Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exploding Airsoft Pellets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

They're completely stupid and pointless, I haven't seen them for sale anywhere, can't imagine the damage they'd to the the barrel and hop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

http://www.airsoftworld.net/6mm-exploding-bb-s-91-bb-s.html
    Quick OverviewPlease read both sections of this product description BEFORE you buy these!
    We've brought these to you just in time for fireworks season! These really are Exploding BB's which are excellent quality and perfectly round but for a small hole in the side where the sparks fly out from.

By exploding, we don't mean they blow holes in walls or even sheets of paper for that matter (any BB does that!) but they 'crack' on impact with a hard surface much like the Hollywood style special FX when you see sparking ricochets.

PLEASE NOTE: THESE BB'S SHOULD NOT BE FIRED IN PRECISION BARRELS AS THEY MAY JAM INSIDE AND DAMAGE YOUR GUN We have yet to hear reports of them jamming but obviously we have to warn you :)

Product Description
    We've brought these to you just in time for fireworks season! These really are Exploding BB's which are excellent quality and perfectly round but for a small hole in the side where the sparks fly out from. By exploding, we don't mean they blow holes in walls or even sheets of paper for that matter (any BB does that!) but they 'crack' on impact with a hard surface much like the Hollywood style special FX when you see sparking ricochets. These MUST NOT be used at skirmish sites or fired directly at anything other than a solid surface that does not breathe. When they explode, the plastic shell breaks into tiny little fragments which are ejected at a 'stinging' velocity. So if they hit someone or an animal, they will MOST LIKELY fire fragments into their eyes. If you take these to any skirmish site, they will most likely ban you for life - or worse. You and anybody else in the area MUST wear eye protection with solid lenses, NOT MESH, as the fragments can enter through the holes in the mesh screen. We will report any abusers to the Police and make sure you are shipped off to Guantanamo with plenty slippy bars of soap....
    Sound nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

I really wanted to dislike these, but tbh they do look like great fun for plinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

also may add a little more realism to airsoft. they're a lot like Fun Snap things you get in joke shops. completely harmless. how exactly do they ''damage'' the gun? :confused: can someone explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Sparks = heat
    Hop = rubber

Heat + rubber = bad
    Ergo:
    Sparks + hop = bad

Also-

Novelty ammo = poor quality
    Airsoft devices = low tolerance

Poor quality + low tolerance = bad
    Ergo:
    Novelty ammo + airsoft devices = bad

(see AEG vs paintball bb's for further reading)

There are people who I don't trust to use standard ammo safely in a game, nevermind these. Ironically, the people who'd consider using these in a game are the same ones I don't trust to use standard ammo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

GaryIrv93 wrote: »
    also may add a little more realism to airsoft. they're a lot like Fun Snap things you get in joke shops. completely harmless. how exactly do they ''damage'' the gun? :confused: can someone explain?

The fun snaps you mention don't explode and send shards of jagged plastic flying about, ergo they're harmless. Exploding bb's do, however, ergo they're effing dangerous.

Here's a test you should try, in order to quantify your theory on them being acceptable in a skirmish situation, for "realism", and just as harmless as a fun snap
    1) Go to your nearest joke shop and purchase a pack of those fun snap yokes

2) While walking about town, fling a handful into someone's face (preferably a male, of the same age, height and build as the lads you play airsoft with), as this will simulate getting hit in the face with a full auto blast of exploding bb's (going by your theory here, not mine)

3) While repairing your split lip where yer man smacked you, cop on that they're not safe to shoot at people and are generally just silly, and are also thus not anything like fun snaps. At all. Ever.

Also, try shooting bb sized stones from your back garden with your aeg. Sure, what harm would they do? Jagged, rough surfaces are exactly what mag feed tubes, hop units and barrels were built for.

As an aside, I'm pretty sure I've just given Thermo an idea for a custom gimpy that spits out pebbles and bits of sand and dry grass at a squillion rounds a minute :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Def not for a game under any stretch of the imagination but for plinking? On consideration your not using a tight bore and are well aware of the risks I cant see the harm.

hightower1 wrote: »
    Def not for a game under any stretch of the imagination but for plinking? On consideration your not using a tight bore and are well aware of the risks I cant see the harm.

Agreed. Away from people, in the privacy of your own home, by all means. And, obviously, with the awareness that things could go horribly wrong for your aeg and the willingness to accept responsibility for making the decision to use novelty ammo.

Any other situation involving these bb's, I'd give it a thumbs down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Unsinnig wrote: »
    As an aside, I'm pretty sure I've just given Thermo an idea for a custom gimpy that spits out pebbles and bits of sand and dry grass at a squillion rounds a minute :D

This is Thermo we're talking about - it'll be at least 2 squillion.

