Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help!springer coming into heat goes missing

• 11-02-2012 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭

as above my bitch is coming into heat and goes missing ,now there is a 14ft wall round the hse and and the gate is 12ft, i live in and end of tce hse there is nothing against any walls only conclusion is, an neighbour has seen her leap over the side wall anybody with a springer bitch had this problem and how did u sort it:( ive tried the coller at full blast amazingly it has f,all affect on her and it was on correctly, i dont want too go down the put her on chain route i hate seen any dog tied up, we cant keep standing guard at kitchen window watching her,its driving me nuts and she doesnt want for lack of excerise she is brought for walks and round back fields for run out most days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

HI seen this before one way to cure her is but a weighed coller around here neck add a few pounds of lead to it each time she goes to jump her head falls down its funny to watch but it will stop he jumping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

You could run and electric wire around the top of the wall attached up to a battery fencer. Has worked for me in the past when a dog I had learned to climb out of the run. One good belt from that should cure her. Battery fencer is expensive to buy but if you talk nice to a local farmer he might give you a loan of one. He most likely won't need it at the moment with stock in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

yep done it before with collydogs ,good man i forgot that one:o:o stop them chasing cars ,thanks streyerman goin to rut out that auld roofing lead:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

You could run and electric wire around the top of the wall attached up to a battery fencer. Has worked for me in the past when a dog I had learned to climb out of the run. One good belt from that should cure her. Battery fencer is expensive to buy but if you talk nice to a local farmer he might give you a loan of one. He most likely won't need it at the moment with stock in.

1st of all your dog is a Ho! :D

Electric fence only job as per above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

steyrman2 wrote: »
    HI seen this before one way to cure her is but a weighed coller around here neck add a few pounds of lead to it each time she goes to jump her head falls down its funny to watch but it will stop he jumping

Thats a great idea! just chain a big block to her so she get around the garden but stops her from getting over the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I would be very wary of leaving a lead attached to a unaccompanied dog. Just say the block or weight falls off leaving the lead attached, dog goes to jump the wall and ends up hung out of it. Would not be very nice for dog or owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

steyrman2 wrote: »
    thats a great one lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 gunisfun

I would be very wary of leaving a lead attached to a unaccompanied dog. Just say the block or weight falls off leaving the lead attached, dog goes to jump the wall and ends up hung out of it. Would not be very nice for dog or owner.

that `happened to a friend of mine the dog jumped and just made it but the led got the block got stuck and the dog is not around any moor

problem solved lads she is now confined to yard vie chain for the nxt 21 days:( breaks my heart but has to be done,but its funny watching, the terrier thinking it can chew threw metal trying to free springer lol:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

problem solved lads she is now confined to yard vie chain for the nxt 21 days:( breaks my heart but has to be done,but its funny watching, the terrier thinking it can chew threw metal trying to free springer lol:D:D
    Hahaaaaha the great escape! It's the only thing that can be done

i wish i could video an put it up here only this laptop is sh!te ,she is still trying to gnaw the chain off from jess its so funny amazing how close dogs get,:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

You be careful that the chain isn't long enough for her to get over the wall and hang herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Am i reading this wrong? Your neighbour seen your springer jump a 14 ft wall with nothing against it? What bloodlines is she from, shergar? Cant get my head around that, 6ft keeps in my flat coat retriever and springer. Although if put to him, the retriever would prob clear it if he wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

we had a springer years ago that could jump a six foot wall with just a little run up to it and she used to get over an eight foot wall by springing up off a smaller wall, the drop on the other side never bothered her.

anyway its worth remembering that if your dog can get out over the wall then a horny potential mate could more than likely get in over the wall, so maybe you should be standing guard at the kitchen window just in case. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

dicky82 wrote: »

anyway its worth remembering that if your dog can get out over the wall then a horny potential mate could more than likely get in over the wall, so maybe you should be standing guard at the kitchen window just in case. . .

Ah he'd be self anchored on the wall so would never actually get over!! :D:D
    Like a Bassetthound trying to climb a stairs! :D

Be careful of the chain. Really would want to be stuck before I'd go down that route.
    Electric strand would zap cats, burgalers the lot on the wall ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bamanlou

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Am i reading this wrong? Your neighbour seen your springer jump a 14 ft wall with nothing against it? What bloodlines is she from, shergar? Cant get my head around that, 6ft keeps in my flat coat retriever and springer. Although if put to him, the retriever would prob clear it if he wanted.
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 stalkerswife

as above my bitch is coming into heat and goes missing ,now there is a 14ft wall round the hse and and the gate is 12ft, i live in and end of tce hse there is nothing against any walls only conclusion is, an neighbour has seen her leap over the side wall anybody with a springer bitch had this problem and how did u sort it:( ive tried the coller at full blast amazingly it has f,all affect on her and it was on correctly, i dont want too go down the put her on chain route i hate seen any dog tied up, we cant keep standing guard at kitchen window watching her,its driving me nuts and she doesnt want for lack of excerise she is brought for walks and round back fields for run out most days
    let her in to her mammy ill mind her dnt need to tie her up ye can swap places for a few days/weeks you can sleep in the dog house and jessy can sleep in the bed:p