Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Theft of pension, where's the jobs?

• 16-02-2012 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭

Just wondering - a year after the government removed money €500,000,000 from our pension funds, what job outcomes have been published? Anyone got any hard facts on this jobs "creation" scheme?

..... given the "theft" reference in the title I imagine you already have a fair idea about what has been "published" regarding job outcomes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

The theft is factual. I am wondering if any factual outcomes have been published, in the interests of transparency or some old fashioned notion of an open democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Just wondering - a year after the government removed money €500,000,000 from our pension funds, what job outcomes have been published? Anyone got any hard facts on this jobs "creation" scheme?

It's hardly a year since money was removed now is it? The announcement was May 2011 and the estimate was that it would result in about €470m a year. Governement obviously did not receive any money in May 2011.

You will be aware that a jobs plan was published last week, for what its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Isn't it amazing how one persons theft is another persons wealth tax....

BornToKill wrote: »
    It's hardly a year since money was removed now is it? The announcement was May 2011 and the estimate was that it would result in about €470m a year.

Pardon me for an expectation of anything happening in a mere 8 months. And naturally nothing could happen until the report was published. The same report with a glaring lack of actual outcomes, other than 'we will create x number of jobs in x number of years' - a bit like jesus and the fishes, or loaves or whatever, requires a leap of faith beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

No problem. We all get things wrong from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Hi op,
    I myself have also wondered what happened to my hard earned pension considering it's worth f**k all these days and came across this excellent scamscheme http://intern.jobbridge.ie/ .
    From memory some of the money robbed aquired has gone towards this sham of a scheme I wonder will the monies taking ever be paid back into the pension schemes it was taking from.
    As for job creation last year I tried to get funding for a course which would lead to a professional qual in my industry and would be considered a worth while up skill,I could not even get 1 cent towards the cost of the course in the end I ended up funding the course through some money I got back in tax and the rest was paid using my Credit Card.(which I only managed to pay back this year).
    It even got worse when I informed the local welfare office that I would not be available for work during the week long course they wanted to stop my payment as I would not be available for work:mad:HELLO I'm a f**king on a course to try and get a job.
    Then you have the other scheme were people could go back to college on a part time basis and get more quals or learn a new one yet there was only one particular course which suited my skill set/industry experience.
    When I applied for the course it was over subscribed but I was told that there was many other courses in arts&history I mean ffs how is a degree in arts going help me to get a job,The govt waffle on about how the export market will help Ireland out of this place we find our selves in at present yet do f**k all about up skilling people in that area which includes transport/logistics supply chain mgmt etc.
    Oh and I since passed my state exams and just missed out on getting a job interveiw with a company with a salary of around circa 50k I wonder will noonan&co give me my money back that he took from me towards the cost of my course&exams:rolleyes:.

After countless hours of research I have found some outcomes!

It turns out there is to be a new agency (quango) set up - the "National Employment and Entitlements Service" that 'will bring together staff from the Department of Social Protection and FAS employment advisers for the first time.' That's grand then, as long as no actual employers get involved, sure the lads in the civil service know best...

There's a second new agency also being set up, but its not really new. Something called Solas, which won't be like FAS. At all. It's going to have much better "market intelligence so that the unemployed would be provided with training that will get them jobs". So obviously the problem with FAS was that they never checked which courses might result in jobs. Easy mistake. The new agency will however be checking! Genius!!

Seemingly if you get asked along for an interview and turn them down on the basis they're eejits and you don't really need an ecdl course, you get docked your dole. That's grand so, everyone is feeling the pain.

So to answer my own original question, a mere 8 months after the imposition of the "wealth tax" there have been three outcomes:
    1) A New Quango
    2) A Rebranded Quango (with added "market intelligence")
    3) A report called Pathways to Work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Another brilliant OP in the Irish Economy thread.

I thought the pensions tax was a great idea. Most of the pension fund money is invested outside the State. Taxing it brings money into the State coffers without taking money out of the domestic economy. If people stop paying into pension funds, they are more likely to spend it in the economy so either way it works as a boost to the economy.

Yes, I know the long-run arguments about savings, pensions etc. but in the long-run we are all dead.

On equity grounds it was also a good idea. The low-paid minimum wage person doesn't have a pension fund, neither does the person on social welfare, so those that do are relatively well-off by comparison, let's call a spade a spade, they are rich by comparison so the pension fund levy is really a wealth tax so that makes it a good idea in its own right and the boost to the economy arguments are only a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

I afraid that money taken from private sector mostly used preserving public sector pensions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

Good question. As far as i remember, will look for a post on it. It helped balance the books at the end of last year. country would be a lot worse off if we didn't have this amount of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

Godge wrote: »
    Another brilliant OP in the Irish Economy thread.

I thought the pensions tax was a great idea. Most of the pension fund money is invested outside the State. Taxing it brings money into the State coffers without taking money out of the domestic economy. If people stop paying into pension funds, they are more likely to spend it in the economy so either way it works as a boost to the economy.

Yes, I know the long-run arguments about savings, pensions etc. but in the long-run we are all dead.

On equity grounds it was also a good idea. The low-paid minimum wage person doesn't have a pension fund, neither does the person on social welfare, so those that do are relatively well-off by comparison, let's call a spade a spade, they are rich by comparison so the pension fund levy is really a wealth tax so that makes it a good idea in its own right and the boost to the economy arguments are only a bonus.
    Should we start annualy reduce PS pensions at the same rate as private?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Godge wrote: »
    How about you work harder for your pension instead of trying to stick your hands into other peoples pockets? The sense of entitlement is pretty astonishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Low quality, agenda driven OP

Cheers

DrG