Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on buying a 02 Bora

• 16-02-2012 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

I know that you probably are sick of answering questions exactly like mine but any advice is appreciated. I am thinking of buying a 02 Bora, I have never had a diesel car before and do not know what to look out for.

This car is only up the road from me and I was thinking of looking at it this weekend. The thing that concerns me the most is the mileage. What is acceptable and what should you walk away from?

Also, the car is advertised as a red i and the comfort line model. Is there any way to verify this?

I am just looking for any other hints and tips really. I am still not sure about switching to a diesel. I am driving a 1997 1.3 fiesta at the moment! But it is in rag order and I have a bit of money there so time to change.

Insurance wise, I am not sure what the story is. I am 27 year old male with three years no claims in my own name, no penalty points or convictions. I also have taken and passed the ignition test so I am entitled to 40% off my quote. I am with Aviva already and insurance is due for renewal in late April.

Sorry about the long post but any advice welcome.

Thanks!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2976907

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Advertised as a 130 bhp and cartell.ie confirms this.

I note Motorcheck doesn't give this info for free (waves at Motorcheck ;))

I won't comment on the rest of the car other than to say it's the older VAG 1.9TDI engine which many say was bulletproof...if a little 'rattly' :).

EDIT: HAD NEW CLUTCH 3 MONTHS AGO!! I'd query why this was done and check the gearbox carefully if you take it for a test drive. If it's down the road from you have you ever seen the car driven by the owner, does he drive it like he's 'late fer mass'? ;)

.................... I also have taken and passed the ignition test so I am entitled to 40% off my quote. I am with Aviva already and insurance is due for renewal in late April................

..does the discount apply to 1.9s now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

It's only 40k away from 200k miles.....bear in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It's an awful lot of money for a 10 year old car.

Those wheels will be a nightmare on Irish roads. Much too low profile.

It looks, also, like a UK import. Check it's full history. The mileage isn't overly high for a car of it's age, but still warrants a check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

i would run away for the simple reason of the gt badge on the back.

it looks like a clean car. no mention of any kind of service history do. the pd diesels in them need regular servicing with the correct spec oil. cartell is showing it up as a 130bhp se which would be a uk import. se is the same as comfortline here. it looks it from the pictures as it is colour coded and has rain sensor wipers.

the engine code for the 130 is ASZ and this can be found on the data sticker in the boot, just lift the carpet and there will be a white sticker beside the spare wheel well.

millage, if genuine, is not bad but again a service history to confirm this would be nice!

Gophur wrote: »

Depends on where the OP drives, I've had no issue with 225 45 18s and the previous owner of my yoke had 225 40 18s on it when I bought it and despite being down to close to 2mm thread they were fine.

r3nu4l wrote: »

I won't comment on the rest of the car other than to say it's the older VAG 1.9TDI engine which many say was bulletproof...if a little 'rattly' :).
    if it is the 130pd it would be a little quieter than the older ve engine which were bulletproof. the pd needs the correct spec oil. neither are very quiet but then again when they are warmed up and driving you wont hear much from the inside.

EDIT: HAD NEW CLUTCH 3 MONTHS AGO!! I'd query why this was done and check the gearbox carefully if you take it for a test drive. If it's down the road from you have you ever seen the car driven by the owner, does he drive it like he's 'late fer mass'? ;)

probaly the dmf that failed even do there is no mention of it being replaced in the add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

EDIT: HAD NEW CLUTCH 3 MONTHS AGO!! I'd query why this was done

Probably because there is 160k on it :)

No the wont.the are however ugly as sin. :D

RoverJames wrote: »
    Depends on where the OP drives, I've had no issue with 225 45 18s and the previous owner of my yoke had 225 40 18s on it when I bought it and despite being down to close to 2mm thread they were fine.

true. i drive with 17s every day on bad country roads with no major problems. you just need to go a small bit easier and watch out for craters potholes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

sean1141 wrote: »
    true. i drive with 17s every day on bad country roads with no major problems. you just need to go a small bit easier and watch out for craters potholes:D
    Or you could have smaller wheels and belt along in comfort. Just sayin'.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

probaly the dmf that failed even do there is no mention of it being replaced in the add.
    Indeed, so what else isn't mentioned in the advert? That's why I told the OP to query it :)
    tossy wrote: »
    Probably because there is 160k on it :)

Could be, or it could be the fifth clutch in two years, we don't know. Hence asking the OP to dig deeper.

