Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on this situation please!!

• 14-02-2012 11:00am

It's a long one so bear with me.

I bought a car three weeks ago tomorrow. A 05 Saab 9-3 TID Auto, from a main dealer. The day after I bought it I felt that there might be a gear box issue. I drove it for just over a week to make sure I wasn't just getting used to the car. I rang the dealer on a Saturday morning and explained the problem, I got a call back Monday to ask me to bring the car in on the Thursday, I couldn't bring it until the Friday and that was fine. I spent 40 minutes in the garage waiting to get a replacement car, which I did eventually, it wasn't an automatic - I felt they should have checked whether I had a manual license but it was fine, it was just me being petty. When I got into the car, it stank of smoke, really really bad, and loads of ash on the floor and on the mirror controls. As I was already late for work, and knew I only had to drive there and back, I took the car. At 11am I got a call to say that the gearbox in my own car was essentially fecked and they had to order in a new part and in all they would have to keep my Saab a week, this was fine but I told them I couldn't keep the car they had given me as I had to drive with the windows down the whole way to work (I'm not being dramatic here honestly, it was horrendous). So she said she would call back when they had found me another car which she did, a peugot 407, she told me that there was a light coming on to say the ABS was faulty but that it had been checked and it was fine, just the sensor light was broken. so I went back to the dealers and got the 407 (05, 1.6 HDI) and they transferred my insurance again. So I'm on my third car that day!

Car has been driving absolutely perfectly, no bother at all and no sensor lights, but there was no tax which p*ssed me off a bit as I know I could end up with a fine. I arrived home last night and when I got out of the car (engine off) there was a really loud sort of generator sound which I thought was coming from my neighbours garden. It wasn't, it was the fan in the engine and it was seriously loud, I waited a few minutes and it didn't go off so I rang a friend who has the same car (but petrol), he said he has never heard that before so I turn back on the engine for a few minutes - initially the fan got louder but after a few minutes it went off and I moved the car to the outside of the driveway incase I had to ring the AA or anything.

Got into the car this morning and the ABS light came on - which it hadn't before but they had warned me about that so it's fine. Drove to work, fan going mental in the car, and parked up and the fan gets louder and doesn't go off. I don't wait around for too long as I want to get in and call the dealer.

They are basically telling me there is nothing wrong with the car, that the fan noise is perfectly normal for the engine cooling down. Now, I'm not sure if it is, but I seriously doubt it - the car sounds like it's about to take off. They're saying that the car "had a full bill of health before it left the garage" and therefore there is nothing wrong with it. I reminded them that my own car had a full bill of health too but it's back in with a dodgy gearbox! They said I could come up and take a fiesta that they had if I wanted, I told them I wasn't happy to drive the car and that I wanted them to bring the fiesta to me, I told them that I was rapidly losing faith in <insert dealership name here> and that I was about to be on my 4th car in 5 days.

So, thanks for reading that very long post, my queries really are.
    1. Is the fan noise normal in a 05 Peugot 407 HDI?
    2. Am I being unreasonable in asking them to bring me another car?
    3. Will my insurance be effected with all of these temporary subs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

The fan on my car often stays on for a minute after a long drive..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Firstly, they are the ones doing you a favour giving you a car. They don't have to do that.

So what if their car is making strange noises, you'll be driving it for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

If there is no tax on the replacement car, I wouldn't be happy with that.

I presume they are looking for a recon unit for the gearbox? If they are getting a new part from Saab, it could be a while........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

So, thanks for reading that very long post, my queries really are.
    1. Is the fan noise normal in a 05 Peugot 407 HDI?
    2. Am I being unreasonable in asking them to bring me another car?
    3. Will my insurance be effected with all of these temporary subs?
    1. No, not like you describe it.
    2. Not really, but I'll elaborate in a minute
    3. I don't think so, you have a good excuse.

Basically, I'd just keep the Peugeot. If it's over heating and the fan is on longer than normal, that's their problem, not yours. It won't blow up or anything on you, and will only be a long term issue for them. You've warned them about what's happening, they said it's fine, so that's it basically. It's not a safety issue, the worst that could happen is that the engine will cook itself, but like I said, it's unlikely unless you see the temp gauge soaring. Their problem. Drive away in the 407 and ignore the fan, then yours will hopefully be back to you soon with a new box.

It's a short drive I have though. Last night the car had been off for a while before I drove 1 mile, that's when the fan didn't go off. This morning, I drove 3 miles. Stopped for a few minutes (fan going mental) then 2 more miles to work (fan still going mental).

EPM wrote: »
    Firstly, they are the ones doing you a favour giving you a car. They don't have to do that.

They do, it's in my warranty contract that I'll be given a replacement car. On the second point, I don't mind if it's just making noises, I'm honestly wondering if the car is safe to drive. I'm perfectly happy to keep it for the week if I am guaranteed it's safe and I'm not going to end up on the side of the road.
    R.O.R wrote: »
    If there is no tax on the replacement car, I wouldn't be happy with that.