OzCam wrote: »
    This is Thermo we're talking about - it'll be at least 2 squillion.

On second thoughts, you're right there.... and it will only be able to fire full-auto, have no safety and require a tractor battery strapped to his back...

And he will cop on very quickly (after flinging himself into a river in the middle of winter) that it's also pretty handy at flinging about chunks of ice, clumps of mud and sediment, and the occasional small fish.... maybe even a frog or two.

.....and he will use it with no regard for how many pants are soiled after facing it.

...For he is Thermo.

Amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Because no one else has said it, imagine these things "exploding" in contact with mesh goggles and god knows what coming through to people's eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

sliabh wrote: »
    Because no one else has said it, imagine these things "exploding" in contact with mesh goggles and god knows what coming through to people's eyes.

Agreed. They're fine if you only use them for plinking and you knowingly accept the risk of damage to your gun's internals. But for the love of all that is good and holy, don't try and skirmish with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭dinko4gr

GaryIrv93 wrote: »

[/politeness_and_civilised_manners]
    are you for real? did you actually read what you posted? your main concern is how they might damage the gun? whats next ? use actual C4 in "plant the bomb" scenarios for the little extra realism? or wait better idea how about "depleted uranium bb's? atleast they ll render the need for tracers obsolete ... (dont get technical .. you know what i mean)

Mods please consider adding a common sense filter...
    [/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

After reading some of the reviews on these bb's, they maybe classified as pyro in this country. The chemical reaction causes heat & smoke.

There is also another flaw (bar the safety issue)
    The bb's are moulded together and need to be pulled apart. This leaves plastic moulding flash which has to be rubbed off otherwise the bb jams in the barrel.

Probably best to be only used by the budding film makers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Kinda feel sorry for the OP he/she is getting a lot of aggression and flack for a seemingly innocent question.

I'd happily use those BB's if legally available for a bit of plinking fun.
    I've also got Glass BB's and Metal BB's that I would also happily use for a bit of plinking. (All bought perfectly legal from Irish Retailers I might add)
    I've never tried paintball BB's or the dusty coated marker ones.

I would never dream of using any for skirmishing but for back yard plinking
    I am more than willing to experiment.

If your concerned about damaging your airsoft gun and wear to the hop up.
    you simply dont use them full stop.

If you choose to use them for plinking then one would assume your willing to pay a tenner to change the hop up or clean the barrel of yer gun every so often.

I've not got a clue what the Legal Status is on such BB's if they would be considered Pyro or not.
    But there are replica mini shotguns being sold across Ireland that use Metal based percussion caps to make a bang.
    there are Cap Guns both paper and plastic cup type sold in every pound/euro store and toy store in the country
    and there are the fun snaps. Not sure where the letter of the law goes from being toy to pyro but would love to know for sure.

Plinking YES
    Skirmish NO!!!!!!

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

It has to be added as well that flashes on impact is a pure "movie" thing. Real (copper jacket/lead) bullets don't spark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

bullets wrote: »
    there are Cap Guns both paper and plastic cup type sold in every pound/euro store and toy store in the country

I forgot all about those...I'm going to buy one of those guns and a crate of caps the next time I see one, fck airsoft and rs guns..I'm sporting my cap gunz ftw:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

dinko4gr wrote: »
    [/politeness_and_civilised_manners]
    are you for real? did you actually read what you posted? your main concern is how they might damage the gun? whats next ? use actual C4 in "plant the bomb" scenarios for the little extra realism? or wait better idea how about "depleted uranium bb's? atleast they ll render the need for tracers obsolete ... (dont get technical .. you know what i mean)

Mods please consider adding a common sense filter...
    [/rant]

to be honest, i did take a little bit of offence to that reply. What I meant was that the Fun Snaps are harmless, and the pellets seem like pretty much the same thing, but I've never used those type of pellets so I've no idea how harmless or not they are when they actually hit you. Did you actally read my question? Where/when did I ever mention using actual C4 in airsoft? Or DU pellets?? Seems like you're comparing those pellets to actual bullets. All they seem to do is make a little pop, but I would never use them in an airsoft game, if they're considered dangerous to use. I would though maybe only for a bit of plinking at home.

Posted by Rhinocharge: ''The bb's are moulded together and need to be pulled apart. This leaves plastic moulding flash which has to be rubbed off otherwise the bb jams in the barrel.'' That's the kind of reply I was looking for, not an attack. Everything in your last reply was completely irrelevant to my question. I'm not looking to cause an argument on this just to let you know,