Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you take deposits? If so - How?

• 14-02-2012 07:23AM

Hey all,

Something I'm wondering about is advance payment/deposits for upcoming work and jobs.

At the moment I've taken a deposit for one job (wedding) and the rest i usually don't take deposits for or such. However, I wouldn't mind looking into it. Taking a deposit is infinitely easier if you're a studio photographer or have a location you're based out of, obviously, but for those of us without a prime retail location, how do you go about doing it?

A financial commitment is valuable because you know people won't feck you about, and even if they do a no-show or such, you're somewhat reimbursed anyway.

Obviously there's Paypal. It's a straight-forward one. Not everyone has it though. Reading online, one or two photographers (US Based, but i dont think that makes a difference) send a stamped addressed envelope and the potential customer just sends it back with the cash inside. A few seem to meet the person in advance to get the deposit (practical and easy, but seems very amateurish to me).

Just wondering how do ye more experienced photographers go about doing it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

who the fooook would put cash in an envelope with a stamped addressed label on it [to a stranger!] and trust it to a postal service in this day and age? :confused:

the photographer who did our wedding had a contract service, he e-mailed a link, a secured site thingy - where it outlined his own [edited and personalised to us with costings] t's 'n c's, and there was a widgety thing to choose payment method within it - paypal, google checkout, visa, m/c etc.. as a customer, it was quick and painless and more importantly secure, just like handing over money should be.

artyeva wrote: »
    who the fooook would put cash in an envelope with a stamped addressed label on it [to a stranger!] and trust it to a postal service in this day and age? :confused:

A lot of people, apparently.

It was a method used by a fair few photographs on the thread i was reading (which i cant seem to find :( ).

I agree, it's very amateurish though. I'll have to look into taking credit card payments from people. Paypal is easy but I find that a lot of people aren't that tech-savvy when it comes to online stuff (of course more and more people are getting online, but a lot of people I've dealt with don't have/use/know of Paypal or the likes).

the photographer who did our wedding had a contract service, he e-mailed a link, a secured site thingy - where it outlined his own [edited and personalised to us with costings] t's 'n c's, and there was a widgety thing to choose payment method within it - paypal, google checkout, visa, m/c etc.. as a customer, it was quick and painless and more importantly secure, just like handing over money should be.

Sounds handy, but I wouldn't be keen on that to be honest. Especially not for a wedding. I'd rather meet in person.

But anyway, yeah, this is why I made the thread. I know of photographers that meet the person just to get the deposit (for smaller jobs, not weddings or the likes) but i think this can, rightly or wrongly, make the photographer look very amateurish and money-grabbing. Which isn't a good image, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

Just to be aware, you don't need a paypay a/c to do paypal. You can do standard credit card payments via paypal (no need for an a/c). But, accepted, not everyone will want to do an online payment.

AnCatDubh wrote: »
    Just to be aware, you don't need a paypay a/c to do paypal. You can do standard credit card payments via paypal (no need for an a/c). But, accepted, not everyone will want to do an online payment.

Really? How would you go about doing that, then?

And if that is possible to do, can you take their Credit card info over the phone, and then make the payment yourself (so you could essentially charge them over the phone?) :confused:

EDIT: Yeah, I can see now how you pay with a credit card without an account. Very handy. Still curious about the over-the-phone way though.. Cheers ACD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

I'm not a photographer , but I'v just heard of several complaints on our

local radio station , where money is being stolen from mail to America,

I send money directly into bank accounts, just get the account no and

bank details , go into your bank and ask them to transfer the money.....easy.

I find paypal very good also.......have been using it for years.....;)

Park Royal wrote: »
    I'm not a photographer , but I'v just heard of several complaints on our

local radio station , where money is being stolen from mail to America,

I send money directly into bank accounts, just get the account no and

bank details , go into your bank and ask them to transfer the money.....easy.

I find paypal very good also.......have been using it for years.....;)

Really? Can you register an SAE?

I wouldn't ask anyone to pay via bank to be honest. I know I wouldn't stand i a queue in a back to pay a photographer's deposit. I'd tell him to feck off. Haha.

This credit card thing has me curious though. Mooching further on the paypal site unearths that you can send people an email via paypal and they can pay through the email. Very clever. Will have to test some of this stuff out. Looks good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

well the e-mail system that yer man used was his standard modus operandi and tbh it was the most proffesional of all the dealings we had with vendors.

when you take the booking - ask the person what's easiest for them. people often pay deposits in cash, and if the don't like that idea then offer them a paypal/google checkout option. if they don't like that then supply bank account details. why would you care if they choose to go and stand in a bank? most people have online or telephone banking nowadays anyway. if my 70 year old mother can deal with telephone banking anyone can!

asking someone for their credit card details over the phone and doing the payment yourself is waaaaaay more amateurish from a customer's point of view. how do i know you've destroyed the paper you've written them down on? how do i know you're flatmate/nefarious family member won't be treating themselves to an online spending spree? anyone who would hand over details like that is a fool imho.

don't see why it should be any more complicated than that really, i think you might be over thinking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭stcstc

credit cards are the way to go

anything which would be a luxury item get bought on credit cards as norm (ok not everyone but a large percentage)

i put off getting a machine for ages. now i have a machine and its the best thing i did

firstly its quick and easy, means its very controlable, easy to track transactions etc

you can get ones that work using a mobile phone sim, so can use at peoples houses etc

also i take 50% deposit with order, and when i say this to people and have card machine there, people just pay without any worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

I take deposits by cash/paypal/cheque and bank transfer, at the moment bank transfer is the most popular and for commercial clients I wont release images until payment is made (no exceptions to this rule)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

Steve might be able to clarify this but isn't there quite a wait to receive they payment from the credit card companies?

Something to consider if you have a lot of outgoings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭stcstc

nope its there next business day

well mine is :-)

i bank with BOI and elavon for card processing who are BOI recommended merchant bank