Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alarm Systems

• 14-02-2012 12:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Well lads, I'm looking for a number for a good alarm company. With all the guns being stolen, and all the recent shootings I want to beef up my security. So if any of you have fitted alarms to your safes or gun rooms, could you give me the number of the company that did them.
    Thanks in advance.
    Declan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I went with Eircom Phonewatch. It was expensive, €800 but I need a good monitored alarm on my house (having been broken into twice). It also costs €25 per month for the monitoring service.

There are cheaper alarm systems out there but this is what I went with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Declan, I went with Eircom phonewatch shortly before Christmas.
    Four window/door monitors and 5 motion sensors for €499(plus alarm box etc of course).
    Monitoring is €20 p/month though for the next 3 years.

They had a special offer at the time but I think that it has gone up a bit since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I went with Eircom Phonewatch. It was expensive, €800 but I need a good monitored alarm on my house (having been broken into twice). It also costs €25 per month for the monitoring service.

There are cheaper alarm systems out there but this is what I went with.
    +1 we went with them too and even got another sensor on the safe, cctv to go with it also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭hollow point

Network Security did my system I found them very good and neat although monitoring is €25 per month.Ph them on 01 2573600 they do a discount if you are in the nargc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

+1 we went with them too and even got another sensor on the safe, cctv to go with it also

How much did you get the cctv for. They quoted me €1000 for two cameras which was pure mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 johnsher1

declan1980 wrote: »
    Well lads, I'm looking for a number for a good alarm company. With all the guns being stolen, and all the recent shootings I want to beef up my security. So if any of you have fitted alarms to your safes or gun rooms, could you give me the number of the company that did them.
    Thanks in advance.
    Declan

hi declan A.E.S CCTV is doing a wireless system 799 and around 160 per year for central station monitoring he is very busy with them so must be good value??? he on the net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

if you can't afford a monitored alarm, a gsm unit or one that connects to a landline is a good alternative, it'll txt you when the alarm is triggered for all the world the same thing as a monitored alarm as far as I can see.

try condor security 014097733 they quoted me half of what "alarm fitters" were quoting me for a gsm unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

i alredy had a alarm in my house here but then when i got the crime prevention officer down i got a lad in to put in a box that makes the alarm ring me if the alarm goes off the first number me then mrs and then neighbour , i think roughly 150 euro not too bad something similar to eircom phone watch
    he is called eirtec security
    087 9280191
    good luck fella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Thank for all the advice lads. At least I have a few options to consider now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

BattleCorp wrote: »

How much did you get the cctv for. They quoted me €1000 for two cameras which was pure mental.
    I didnt pay for it but Think it cost about 2k, all angels of the outside covered and they are infa red so work great at night too. 2 lads smashed thr brothers car one night outside on the road and they got them from the cctv and had fottage of the whole thing. Records over itself every 29 days to a harddrive and can be viewed remotely too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,855 ✭✭✭✭altor

Vizzy wrote: »
    Declan, I went with Eircom phonewatch shortly before Christmas.
    Four window/door monitors and 5 motion sensors for €499(plus alarm box etc of course).
    Monitoring is €20 p/month though for the next 3 years.

They had a special offer at the time but I think that it has gone up a bit since.

A system like this is good if you are on a budget, only problem is they have to get into your home to set off the alarm when using motion detectors. Another thing to note is the door/window sensors are only contacts. If an intruder does take the glass out of your window without opening the window with contacts fitted it wont activate the alarm.

When you say the alarm box was extra, what is the alarm box?

altor wrote: »
    A system like this is good if you are on a budget, only problem is they have to get into your home to set off the alarm when using motion detectors. Another thing to note is the door/window sensors are only contacts. If an intruder does take the glass out of your window without opening the window with contacts fitted it wont activate the alarm.

That bit of my post does not read great tbh.
    What I meant was that I got everything for €499 including the control box.

I know that they have to enter the house to set off the alarm but the motion sensors cover all the rooms and corridors in the house so even if they get into the kitchen through a window, for example,they will set it off as soon as they move in to the hall.
    The window/door sensors are grand for setting the alarm when you are in the house(i.e you can move around the house without setting off the alarm but if you open a door or a window,the alarm goes off)
    The system is not perfect but its good on a budget and is expandable.
    I intend to put a sensor on the actual gunsafe which bypasses the "phone delay" of the main section of the alarm and will phone the Garda station immediately once the sensor is disturbed

That bit of my post does not read great tbh.
    What I meant was that I got everything for €499 including the control box.