I know I'm stereotyping here but when I see post-production mods such as lower profile wheels, 'GT TDI', and tinted back windows I can't help but wonder if the car is being nutted about by the driver.

However, one thing in it's favour is that it 'appears' well looked after and it doesn't have a 'Hey look at me, I neeeeeed attention, look look!' exhaust fitted.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Or you could have smaller wheels and belt along in comfort. Just sayin'.;)

maybe but i would drive the same even if i had smaler wheels on my car. no point in hitting every pothole on the road just because you have smaller wheels:D

Indeed, so what else isn't mentioned in the advert? That's why I told the OP to query it :)
    true but it annoys me when people assume a clutch replacement is down to the way the car is driven. now im not saying its not but thats the way your post came across, no offence ment:)

Could be, or it could be the fifth clutch in two years, we don't know. Hence asking the OP to dig deeper.

I know I'm stereotyping here but when I see post-production mods such as lower profile wheels, 'GT TDI', and tinted back windows I can't help but wonder if the car is being nutted about by the driver.

However, one thing in it's favour is that it 'appears' well looked after and it doesn't have a 'Hey look at me, I neeeeeed attention, look look!' exhaust fitted.

its not over feltspec do. it has rims that are not to my taste and a gt badge but both of these are easy to change and your left with a clean looking car. tinted windows are fine. it is a factory option on most cars. at least there is no big sunstrip:D

op if the car is close to you get a good look at it. the common things to look out for are,
    a noisy flywheel, check was it replaced with the clutch

turbo, check for blue smoke when starting the car from cold

check all the doors lock and unlock with the centeral locking and remote fob if it has one. door locks can give bother and can be about 100 euro+ for a new one

if its a uk import check the sills and arches for any rust

after that its pretty much the same as you would check on any car.
    parts for these are pretty cheap and easy to come by. i fully serviced my seat leon tuesday (same engine basicly) for about 70 euro using all genuine filters and oil and done the work myself.

an arm rest and cruise control are easy and cheap to fit to these making them a grand car for a long spin. i had a 130bora myself a few years back and i would have one again in the morning no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭retrothis

160k means its probably due a timing belt change....
    The first (factory) TB should have been changed at around 100K...
    All subsequent TBs should be done at 60K intervals, non-negotiable.

Its an approx 400 euro job, depending on the cost of the timing belt kit for that engine, water pump and labour...(had mine done on Monday)

Why would somebody stick a GT badge to a comfortline boggles the mind :rolleyes:

The colour coding and the spot lights are a nice cosmetic touch....not many of them around...

retrothis wrote: »
    160k means its probably due a timing belt change....
    The first (factory) TB should have been changed at around 100K...
    All subsequent TBs should be done at 60K intervals, non-negotiable.

Its an approx 400 euro job, depending on the cost of the timing belt kit for that engine, water pump and labour...(had mine done on Monday)

Why would somebody stick a GT badge to a comfortline boggles the mind :rolleyes:

The colour coding and the spot lights are a nice cosmetic touch....not many of them around...

why could you not leave the second tb untill 100k if you used a genuine one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭heartofwhite

Hey guys,

Thanks for all the replies so far, it is really helpful. I have never seen the car around before, it just appeared a few days ago.

I have a couple of questions:

What do you mean when you say the dmf failed?

What is the right spec oil for the engine?

You are saying that somebody stuck a GT badge on the back? Why would they do this? Am I right in saying that it is a Bora tdi red i and not a Bora GT tdi red i?

Sorry if I appear stupid! Also, I just checked and the ignition reduction only covers cars up to 1.6 litre. :( God knows what I would be charged for insurance.

I have a couple of questions:

What do you mean when you say the dmf failed?
    dual mass flywheel. common fault on most diesels that have them fitted

What is the right spec oil for the engine?
    it must meet the minium spec which vw have set out for the engine. it this case it must meet 505.01 spec

You are saying that somebody stuck a GT badge on the back? Why would they do this? Am I right in saying that it is a Bora tdi red i and not a Bora GT tdi red i?
    yes some clown stuck a gt badge on it. they did this because they are a clown. it showes up on cartell as a 130bhp which is a TDI the code for the 130 bhp was ASZ. if it dose not have this code its not a 130bhp engine. there is no such thing as a gttdi in either a bora or mk4 golf

Sorry if I appear stupid! Also, I just checked and the ignition reduction only covers cars up to 1.6 litre. :( God knows what I would be charged for insurance.
    best bet is to ring your insurance company. nobody here will be able to tell you what they will charge you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Seems overpriced to me for a 10 year old Bora.

