Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink driver

• 13-02-2012 7:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey,
    A friend of a friend/flatmate drives over to our place every now and again, drinks a bunch of cans and drives home again through a busy city. Because I'm aware of this, I feel I should do something about it.

I don't want to be a pacifist and not prevent him from potentially killing someone just because of my own dilemma;

I've thought about bringing it up with my friend, but I've expressed my concern before and while I know he doesn't condone it, he has obviously done nothing about it. If I did bring it up again, there's a good chance he would either say nothing, or say it and the friend would just do it anyway - with both outcomes it would be obvious who intervened if he did get "randomly" pulled over. Thus unless he stops drinking and driving, which is unlikely imo, I'll be in an awkward situation of either doing nothing, which I don't want, or doing something and knowing there'll likely be repercussions for me, which I also don't want.

At the same time I feel it's a bit cowardly to just send him to the gallows without giving him a chance to change his behaviour.

So I'm hoping to get some opinions on what others would do in the same situation.

Note that the people in question are not young lads, they're middle aged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I too had a problem with a friend who would drink drive. I confronted the person and told them I didn't care if they killed themselves but if I did nothing and someone else died it would be partially on me too. He wouldn't talk to me for a good while but eventually called me. He's now given up drinking partially as a result of the what I had said.

Even if you don't want to say anything to him you can avoid giving alcohol to someone you know is going to drive afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Squiggler

Don't let him drive home after a bunch of cans. Offer to let him stay the night. Order a taxi for him. Tell him that those are the options BEFORE he starts drinking at your place.

There are so many reasons not to let a friend drive when they've been drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭gud4u

There's no excuse if it's a city, he can get a bus. I never leave anyone drink drive from my house as we live in the country. It might be awkward if you bring it up but ypu'll have done the right thing. It certainly won't be as bad as you'll feel if something happens. They'll appreciate it if you are good friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP again,
    Sorry for not making it clearer but the guy in question is not my friend. He is a friend of my flatmate, and I don't hang out with them when this guy is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Have a word with your flatmate and tell them you don't want a drunk person driving away from your flat anymore.

Tell them if they had an ounce of cop on that they wouldn't stand for it either and let them know that the next time this person attempts to drive away from your flat drunk that you will be ringing the guards and supplying them with his name and car registration....

Tell them this is not up for discussion. End of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Tell your flatmate you don't feel comfortable with this guys actions and if he does it again you will call the police. If your flatmate doesn't have the balls to say it to his friend then your going to have to say. Give him a fair warning when he arrives, don't wait till he's getting ready to leave. It might make you feel uncomfortable OP but think how you'd feel if your heard the next day that he'd plowed his car into another car and killed or seriously wounded someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

as some on who has lost two innocent people to drink drivers I would encourage you to do something about it.

I have contacted the guards previously about someone I knew was drink driving (via the traffic watch number) and got a phone call back to say that the person was stopped, breathalised and was over the limit (as per the road side check) ... I wouldn't have been able to live with myself if that car had killed a pedestrian or other road user and I not done a thing to prevent it.

Don't be afraid to confront this fella and tell him how you feel .. and if he insists on doing it make sure to call your local garda station and let them know the score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭James W

You could tell him he cannot drink in your house unless he is going to get a taxi home. If he drinks and insists on driving I'd have no hesitation calling the Gardai - it's totally unacceptable.