I know that they have to enter the house to set off the alarm but the motion sensors cover all the rooms and corridors in the house so even if they get into the kitchen through a window, for example,they will set it off as soon as they move in to the hall.
    The window/door sensors are grand for setting the alarm when you are in the house(i.e you can move around the house without setting off the alarm but if you open a door or a window,the alarm goes off)
    The system is not perfect but its good on a budget and is expandable.
    I intend to put a sensor on the actual gunsafe which bypasses the "phone delay" of the main section of the alarm and will phone the Garda station immediately once the sensor is disturbed

How do you get around the house at night, also how do you turn off the alarm if the Motions are on, surely your control panel is protected by a PIR?

Inertia/contacts on the windows would of being a better option and the price difference between the different sensors would not be that much.
    The only pitfall as I say is if an intruder was to take out the glass without opening the window, It is a false sense of security really.

There is no system available that contacts a Garda station immediately!

As I said I have 4 window/door sensors and if you're moving around the house you can switch these on(but you cant open a door or window afterwards)
    I also have 5 motion sensors that will only activate when you enter the house.They cover all the rooms with external doors so you are correct that you could take out the window without opening it to gain entry but once inside the house the motion sensors will activate.The control panel is indeed protected by a PIR sensor(one of the 5) and when the alarm goes off I have about 20 seconds to disarm it or it will start to ring my phone,then my friend,then a third person etc.However,there is also a panic button which,if activated,will contact the Gardai(or the firebrigade in the case of a fire) directly without any ringing keyholders.
    When I got it installed the guy said that I could fit a sensor on the gunsafe which operated in the same way as the panic button.( I assume that it is an inertia type sensor)

As I said I have 4 window/door sensors and if you're moving around the house you can switch these on(but you cant open a door or window afterwards)
    I also have 5 motion sensors that will only activate when you enter the house.They cover all the rooms with external doors so you are correct that you could take out the window without opening it to gain entry but once inside the house the motion sensors will activate.The control panel is indeed protected by a PIR sensor(one of the 5) and when the alarm goes off I have about 20 seconds to disarm it or it will start to ring my phone,then my friend,then a third person etc.However,there is also a panic button which,if activated,will contact the Gardai(or the firebrigade in the case of a fire) directly without any ringing keyholders.
    When I got it installed the guy said that I could fit a sensor on the gunsafe which operated in the same way as the panic button.( I assume that it is an inertia type sensor)

So you have an P.W system that you self monitor?

I can assure you that your alarm system can not be connected directly to a Garda station.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

I can assure you that your alarm system can not be connected directly to a Garda station.

There always seems to be confusion about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

This is bad practice I.e alarm system not installed properly. A pir should be used as a backup in all rooms to catch intruders moving around inside a house and also inertia sensors on the windows to sense any vibrations in the glass like cutting or removing glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Hunter21 wrote: »
    This is bad practice I.e alarm system not installed properly. A pir should be used as a backup in all rooms to catch intruders moving around inside a house and also inertia sensors on the windows to sense any vibrations in the glass like cutting or removing glass.

The alarm in my house has a combined magnetic & inertia (vibration) sensor on each window opening and on each door ......i.e. if somebody opens a window magnetic contact is opened and alarm activates.....if somebody bangs or smashs window the vibration senor activates the alarm. The alarm cannot be set when leaving the house if any window is open in this set-up. All windows / doors must be shut to allow setting of alarm.

In a few expensive systems I've seen installed in friends homes installers seem to rely on PIR sensors in rooms & hallways to activate alarm. No vibration sensors on all windows and doors.

This means an intruder must actually enter the premises before alarm is activated. It also means that somebody vacating the house can set the alarm with some windows open.

Also, for those of us who keep the dog in the house at night a PIR can be activated by the dogs movement. Disabling the PIR leaves the house very vunerable if no vibration sensors are fitted to all doors & windows.

Not necessarily in all rooms, but in an area an intruder has to walk to get to other rooms. PIRs are used as a back up to any system in conjunction with door and window vibration sensors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Not necessarily in all rooms, but in an area an intruder has to walk to get to other rooms. PIRs are used as a back up to any system in conjunction with door and window vibration sensors.

Ya true, not needed in all rooms. But as I'm in the personnel security industry I see "cowboys" putting PIR's in every single room and hallway without consulting the premisses owner.

Be very clear and layout instructions of what you want in an alarm system. Don't leave the installer talk you into installing this that and the other.

If you have an iPhone I'd recommend a strategically cctv camera that you can view anywhere on the world on your phone.

Ya true, not needed in all rooms. But as I'm in the personnel security industry I see "cowboys" putting PIR's in every single room and hallway without consulting the premisses owner.

Be very clear and layout instructions of what you want in an alarm system. Don't leave the installer talk you into installing this that and the other.

If you have an iPhone I'd recommend a strategically cctv camera that you can view anywhere on the world on your phone.

I agree, as I have said it is only giving the owner a false sense of security.
    The best protection for any home is perimeter protection with a PIR or two as back up.