A 03 here for similar money:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2892690

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭retrothis

Hmm....good question. I had a quick search online.

http://www.goss-garage.com/book/export/html/229
    Have a look here for TB change intervals....seems like every 60K is for 2000-01 models

2002 its every 80K
    2003-06 its every 100K

Seems like I was kinda talking out of my a***. Apologies for that. When I did my first TB change at 100K (mines an 03) I was told to report back in 60K.
    Maybe that the kit that went into mine was a 2000 spec (if such thing exists).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

My main concern about cars like that are people running shite diesel through them. Then again if it drives nice and you get a good price on it, sure why not? I'd be sure to check out a few before you drop your cash. There may be one that wipes the floor of that one owned by a mature driver with full service history just about to put on donedeal, adverts, etc. for the same price next week and, if I were in your shoes, I'd be sick as a dog if I bought that one instead, merely because it's only down the road!

barura wrote: »
    My main concern about cars like that are people running shite diesel through them. Then again if it drives nice and you get a good price on it, sure why not? I'd be sure to check out a few before you drop your cash. There may be one that wipes the floor of that one owned by a mature driver with full service history just about to put on donedeal, adverts, etc. for the same price next week and, if I were in your shoes, I'd be sick as a dog if I bought that one instead, merely because it's only down the road!

Well said! I will continue to look around for one regardless of where it is located. Also, I do think that the one mentioned above is a bit overpriced. I might have a look at the car over the weekend anyway. I wonder if he would take 2700?Ideally, I do not want to spend more than 2500, the reason being that the insurance is looking like it will be about 850/900 fully comp. If I could pick up a good 130 brake Bora and insure it for 3500, I will be happy.

I know that it is expensive when you factor in tax and servicing but I have been driving for about four years now and I have never had a car that I say, Oh I enjoy driving that! Plus it is roomy and has a bit of power behind it.

Again, thanks for the comments so far!

Well said! I will continue to look around for one regardless of where it is located. Also, I do think that the one mentioned above is a bit overpriced. I might have a look at the car over the weekend anyway. I wonder if he would take 2700?Ideally, I do not want to spend more than 2500, the reason being that the insurance is looking like it will be about 850/900 fully comp. If I could pick up a good 130 brake Bora and insure it for 3500, I will be happy.

I know that it is expensive when you factor in tax and servicing but I have been driving for about four years now and I have never had a car that I say, Oh I enjoy driving that! Plus it is roomy and has a bit of power behind it.

There are some other nice cars, similar to the Bora such as the Octavia and Seat Coradoba. Both have the same base and a lot of interchangeable parts with the Bora as they're all the VAG group these days.

I mean check out this Octavia (Estate, I know, but the interior is a good idea of what you could get on a standard Octavia if you look around) http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2984830

Why would you comprehensively insure a €2,500 car?

The most you could claim would be around €1,000 (assuming some salvage value and a car totalled), after your excess is taken into account. If you do that then your increased premiums will be more than you could possibly claim.

bazz26 wrote: »
    that's not a 130bhp one do

retrothis wrote: »

Hmm....good question. I had a quick search online.

http://www.goss-garage.com/book/export/html/229
    Have a look here for TB change intervals....seems like every 60K is for 2000-01 models

2002 its every 80K
    2003-06 its every 100K

Seems like I was kinda talking out of my a***. Apologies for that. When I did my first TB change at 100K (mines an 03) I was told to report back in 60K.
    Maybe that the kit that went into mine was a 2000 spec (if such thing exists).
    I have a 05 seat Leon with the 150bhp engine. The belt is due every 60k or 4years and that's when i'll be changing it!

There are some other nice cars, similar to the Bora such as the Octavia and Seat Coradoba. Both have the same base and a lot of interchangeable parts with the Bora as they're all the VAG group these days.
    _
    I mean check out this Octavia (Estate, I know, but the interior is a good idea of what you could get on a standard Octavia if you look around) http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2984830
    The seat Coradoba is not based on the mk4 platform afaik. The seat tolledo is do

The Seat Cordoba is a re-badged VW Polo

I thought that was the Ibiza?

The Ibiza is a rebadged Polo hatch, the Cordoba is just the booted version.

