

Now what about the incidents that Kerry players got away with it.
    Donagheys kick out at Noel O'Leary in the Muster Final in 2011, show and analysed on TV but no sanction given.
    Tadgh Kennelly in the opening seconds on the 2009 All Ireland, deliberately taking the Cork man out of it and admitting so later.

You really need to get over yourself as another poster said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

IBTL

Nice username, welcome to Boards Eoin's brother. cousin, father lovechild or whatever.

patmac wrote: »
    IBTL

Nice username, welcome to Boards Eoin's brother. cousin, father lovechild or whatever.

No relation whatsoever, and i'm not a crokes fan either to be honest.. i just taught they were hard done by...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

One thing is for sure the Northern teams put manners on Kerry. Kerry have been done by Armagh and Tyrone teams over the last couple of years - a real pain in the ass for kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

One thing is for sure the Northern teams put manners on Kerry. Kerry have been done by Armagh and Tyrone teams over the last couple of years - a real pain in the ass for kerry

Yeah, Kerry teams of all levels always find Northern teams too hot to handle. They end up aiming the ref then when they loose.