Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hundreds of Garda Stations have no internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

There's not enough gardas for startions, not enough cars for stations so Internet isn't surprising tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Does every Garda station have a computer? Leave out the main Garda stations - I'm talking about the ones that would be on restricted hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Sure what would the Guards need a computer for and anyways...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

I don't mean to snoop in on operational matters now but, didn't you guys get free mobiles from one of the providers because they were using their masts?

Just in this day and age, get up grades, iphones and such. Ye don't need internet access in the station then, it is with ye constantly while out doing what ye do best.

It actually annoyed me that comment by Dara of the Failed party, I mean FFS Broadband has been with us now for quite a long time, and for quite a lot of that time his party, were unfortunately in government, so this issue/ query is more relevant to his own buddies than the current crop. Infairness his shower had the money, remember?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Lads, been honest here.

My main concern is not the fact that Garda stations don't have internet access but the fact that some areas of Ireland don't have access to the internet full stop, sure broadband penetration in Ireland is not that great.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

kub wrote: »

It actually annoyed me that comment by Dara of the Failed party, I mean FFS Broadband has been with us now for quite a long time, and for quite a lot of that time his party, were unfortunately in government, so this issue/ query is more relevant to his own buddies than the current crop. Infairness his shower had the money, remember?

Well to be honest, millions of Euro have been set aside to ensure Garda management can ensure that stations have access to email / PULSE - yet it is apparent that nearly half of Garda stations are yet to have network access. Why is this the case when copious amounts of money have been provided? State of the art DSL connections are not required to ensure access to basic email facilities.
    kub wrote: »

Just in this day and age, get up grades, iphones and such. Ye don't need internet access in the station then, it is with ye constantly while out doing what ye do best.

Gardai having to rely upon mobile phones for operational matters is just no longer acceptable today. The recent shooting incident in North Tipperary, where two Gardai nearly lost their lives, highlights that Gardai simply cannot call in emergency assistance as easily with mobile phones as compared to as if they were kitted out with TETRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭wreckless

so they have no access to this amazing forum and thread? :eek:

what-if-there-was-no-internet.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Gardai having to rely upon mobile phones for operational matters is just no longer acceptable today. The recent shooting incident in North Tipperary, where two Gardai nearly lost their lives, highlights that Gardai simply cannot call in emergency assistance as easily with mobile phones as compared to as if they were kitted out with TETRA.

Sorry Sierra Oscar, I may have not made myself clear, what I meant by mobile phone usage, I was reffering to mobile broadband as opposed to landline broadband which may/ or not be available in the station.

Ps I thought TETRA was nationwide at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

well theres no fm radios in any of the marked cars so looking for the internet would be a hiding to nothing anyways

emails not really used by us as there has to be a paper trail for everything. so i suppose pulse is the only thing thats really important.
    luckily we have just about enough pulse machines where i am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

TBH I think its a bit of a joke that in this day and age, not all Garda stations have access to pulse, it's a vital tool for the guards. How would gardai get around not having access to PULSE? Surely it's a system they would need to use on a regular basis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

msg11 wrote: »
    Lads, been honest here.

My main concern is not the fact that Garda stations don't have internet access but the fact that some areas of Ireland don't have access to the internet full stop, sure broadband penetration in Ireland is not that great.

I'm sure everyone would welcome any increase in penetration in Ireland! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

scholar007 wrote: »
    I'm sure everyone would welcome any increase in penetration in Ireland! :D

Ya not think we're all getting enough penetration from the Government as it is??? :eek: :D:D