Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone bought a wedding dress online?

• 12-02-2012 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

My head is wrecked, I have spent the last few weeks searching for a my wedding dress. Went to baldoyle at the weekend - still a bit out of my price range. Anything I can afford isnt what I want. Started looking on line this morning. A few good websites in the UK and other places. Has anyone had good experiences and if so where? My wedding isnt until Sept so time is on my hands but would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. Many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Have you tried the Barnardos bridal shops? There's one in Dun Laoighre (Sp) and one in cavan?
    Monsoon do nice dresses as well and not too expensive.
    Haven't looked online at all myself (yet!) though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I've one arriving from a Chinese website this week, PM me maybe next weekend if you want to know how it turns out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

I only seem to be lookng online! Am actually dreading going around shops... Main reason for that is to get an idea of colours that will suit my colouring, and to rule out styles that don't suit.

Just a quick question for anyone who's bought online - have you given your exact measurements or gone a bit bigger? I'd be most afraid of lovely dress arriving and being a bit small! I wouldn't mind getting a slightly big dress taken in, as long as it doesn't ruin the cut I suppose. Like yourself OP the only dresses I seem to like are quite expensive BUT copies can be got online for almost anything I've looked at. I personally wouldn't be particularly fussy if an online copy wasn't 100% identical, it'd be more the general style I'd be going for.

I gave my exact measurements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 sallyq

Many thanks to everyone. Acoshla that would be great if you can tell how you got on with the chinese suppliers.which one did you order from? I think I am going to focus on line. Regarding the size the bridal shops I have been into said they would order a size bigger and then could be taken in for the perfect fit. Can anyone recommend on line stores?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

If you're going to order from Chinese websites, be very careful. There are huge differences in the cut, fabric and finish of the dresses. It's also vital that accurate measurements are given. Might be better to go up a size and have the dress altered to suit...

Check out Milly Bridal. Good few brides order from there, and I've heard some really good stories. My SiL ordered a ballgown from them which fitted like a glove and looked great!

You also need to add on import taxes if ordering from outside the EU. Think it's about 30% of the cost price, and generally the goods won't be released from Customs until it's paid. Occasionally, you might get lucky and the parcel's marked as a gift, but don't count on it! Shipping can also be very expensive depending on the method used.

Some of the US sites are very good as well, (I ordered BM dresses from Jays Bridal) but you should know that Maggie Sottero, Alfred Angelo and one other designer I can't think of at the moment, DO NOT allow international shipping of their designs. Do you know anyone in the US who could get a dress and send it on to you as a gift if you wanted to go that way?

Hope I've helped!

Just found these on Debenhams:

http://www.debenhams.com/women/dresses/wedding-dresses

Not sure if any are to your taste, but the prices look very reasonable (£'s but you could get around that)

PM me next week if you want to know what mine was like, I honestly have brides on about 4 sites waiting to hear what it's like so I can't guarantee I'll remember to come back to each thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 tpall

Im Looking at dresses on lightinthebox.ie has anybody ever ordered from here? I know somebody who ordered bridemaid dresses and were happy not sure bout the wedding dresses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

My friend just got her dress from bridaldreamdress.com and abdolutely loves it. She had a mini heart-attack when she opened it as it was inside-out and she didn't realise! It's beautiful, though it's a bit different to the picture (but a copy is never gonna be 100% the same).

Found an Irish on line wedding website. Has anybody used them before?
    www.wedding-dresses.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭abrr1000

I'm seriously considering lightinthebox.com - i've been researching the internet for pictures and reviews and it all looks great - I think I might try and order the bridesmaid dresses from there first and see the quality and fit and if they're good - then the wedding dress!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Trish99

Hi i ordered my dress from dressingpod it arrived and im delighted with it , the lace is different but still beautifil , the detail on the dress is perfectly done , i ordered two and couldnt fault either of them , customs was 40 euro but even with that i got two beautiful dresss for 400 euro

I've posted about this on another thread but I recently got my dress on DHgate, very happy with it. I'll PM you the details if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Am I right in thinking that you'd have to get it altered probably buying online although there are some great bargains to be had do not order off some dodgy website where the quality is going to falter, some of those Chinese websites can be misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Trish99

its like any site you have to do your home work first ,some of the sites offer custom made which means you give them your measurements so to answer your question on that you wouldnt have to get the dress altered ,best of luck to all the ladies looking ,it proved successful for me .

Ok, I'm taking a leap of faith Trish. I have ordered an A line wedding dress and 3 bridemsaids dress from www.wedding-dresses.ie. really happy with the price. I hope it works out. Wedding dress will be 60-90 days , however they have the bridemaids dress in stock. Will let you kmow what the quality is like when they come to me.

