Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beer/wine/spirits podcast

• 13-02-2012 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭

anyone know of any informative podcasts that cover some or all of the above?

or radio shows? preferably one that updates on a regular basis or broadcasts weekly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

I only know one on whisky, and it's www.whiskycast.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Movies & Booze on a Friday on Moncrieff, Newstalk. The guy they have in about the "booze" parts is pretty good. It's mostly wine, and sometimes beer (maybe 1 out of six weeks will be beer based, and never spirits)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Brockagh wrote: »
    I only know one on whisky, and it's www.whiskycast.com

Listen to one last night, the amount of adverts just killed me.

"this email is sponsored by redbreast"

"this blah is sponsored by xx"

drove me potty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Des wrote: »
    and sometimes beer

And 70% odd of the beers he talk about are imported by him;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭obried26

These guys do a pretty good wine podcast http://www.thirtyfifty.co.uk/uk-wine-show.asp

It comes out weekly and covers all things wine. Have a look through the back catalogue as well.

oblivious wrote: »
    And 70% odd of the beers he talk about are imported by him;)

Is that a bad thing? :confused:

He's talking about and promoting beers outside of the "usuals" on a semi-regular basis, to quite a sizeable audience.

I don't care that he has a business interest in it, in fact, fair play to him if he does.

As long as the audiences was aware of the fact
    He's talking about and promoting beers outside of the "usuals" on a semi-regular basis, to quite a sizeable audience.

sure, but the major of those he reviews are his imports, there are others and it can be light on Irish craft beer, (disclaimer I have miss a few weeks, and could be wrong)
    I don't care that he has a business interest in it, in fact, fair play to him if he does.

Again nothing wrong with that, just declare your interests

You'd really think that instead of having a pop at the guy, that someone with a "beoir" logo in thier sig would welcome it.

It really is a fairly Irish thing, begrudgery for the sake of it.

So what if 70 of the beers he reviews are his imports? That means 30% aren't.

And yeah, maybe he's light on the Irish Craft brews, but Irish Craft Brews are light on the ground as it is, he can't review the same beers every time.

He probably does what, 8 Beer slots a year? the rest are wine.

That's not a lot of scope for anything all-encompassing.

As long as he's there, promoting anything that isn't Bud, Heineken, Carlsberg or Guinness, then it's to be applauded and shouldn't be the target for little digs.

Did he do something against Beoir I wonder?

You'd really think that instead of having a pop at the guy, that someone with a "beoir" logo in thier sig would welcome it.

It really is a fairly Irish thing, begrudgery for the sake of it.

So what if 70 of the beers he reviews are his imports? That means 30% aren't.

And yeah, maybe he's light on the Irish Craft brews, but Irish Craft Brews are light on the ground as it is, he can't review the same beers every time.

He probably does what, 8 Beer slots a year? the rest are wine.

That's not a lot of scope for anything all-encompassing.

As long as he's there, promoting anything that isn't Bud, Heineken, Carlsberg or Guinness, then it's to be applauded and shouldn't be the target for little digs.

Did he do something against Beoir I wonder?

Dear lord ,

I though my response clarified my issue, "Again nothing wrong with that, just declare your interests " like with any interaction where the public are been given advice. Its not a dig, its just giving to people all the information on how the spend there money.

As for Beoir, I may have a sig but i am not an official spoke person, just a member and my views are my own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Slaphead07

Yeah it's a bad thing. He supposed to be doing independent reviews for consumers and really he's plugging his own product. How is that not a bad thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Brockagh

ntlbell wrote: »
    Listen to one last night, the amount of adverts just killed me.

"this email is sponsored by redbreast"

"this blah is sponsored by xx"

drove me potty :)

It used to have no adverts. I don't listen to it anymore. Not that it's not good, but I just haven't got around to it. I've heard a few people complaining about all the adverts recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Slaphead07 wrote: »
    really he's plugging his own product.
    Actually, he's plugging some of his own product, and some of his competitors product, but I suppose that's easy to overlook. I listened in on the show last Friday, and both Sean and himself touched on the need to talk about the blossoming Irish craft beer industry, and the need to focus on them a little more (actual wording may vary).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Movies & Booze on a Friday on Moncrieff, Newstalk. The guy they have in about the "booze" parts is pretty good. It's mostly wine, and sometimes beer (maybe 1 out of six weeks will be beer based, and never spirits)

Always thought he was pretty crap, actually. The whole segment seems like a veiled advertisement.

Actually, he's plugging some of his own product, and some of his competitors product, but I suppose that's easy to overlook.

Which part is he hoping we overlook?

I don't go to a car dealers website to read reviews of their cars, I don't go to Xtravision for impartial reviews of DVDs. Why is this any different?

Look, I find that segment of the programme great craic and very entertaining but I'm fully aware it's paid for by O'Briens I don't take it seriously at all. Not at all. Like so many wine reviews in this country they are far from independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Which part is he hoping we overlook?

I don't go to a car dealers website to read reviews of their cars, I don't go to Xtravision for impartial reviews of DVDs. Why is this any different?

Look, I find that segment of the programme great craic and very entertaining but I'm fully aware it's paid for by O'Briens I don't take it seriously at all. Not at all. Like so many wine reviews in this country they are far from independent.
    Well, if 70% of the products he describes are products he retails (and I'm sure his competitors import these products too), that means that 30% of the products he describes are offered by his competitors and not by him.

But you're right. It's a source of entertainment and not necessarily an impartial beer review. Don't think he works for O'Briens though.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

he retails
    He's an importer and wholesaler, not a retailer.
    Don't think he works for O'Briens though.
    I think Slaphead is referring to the wine bit. I think someone from O'Brien's does that.

Edit: nope, see #21 below.

BeerNut wrote: »

I think Slaphead is referring to the wine bit. I think someone from O'Brien's does that.

No, I'm not inferring he works for O'Briens or has any connection them but what I am saying is that a wine review slot sponsored by O'Briens cannot be taken too seriously. Don't get me wrong, I have the utmost respect for O'Briens.

what I am saying is that a wine review slot sponsored by O'Briens cannot be taken too seriously
    OK, but you're saying it in the middle of a conversation about a beer review slot. Hence the confusion. I think :confused:

Does he not also review wines? I think he does.

No, Martin Moran does the wines. He's a full-time writer and speaker by the looks of things.

BeerNut wrote: »
    No, Martin Moran does the wines. He's a full-time writer and speaker by the looks of things.

Ah ok. I'm not having a go at anyone BTW, I just like "reviews" to be open and fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

While not just about tasting/drinking I listen to http://www.basicbrewing.com/ quite a lot, it's mainly homebrewing stuff but they do some interesting interviews and features like "Will glassware affect the character of your beer? Chris Colby, editor of Brew Your Own magazine, joins James and Steve to investigate."

and in their video section

"MRE for You and Me - James and Steve salute veterans on Veterans Day by pairing awesome homebrew with less-than-awesome food."

They also have 4 or 5 years of material so there's probably a few things in there to stack up and listen to while searching for a another suitable podcast.

There are also some podcasts on http://thebrewingnetwork.com/shows that might be suitable, The Home Brewed Chef would talk more about styles of beers and food to pair with them. I haven't listen to it so can't say much about it.

Also http://craftbeerradio.com/ but again I haven't listen to it yet so can't say if it's a decent one or "sponsored by" one.

The majority of alcohol related podcasts I've found have been brewing centric.

I'm going to Movies and Booze in Harry Byrne's, Clontarf tomorrow :)