I presume they are looking for a recon unit for the gearbox? If they are getting a new part from Saab, it could be a while........

Yeh I'm not entirely happy on that front but hoping if I'm stopped I'll get an understanding garda! It was up at the end of December.

They are expecting the part in today I think, so they tell me I'll have my own car back Friday.
    Tea 1000 wrote: »

Basically, I'd just keep the Peugeot. If it's over heating and the fan is on longer than normal, that's their problem, not yours. It won't blow up or anything on you, and will only be a long term issue for them. You've warned them about what's happening, they said it's fine, so that's it basically. It's not a safety issue, the worst that could happen is that the engine will cook itself, but like I said, it's unlikely unless you see the temp gauge soaring. Their problem. Drive away in the 407 and ignore the fan, then yours will hopefully be back to you soon with a new box.

This is the info I was looking for, I just wasn't sure what to do. I suppose you're right though, if the engine overheats (which it doesn't appear to be doing) then that's not my fault now that I've reported it to them. I really don't want the hassle of having to change the car again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Just let them fix your car and stop annoying them about everything else! As already pointed out they did not have to give you a replacement car and getting it for free is a big bonus.

Alot of dealers wont have a car ready to give out to customers like that so you get another sales car, they also wont tax cars on the forcourt because that does not make sense at all. If your parked and get a fine it will go to them, if you meet a guard they would want to be a right bollox to fine you after hearing your reason for driving without tax bit again the garage shoukd look after this should you get a fine.

Good luck with the car hope it gets sorted for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

OP that noise sounds like the electric fan. French cars used to have these ( don't know if they still do ) , and they often ran for a few mins after the engine was switched off .

Just let them fix your car and stop annoying them about everything else!

I know! I feel like a pain in the hole. I'm just really f*cking frustrated!!!
    As already pointed out they did not have to give you a replacement car and getting it for free is a big bonus.

Well they did, my warrantly includes a replacement car...
    Good luck with the car hope it gets sorted for you
    ]

Cheers :) I just want my lovely new car back!

Thanks for the advice lads, I'll hang on to it til my own car is fixed and if anything happens to it, it's not my problem as you've said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

OP, how's the temperature when you're driving? Once the gauge isn't in the red I wounldn't worry. When driving short jouneys at low speed there may not be enough air passing through the radiator to cool it sufficiently, so the cooling fan is needed.

There is also nothing unusual about the cooling fan staying on when the engine is off.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Would a second car not need tax and NCT for the insurance transfer to be valid?

Davidth88 wrote: »
    OP that noise sounds like the electric fan. French cars used to have these ( don't know if they still do ) , and they often ran for a few mins after the engine was switched off .

Thanks David. If it had been happening from the minute I got the car I probably wouldn't have thought too much of it, but it only started last night. Anyway, I'm going to take the advice of others and quit me moanin'!
    Buffman wrote: »
    OP, how's the temperature when you're driving? Once the gauge isn't in the red I wounldn't worry. When driving short jouneys at low speed there may not be enough air passing through the radiator to cool it sufficiently, so the cooling fan is needed.

There is also nothing unusual about the cooling fan staying on when the engine is off.

Temp gauge is normal. Never going over 70.
    subway wrote: »
    Would a second car not need tax and NCT for the insurance transfer to be valid?

Well there is an NCT. The tax I don't think actually effects your insurance though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

My money is on the noise from the 407 HDi being the DPF regeneration cycle running. Sounds like a cooling fan alright, stays on for about 10/15 mins after you switch the engine off. Had the same engine in my old Volvo S40 and it was the same. If the DPF regeneration cycle doesn't complete properly (20 mins of constant driving at around 2 rpm) then it will kick off everytime the car is started and run for around 10/15 mins after the engine is switched off. I also bet that the DPF is almost blocked, the regeneration cycle got more frequent on my S40 even after a good drive until eventually the DPF packed in.

Cheers Bazz, I'll give it a run on the motorway tonight - just incase R.O.R is right and the part for the saab doesn't come in for a while!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Drive it like you stole it :D

Temp gauge is normal. Never going over 70.

Well then I wouldn't worry about it. I've seen fans go on and off for up to 15 minutes after parking up sometimes.

The tax I don't think actually effects your insurance though....

Correct.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

langdang wrote: »
    Drive it like you stole it :D

Bit of fun driving the manual again! though I couldn't be arsed with it for "about town" driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A good 20/30 min drive in a lowish gear, above 2000 rpms should allow the DPF regeneration cycle to do it's thing and hopefully clear out some of the built up soot in the exhaust.

BTW regarding no tax, the driver of the car at the time is responsible for making sure the car they are driving has valid tax, irrespective of the driver owning the car or not.

bazz26 wrote: »
    A good 20/30 min drive in a lowish gear, above 2000 rpms should allow the DPF regeneration cycle to do it's thing and hopefully clear out some of the built up soot in the exhaust.