Hi B2B's - Just wanted to keep you in the loop. My BM dresses arrived today from Wedding dresses my Amee - So delighted. They are brill quality. Will have to get one taken in, but knew tht. Dying t show the girls. Will keep you posted when WD arrives in couple weeks. So excited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 GSXR_GUY

We recently got married in Spain and herself bought her dress from http://www.dressingpod.com/ for less than €120 including delivery...The dress was stunning and you would never think it was only €120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Glitter

I ordered mine this day last week from here:
    http://www.zaradress.com/2012-fancy-strapless-beads-working-appliques-sash-empire-tulle-satin-bridal-gowns-swd048-p-18838.html

The same dress is available on dressingpod.com and is well-reviewed there.

I gave exact measurements so hopefully it won't need too much in the way of alterations.

I will feel like the jammiest hoor ever if I get away with this price for my wedding dress! :D

The bridesmaids' dresses I picked have already arrived from inweddingdress.com and they're amazing. They look better than the picture on the site. They do need minor alterations (straps on all four are a bit long) but they look really luxe and were only around €100 each including shipping and customs charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Your dress is stunning Glitter. Please let us know how you get on with it. When do you expect it to arrive?

Isn't it like a Justin Alexander dress? Very pretty....

That is the Justin Alexander pic, they base the dress design on that when making it.

I don't think it's the exact same as a Justin Alexander, although I found one with a similar vibe on his site - it had lace applique all over the bust and onto a sheer strap top thing; and the skirt wasn't as full... maybe this is from a different collection?

It was the silhouette I fell for anyways, I wanted 50's-inspired but not tooooo vintage.

Should arrive in a week or so - I'll keep ye posted as to how it looks!

That photo is the Justin Alexander photo, I've seen it a million times because I wanted that dress, most websites just make a copy of the designer dress so they use the designer's photo. They're not meant to but they do.

http://www.justinalexanderbridal.com/wedding_dresses/8465

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

How long to dresses stay in dh gate? I'm getting married in 2014 but Im afraid the dress will be gone by the time comes to order it.

Misticles wrote: »
    How long to dresses stay in dh gate? I'm getting married in 2014 but Im afraid the dress will be gone by the time comes to order it.

I'm also planning to lose about 2-3 stone before the day. I Wouldn't know what measurements to give etc as I know a dress can look awful if it has to be altered too much.

Customs just called, the dress should be here today! Moment of truth time... eep. :)

Well, it's here. It looks about 85% like the pic on the website. The skirt is the exact same shape but I think it is made purely from tulle rather than with a taffeta overlay as the original pic suggests; and it needs a little finishing on the hem.
    Also, the flowers on the top part of the bodice are slightly more spread out.

Other than that I am delighted. It looks like a 1950's fairytale on - definitely had a "moment" in front of the mirror. Morto!

The fit is fab (gave them exact measurements for a size slightly smaller than I am now as I'm still losing weight steadily on my Big Fat Wedding Diet) and it is indeed just that tiny bit too small, which is the perfect incentive to lose the last stone or so I'll need to fit into it perfectly.

All in all, if you're a stickler for designer detail, buy a designer dress; if you're happy with a good approximation buy online.

Total cost for dress: €120 (incl. shipping) + €7.50 in Customs duty + approx €50 for alterations (guesstimate) = <€200

Glitter wrote: »
    Well, it's here. It looks about 85% like the pic on the website. The skirt is the exact same shape but I think it is made purely from tulle rather than with a taffeta overlay as the original pic suggests; and it needs a little finishing on the hem.

Other than that I am delighted. It looks like a 1950's fairytale on - definitely had a "moment" in front of the mirror. Morto!

The fit is fab (gave them exact measurements for a size slightly smaller than I am now as I'm still losing weight steadily on my Big Fat Wedding Diet) and it is indeed just that tiny bit too small, which is the perfect incentive to lose the last stone or so I'll need to fit into it perfectly.

All in all, if you're a stickler for designer detail, buy a designer dress; if you're happy with a good approximation buy online.

Total cost for dress: €120 (incl. shipping) + €7.50 in Customs duty + approx €50 for alterations (guesstimate) = <€200

That's great! Glad it worked out for you...

Now tell me about this diet? My big day is in 2 year so I have plenty of time. I would like to lose about 3 stone. I have always wanted to lose that but now I should be more determined :D

That's great! Glad it worked out for you...

Now tell me about this diet? My big day is in 2 year so I have plenty of time. I would like to lose about 3 stone. I have always wanted to lose that but now I should be more determined :D

Thanks. :)

Re the diet, first of all, 2 years is bucket loads of time to lose three stone so you're already ahead of the game there!

I'm doing mine using a low(ish) carb, high protein diet in conjunction with counting calories on a site called www.myfitnesspal.com. You put in your age, height, gender, activity levels and current weight and it will work out how many calories you need to be eating to lose at the rate you want.

Losing weight is about 90% diet and 10% exercise. I go to the gym three times a week or so but that mostly just makes me look more toned and lets me eat a little bit more at the weekends (and enjoy a glass or two of vino!!).

