Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Developer throws tantrum, builds pagan temple

• 16-02-2012 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭

Thought this was good
    Ireland has plenty of ancient settlements and monuments. But on Achill Island, off the far west coast - up a mountain and in the middle of a bog - sits a different kind of monument that locals are calling Achill-henge.

And then, rising out of the bog as if it is some science fiction creation, it comes into view - a massive circular concrete construction of 30 columns, each more than 4m (13ft) high.

The edifice, a very modern looking coliseum, is topped by a ring of stone: in all the construction is more than 100m in circumference.

Taking their cue from ancient Stonehenge in southern England, locals have been quick to name the site Achill-henge.

Only a short time after it was built, roughly-made signs now guide the adventurous visitor up the slippery mountain path. A local developer with a grudge against the authorities is responsible for Achill-henge.
    This is the same fella that parked a cement truck outside the Dáil and AIB in Galway. There's a good panoramic in the Mayo forum. I dunno, the first couple of stunts were sort of funny, but the bloom has gone off the rose by now, he's completely lost the run of himself. I'm not even sure what he's protesting against, he was part of the problem during the boom years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

ha, looks pretty cool, sure what harm is it...

Would be funny if that's all stone henge was.. an ancient protest against some old bollocks that went on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

I think it looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Its not ugly, no harm done I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Its not ugly, no harm done I say

Who decides its not ugly and should be left be? If he knocked out a decent looking block of apaprtments without plannign should he be left at it too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Who decides its not ugly and should be left be? If he knocked out a decent looking block of apaprtments without plannign should he be left at it too?

If he was capable of creating a decent looking block of apartments he should be given a fucking medal and a few bob to fix the rest of the poxy things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That lad lost the run of himself long before he ever appeared in a newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Nodin wrote: »
    If he was capable of creating a decent looking block of apartments he should be given a fucking medal and a few bob to fix the rest of the poxy things.

Well then seeing as he was one of the ones flinging up ****ty buildings in the past he doesnt deserve sypathy or support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

If he wants to build something like this on his own land well and good, but mountains are fragile landscapes that aren't going to recover from something like this anytime in the near future. Irish landscapes are beautiful, and I think we have some bit of a responsibility to protect them and try and pass them on to our kids without destroying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

attention whore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

Fair play to him...its on BBC.not RTE... a definite tourist draw.

Well then seeing as he was one of the ones flinging up ****ty buildings in the past he doesnt deserve sypathy or support.

Not having been in one of his buildings I can't speak as to the standard. However having been in a few in Dublin, I can safely say that if its possible to sit quietly in a room without the TV on and not hear your neighbour scratching their genitals, he's far and away above the average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Is it finished? Or is that just the O in BOB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Not having been in one of his buildings I can't speak as to the standard. However having been in a few in Dublin, I can safely say that if its possible to sit quietly in a room without the TV on and not hear your neighbour scratching their genitals, he's far and away above the average.

The fact that he commands any respect for building apartments to the required building standards says more about other developers than it says about him.

The fact that he then spent a shit load of money to stage this "protest" - despite being allegedly €3.5million in debt doesn't say a whole lot of good about him.

And anyone who has the arrogance to build without planning permission & feel they have the right to bypass any public consultation - especially in an area of scenic value - is just a fucking wanker in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Does seem like more of a monument to his ego to be honest.

Doc Ruby wrote: »

....considering the rest of his stunts, its tribute to his 'issues' I'd say. On the good side hes not running round nekkid apart from a boner,a carving knife in his hand and a pair of womens knickers on his head screaming about "cleansing sluts".

On the good side hes not running round nekkid apart from a boner,a carving knife in his hand and a pair of womens knickers on his head screaming about "cleansing sluts".
    Now thats an erection

*puts on sunglasses*

he definetely wouldn't get planning permission for.

YEAAAAHHHHH!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

hmmm wrote: »
    If he wants to build something like this on his own land well and good, but mountains are fragile landscapes that aren't going to recover from something like this anytime in the near future. Irish landscapes are beautiful, and I think we have some bit of a responsibility to protect them and try and pass them on to our kids without destroying them.
    Tell all this to the Pro Fracking Sympathisers. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

A monument to your impression of his ego and sensationalism, more like. As is any idea of it being either Pagan or a temple.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A thank you to the photographer can be made here:) http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056551112

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Title on the bbc page
    "Achill-henge: A monument that divides Ireland"

Divides Ireland ? Wtf are they on about ? Never even heard of it til 5 mins ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Title on the bbc page
    "Achill-henge: A monument that divides Ireland"

Divides Ireland ? Wtf are they on about ? Never even heard of it til 5 mins ago

They're trying to cause a civil war! Get them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

A yoke made of left over celtic-tiger apartment building material by the look of it. It really sums up what the celtic tiger was all about, building some mad but plain looking yoke of a thing in the middle of nowhere and then not finishing it. Its just our stroke of luck that we got one built by a genuine celtic tiger property developer for free and didn't cost the government 30 million to build

All we need now is an old bank building converted to a Celtic tiger museum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Disgraceful antics, tear the dam thing down and pay your debts you moronic JACKASS!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

i think it's just brilliant :D

With all the other fcuked up sh1t that's going on and there are some here who would point out to his lack of compliance with planning laws, the same one's what have us in this pickle somewhat I'd argue, or it's impact on the landscape or whather it's a momument to himself, a mountain of garbage etc., maybe so, but it's a fine indication of just how bananas the whole shooting match is.

There's whole (or partially built anyway) housing estates waiting to be knocked down before this. This makes more sens than half the fcuking 'development' in this country.

Who is crazier? The guy who built this and rammed the Dail with a cement lorry or this shower?

They were only turned down planning permission to build a scatter of apartments in Sligo last year!! They thought it would be a good idea to build a few more apartments, as if there weren't enough already :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PHIDIAS

I think it looks great and as far as i know there is a petition to keep it in place, my aunt who lives in achill has also signed she is quite happy to let it stand. Whether it will remain as an expression of art, well who knows. I think the powers that be will be holding grudges on this for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

especially in an area of scenic value

it realy isnt, and its partly his land!

Its common land, he has no claim to its exclusive use. He had zero right to put that lot up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

bla bla bla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Thought this was good

This is the same fella that parked a cement truck outside the Dáil and AIB in Galway. There's a good panoramic in the Mayo forum. I dunno, the first couple of stunts were sort of funny, but the bloom has gone off the rose by now, he's completely lost the run of himself. I'm not even sure what he's protesting against, he was part of the problem during the boom years.

old news but they should leave up achillhenge... tourists would go see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wonder what stunt he will do next?