Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firearms

• 17-02-2012 9:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭

Hi there just a few questions and hope they are not too stupid.

I have land over in the west live in Dublin and just wondering would it be difficult to obtain a licence to a shotgun or rifle ?

I read the new licence terms and is it totally impossible now to obtain a licence for a pistol. Im sure this is all to do with the gangs could be wrong though.

Ive for years now just wanted to have a gun nothing mad or that just to have probably another reason never shot one.

If anybody could help would be very much appreciated thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

i think you should get a bit of shooting at a range or clay pigeon day out . you sound like ya think a shot gun or rifle is a toy.

do the firearms safty course and join a club get some expeirence for your self

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Oh no not at all I do understand the dangers and that just never had the up and go to look into it. My grandad always had a gun but my dad was always totaly against them. I wouldnt be thinking anything stupid or that but thanks for the reply would you know of any good clubs and what sort of money to join ? Thanks

what part of the country is the land in

TriggerPL wrote: »
    what part of the country is the land in

Sligo have farm and house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭slingshot88

lough bo shooting center in riverstown/ ballygawley area of sligo have a range, they also do the safety and handling course,done it there myself and instructer was very friendly and very informative, you could do the course and see if shooting really is something you would like to get into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Hi there just a few questions and hope they are not too stupid.
    I have land over in the west live in Dublin and just wondering would it be difficult to obtain a licence to a shotgun or rifle ?
    I read the new licence terms and is it totally impossible now to obtain a licence for a pistol. Im sure this is all to do with the gangs could be wrong though.
    Ive for years now just wanted to have a gun nothing mad or that just to have probably another reason never shot one.
    If anybody could help would be very much appreciated thanks.

You can get a shotgun, rifle or pistol as long as you have 'Good Reason' to use and own.

1. As you have land then the good reason for a shotgun would be hunting game, vermine shooting and clay shooting.
    2. The good reason for a rifle ownership would be vermine shooting, and target shooting at a club/range.
    3. Good reason for a 22lr pistol/handgun, limited to a max of 5 round magazine, is only target shooting at a range.

You could apply in Dublin or Sligo (if its your residence). Best place to start is a trip to your local Garda station and talk to the firearms officer there, he will fill in details that you need to know.

Lough Bo is a great place to shoot and the lads there will give you all the info about joining up.
    cj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Its simple really if you have land. As the lads said do the firearms safety coarse and you be grand. You don't need to be in a gun club to have gun's unless you have no land of your own but even if you had no land and you got written permission to shoot on their land that's enough. I'm not in a gun club and had no issues. As long as your careful and don't act the mickey with it lad. Happy shooting ;)

the benifits of joining a gun club is the insurance , the like minded people you meet , and in the event you need legal help with getting a licence , if the club is in the nargc they will fight you case for you.

you can obtain insurance with out a club . but for your own safty and for others def get insurance .it only around 60 yoyos a year . im not to far from you when your in sligo . if ya want a few days claying or shooting when in season .

def lough bo would be a great benifit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

You say you live in dublin so courtlough in balbriggan has a decent clay ground and also a 22 rifle range or hilltop in newrowntmountkennedy also has both.

What do you want the gun for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Was in Courtlough today (18th Feb) with a friend advising him on a rifle he was looking at. I wouldnt bother going near them for a few weeks as they are doing up the place and they dont really have any guns or any kind of selection at the moment.

Hilltop is a great spot and well worth the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Mr.Flibble

just wanted to have a gun

Hint: that isn't a "good reason".

I suspect you actually meant something more along the lines of what Clive is suggesting.

Have always been interested in guns just was never allowed near them.
    Grandad had one on the farm and do go down a lot so would like to have one.
    Its good to have a hobby isnt it? Some of you saying why you want one just always had an interest, dont want it to go around doing anything stupid. Havent the money at the mo but was just looking for some info. Thanks for the informative replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Best hobbie iv ever had! Just so you know it doesnt cost a fortune to get started, you will get a shotgun for 250 quid or less that will shoot well, might be a bit beat up but its a start! There is also a 22 semi auto in the for sale section for 200 quid which would be a nice starter gun.

Keep in mind it will take a while for the licence application to to through which will give you time to save the few quid for the gun, safe and licence. If you shop well you will get a gun, a safe and pay for your licence with change left over for ammo with €400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Before you decide to apply for a gun, you may find out what type of gun that you want e.g. rifle/shotgun/pistol etc.

If funds are tight, then pistol shooting is out as it's the most expensive one starting out.

As mentioned earlier, go to a shooting range/club and check out the different type of guns. Ask as many questions etc because different guns do different things. Gather as much info as you can and see which type of shooting suits you best.

Then when you know the type of shooting you want to do (target/hunting/clays etc), and the type of gun needed to do that, then come back for advice on how to fill in the FAC1 form. The form can be a bit daunting if it's your first application so it's no harm to get help when filling it out.

Also, when you know the type of gun that you want, then you will be able to source a safety course for that particular type of firearm.

"Its good to have a hobby isnt it?"

Yep, it's a brilliant hobby. Pure addictive. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

were is the best place to get insurance if your not in a gun club can anyone help thanks

irish countryside alliance

http://www.countrysideallianceireland.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Yep Countryside alliance, very reasonably priced too ;)