There's a great Health & Fitness / Nutrition section here on Boards also, you should read some of the stickies in that section.

I'm also planning to lose about 2-3 stone before the day. I Wouldn't know what measurements to give etc as I know a dress can look awful if it has to be altered too much.

I'm planning to lose that much before next year, so I requested a lace-up back instead of buttons (as the sizing is much more flexible then) in an off-the-rack smaller size. When I'm more or less at my goal it shouldn't take much alteration, well here's hoping anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,474 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Just on wedding diets:

Ignore *EVERYTHING* you read in beauty magazines. The advice in them is at best misguided and (incredibly regularly) downright fvcking dangerous. Ditto for "losing weight" forums on bridal sites: the nonsense on some of those about "detoxing" (there's no such thing), weight loss tablets (if they worked would we even have gyms?) and crash diets that'll leave you fatter and less healthy when you come off them are sheer lunacy.

Don't be afraid of lifting weights. Every celebrity you see with a smoking body does it whether they admit it or not, you won't get "too muscley" or any crap like that, you'll strengthen your body, increase your metabolism, look far more toned and lose inches.

Weight-watchers and other points counting diets are a good first step but some proper nutritional education will take you a lot further.

Aim to get fit and eat healthy and the weight will take care of itself in my experience. Though remember: measure in inches, not in pounds. A proper fitness program will increase muscle density (and size in men), making them heavier than they were before you started to get in shape.

Dolorous wrote: »

I'm planning to lose that much before next year, so I requested a lace-up back instead of buttons (as the sizing is much more flexible then) in an off-the-rack smaller size. When I'm more or less at my goal it shouldn't take much alteration, well here's hoping anyway!

So did you give your goal measurements as opposed to what you are now?

Well I didn't give measurements exactly, but I did order it two dress sizes smaller than I currently am (off the rack size as opposed to measurements). The lace-up back gives a lot more room for variance in the size. It's a bit of a gamble but I have the motivation now, 'cos if I don't lose it I'll have to go dress shopping again :eek:

Dolorous wrote: »
    Well I didn't give measurements exactly, but I did order it two dress sizes smaller than I currently am (off the rack size as opposed to measurements). The lace-up back gives a lot more room for variance in the size. It's a bit of a gamble but I have the motivation now, 'cos if I don't lose it I'll have to go dress shopping again :eek:

hhmm where did you order? I know on DH gate you have to give the most bizarre measurements so I don't know how I would order it to cater for me being 2 stone lighter :eek:

I ordered on DHgate and had the option of getting a standard size? Maybe it depends on the seller. Like I said, I ordered 2 sizes smaller than I am now, with a lace-up back for more freedom of size. It's gonna be a gamble either way, I'm going by what size I was the last time I was at my goal weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭kittex

Just an update...

I bought a wedding dress "online" - not from a Chinese seller but from a dress maker in my current country of residence - Australia!

Absolute disaster! Shoulder and bust size is bizarre and they have replaced my embellishments with strange silver plastic flowers instead of the crystals I had ordered.

They also have used a cheap polyester viscose instead of chiffon and well, basically I am now seeking a last minute off the rack dress!

I am only 5' 3" so it's likely even then I will need an alteration!I arrive back from Oz with only 7 days before my wedding.

On the plus side, as I didn't order from China (although I think the dressmaker is con merchant who did and then marked up) I am protected and have a number of avenues to explore for a refund.

Anyone know any 24 hour turn around alterations places in Dublin?? :)

kittex wrote: »
    Just an update...

I bought a wedding dress "online" - not from a Chinese seller but from a dress maker in my current country of residence - Australia!

Absolute disaster! Shoulder and bust size is bizarre and they have replaced my embellishments with strange silver plastic flowers instead of the crystals I had ordered.

They also have used a cheap polyester viscose instead of chiffon and well, basically I am now seeking a last minute off the rack dress!

I am only 5' 3" so it's likely even then I will need an alteration!I arrive back from Oz with only 7 days before my wedding.

On the plus side, as I didn't order from China (although I think the dressmaker is con merchant who did and then marked up) I am protected and have a number of avenues to explore for a refund.

Anyone know any 24 hour turn around alterations places in Dublin?? :)

If you go into express alterations in abbey st - they have a quick turn around time... though unsure if they do wedding dresses :/ There's the zip yard and abbey bridal in that area too.

I was going to order online but then I fell in love with a dress I tried on here. As I am getting married abroad I might order an evening one a nice light one but then again I may not want to take my lovely dress off :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Glitter wrote: »

Sorry for dragging up an old thread but I've been looking around and found this dress on zara bridal and was wondering does anybody know who the original designer was? I'm completely new to this engagement and wedding dress malarky!

http://www.zaradress.com/images/Wedding-Dresses/lace-wedding-dress-045.jpg.