Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2006 and only 38k miles - but look at its condition

• 14-02-2012 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭

How would someone let a jeep get like this?

View2-9959760.jpeg

Ad HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

View2-9959760.jpeg

Ad HERE

A Cavan Farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I wonder was that jeep owned by the Quinn Group?

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/1222/breaking8.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I can only imagine what service history it has if it looks like that on the outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Ye, I was actually looking at that last night on DD.

38,000 miles, but it's probably still on it's factory fitted oil and filters!

I notice it only has a UK style disc holder.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

View2-9959760.jpeg

Ad HERE

It looks like a farm workhorse and bought solely for that purpose, driving between fields, hauling trailers, sheep, equipment, haybales.. anything and everything over short distances..

Not only is the body in bits, but I imagine the engine, clutch, cab interior, suspension and everything else is in bits too.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Buffman wrote: »
    38,000 miles, but it's probably still on it's factory fitted oil and filters!

I was thinking the exact same thing. I've seen some neglected yokes but this is by far the worst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

It's not a jeep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

It is an import and it's worthless.

noddyone2 wrote: »
    It's not a jeep.

Ye, it's actually a pile of scrap on 4 wheels.

But we try not to be too pedantic around here.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

It's not a jeep.

It is, actually, a jeep (term to denote General Purpose Vehicle).

It is not, however, a Jeep (An America all purpose vehicle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Fit some new lights.... To get it legal. Then some massive off road tyres, rollcage, snorkle, massive spots, winch.... And go have some epic fun and then just for the craic go do shopping in your local and park in the Electric vehicle spaces :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

has that ever been driven on a road? 38,000 miles around field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

One careful previous owner too:

d241910c7fee160f8bd2403486cc_grande.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

bazz26 wrote: »
    One careful previous owner too:

d241910c7fee160f8bd2403486cc_grande.jpg

That's in better condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Gophur wrote: »
    It's not a jeep.

I think it is an Irish thing to refer to something by the trade name of the leading brand. For example, calling a vacuum cleaner a Hoover, or calling a pen a Biro.

I also think it is wrong, and will correct people when they do it.
    The vehicle under discussion is more commonly known as a 'pick up', but it is not a jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Buffman wrote: »
    still on it's factory fitted oil and filters!

Was gonna say exact same thing :D Very original car, original tyres.
    rsole1 wrote: »
    A Cavan Farmer.

Was gonna post "One very careful owner from new". Drunk Cavan farmer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Looks like it might have gotten carried away in a flood at some point. Bounced off anything and everything...

Might also explain the superb moss type paintwork additions.

P.C. wrote: »
    The vehicle under discussion is more commonly known as a 'pick up', but it is not a jeep.

Don't you mean Jeep ?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭alias no.9

If its been worked hard and given good service to its owners but ended up like that as a consequence, then its lived a good life, much better than if used for a city commute racking up 4 times the mileage in the same time.

alias no.9 wrote: »
    If its been worked hard and given good service to its owners but ended up like that as a consequence, then its lived a good life, much better than if used for a city commute racking up 4 times the mileage in the same time.

Ye, I see your point, but normally you should at least try and get a few years and a couple of 100,000 miles out of it before you 'farm' it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Not only is it not a Jeep, it's not even a jeep. It's a pick up truck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Kanes of Granard plate surrounds too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Looks like its been at the bottom of a swamp for the last 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

It looks like the Top Gear Hilux after they tried to destroy it.

Looks like its been at the bottom of a swamp for the last 6 years.

Actually it would have probably been better off at the bottom of a bog, they're still pulling WW2 tanks out of bogs in better condition than it.:D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvveoQRVBxY

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSbbP-5ieRMk4i4veYMlxYkmg_kdVmI3vV09vebb3aLtp0esm71MA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

View2-9959760.jpeg

Ad HERE

I've seen (On TV) 4x4's in Iraq and Afghanistan looking better, alot better.