Well stone the crows! I thought the coradoba came in a hatchback as well though, hence my confusion?

they did come in a 3door do!!

Would you pay the same money for a year older 130bhp version?

bazz26 wrote: »

Would you pay the same money for a year older 130bhp version?
    Yes. Without a shadow of a doubt. 130 will have a 6speed box rain sensor wipers and have a center arm rest. Also will be colour coded. Not 2 mention the extra 15bhp, better brakes and most likely interior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 hbarstone

bora great car all ver except 1.4 petrol, avoid at all costs as soft engine, can look forward to engine change in future

Hey guys, so went to look at the Bora mentioned originally, in very good condition. Unfortunately did not get to drive it, as owner was not around. Had a look under arches for rust and seems perfect. Fairly certain that I will go for it when I get to test drive.

I have been doing a lot of research on them and to be honest, it seems that you have to know a lot about cars to own one! I do not know much about them but really want to get this car. I am just worried about potential expenses!

Hey guys, so went to look at the Bora mentioned originally, in very good condition. Unfortunately did not get to drive it, as owner was not around. Had a look under arches for rust and seems perfect. Fairly certain that I will go for it when I get to test drive.

I have been doing a lot of research on them and to be honest, it seems that you have to know a lot about cars to own one! I do not know much about them but really want to get this car. I am just worried about potential expenses!

no more than any other car really. the more you know about them the sooner you will notice potential problems but this goes for any make and model.

the bora is not a bad car, they are well put together. they have there common faults but they are well known by now and most are pretty cheap to fix. if you like the car go for it

Hey guys,

I am going to look at another Bora in a few hours, already know that I want it. Bringing money with me and all. One small problem though! The car is a 2001, however the engine was replaced a year or so ago. The engine that is in it is from a 2005 volkwagen. However, I have been assured that it is the same spec. How can I tell what bhp it is?

What bearing would this have on my insurance?

Anybody ever experienced this? The car only passed the NCT two days ago, so it must be ok?

its not uncommon for an engine to be replaced. the sump is low on them and they can bust quiet easy, if someone wasnt minding they could run it with no oil and cause a lot of damage. also could have been replaced due to timing belt failiure. again most likely down to someone not replacing it on time. ask the seller why it was replaced before you go view. ask them what the replacement engine came out of. what hp is the car addvertised with?

He did not advertise what bph it is, but when I rang him, he said that it was a 2005 engine, and it was 130bph. But, I have no way of telling. I have checked online and I am not sure if the Bora have a 130 bph engine in 2005.

He did say that there was paperwork with the new engine so perhaps that will tell me?

I just do not want to get ripped off and end up with 100bhp instead.

have you a link to the add?

Here is a link to the ad.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3042190

There is a pic of the engine and it is down as a red (d) red i ()

no mention of millage or an engine change in the add.

looks like a 130bhp cl do

edit: cartell is showing it up as a 115bhp. they came in 6speed also. the 130bhp was released in late 01 but most are 02+

its not addvertised as a 130bhp. its advertised as a TDI which the 115 were badged as before the 130 came out and the older ve 90 and 110bhp engines were discontinued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Read the buyers guide that limerick man posted, bring someone else with you if carrying sums of money.

I did have a look at Cartell and noticed the same, but I am assuming that this information refers to the original engine and not the new one. Also the engine code in the boot will also refer to original.

I just need to find some way of verifying exactly what engine it is, I want to totally honest with the insurance company. Would the NCT test mention anything?

nct wont care as long as the vin number matches the paperwork.

yes cartell would only give the information for the original engine. the new engine might have the code printed on a sticker on the timing belt cover.

see what paper work he has for the engine. there would have been 05 130bhp boras

With that many doubts, and that little knowledge, stay away from that car.

So... I bought the car mentioned above, with the engine change. Car is going great, no problems so far. In relation to the engine swap and the bhp, a Volkswagen guide came with the car and there is a sticker in it from Jan 2011 stating that the old engine was replaced by a garage in Gorey.

Now, that is fine, but there is no mention of the spec of the replacement engine. Is there a way for me to verify this? If I ring the garage, do you think they would have a record? There is an engine number visible on the current engine, can I bring this to a Volkswagen dealership and see if they can look it up?

I am not really worried, but from the point of view of selling on the car in the future, it would be nice to be able to show evidence of what a person is thinking of buying!