BTW regarding no tax, the driver of the car at the time is responsible for making sure the car they are driving has valid tax, irrespective of the driver owning the car or not.
    True, but if the car is parked then the ticket will go to the owner. If she is stopped, any reasonable guard would let her away with it.

Well there is an NCT. The tax I don't think actually effects your insurance though....

thats good to know, they always tell me the car needs to be taxed when i change over.
    found this on octane too
    The official line over the phone is the car has to be taxed as well, they say this because they can't be seen to encouraging people to break the law about driving an untaxed car on the public road, but unofficially the NCT is the only important bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PaudyW

you cant tax a car with out insurance

PaudyW wrote: »
    You can if you put in any old sting of numbers in the place where they ask for insurance details on-line!

PaudyW wrote: »

im really just talking about changing your insurance over to another car for a few hours or days. they always say to me that as long as the car is taxed and NCTed it's fine. i (wrongly) inferred that this meant i would not be insured if the car was not taxed, but it seems its just a CYA by the insurance company so as not to tacitly encourage un-taxed driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Buffman wrote: »
    Correct.

Quinn wouldn't transfer my insurance temporarily onto another car as it wasn't taxed?

I hope you gave out stink to them. Another reason not to use them IMO.

I don't see how they can apply different rules to a transfer over a new policy. We all know they can't require tax to take out an insurance policy as you legally need the insurance policy to tax it.

Out of curiosity did you tell them it wasn't taxed or did they tell you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

Ok, I'll bite and ask the question no-one else seems to want to :pac::
    • Re the fan - have you checked the coolant level OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Who gives a damn about the garage loaner, if it blows up in a shower of cogs and springs ring and get another. They have told you its fine, so leave it there. Don't wast fuel or internet trying to fix somebody else's car.

Well I give a damn tbh if "blows up in a shower of cogs and spring", if I'm the one driving it at the time. And if you had read the rest of the thread you woseen have seen that I had, base on the advice I had been given previously, decided to "leave it there", so maybe you should take your own advice and "don't waste Internet" replying to a problem that's already resolved ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

As a previous owner of that 1.6 Nigel the fan is completely normal. it is scary first few times it nearly sounds like a.plane.

The Abs light is most likely caused when a sensor goes on one of the wheels and does not affect the braking

racso1975 wrote: »
    As a previous owner of that 1.6 Nigel the fan is completely normal. it is scary first few times it nearly sounds like a.plane.

The Abs light is most likely caused when a sensor goes on one of the wheels and does not affect the braking

Yes! It freakin well sounded like it was gonna take off! I've never ever heard a car doing that before for so long after the engine is shut off. I drove home the n11 in a low gear with higher revs and there was no airplane noise when I got home so may well have been the filter.

Wasn't too worried about the abs light as they had warned me and you are right, it was just the sensor.

Well I give a damn tbh if "blows up in a shower of cogs and spring", if I'm the one driving it at the time. And if you had read the rest of the thread you woseen have seen that I had, base on the advice I had been given previously, decided to "leave it there", so maybe you should take your own advice and "don't waste Internet" replying to a problem that's already resolved ;)

Read the entire thread before posting & TBH after spending your time to returning a smelly loan car and then worrying about a noise from another loaner and demanding yet another loan car was delivered to your house, you didn't sound like a "leave it there" sort of lady. ;)

Read the entire thread before posting & TBH after spending your time to returning a smelly loan car and then worrying about a noise from another loaner and demanding yet another loan car was delivered to your house, you didn't sound like a "leave it there" sort of chap. ;)

I demanded did I? No, I asked, and then I came on here to ask if I was being unreasonable. I came for advice from those who know more on the subject than I do, which I got thanks to a number of very helpful people. And I the rang the garage and told them not to worry about swapping over the cars. So you read the thread, read that I had thanked people for their advice, read that I agreed I should quit my moaning, read that I decided not to worry about the car, but decided anyway to tell me not to waste the Internet with my queries. Well thanks for that, it was a great help!

Well glad to see your now no longer get worked up about irrelevant things..........will we leave it there? :) I was actually partly replying to the post directly above my first on this thread recommending you check the coolant, but how and ever.....

So you read the thread, read that I had thanked people for their advice, read that I agreed I should quit my moaning, read that I decided not to worry about the car, but decided anyway to tell me not to waste the Internet with my queries.

Boards.ie in a nutshell folks... :D

Well glad to see your now no longer get worked up about irrelevant things..........will we leave it there? :)

Leaving you with the last word? Certainly not :P

Mods lock the thread quick :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭Paddy Bateman

EPM wrote: »

+1. I would drive the car hard ( but legally) to see what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Just on the car tax point, if your own car has tax and the garage replacement doesn't i wouldn't be worried about getting a fine for no tax. Just give the fine to the garage and tell them to pay it, it would be their responsibility. There are no penalty points for no tax so it wont effect you.