Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Humour me, please.

• 11-02-2012 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭

and feel free to flame if you feel it's justified.

I'm in the middle of a conversation right now with a shooting friend from your side of the water, and he happened to put this into the conversation [and no, I'm not saying who he is] -

'...I had a meeting on .........day with the chief superintendent about that ..... rifle I wanted, basically a no go, he...told me he knew nothing about firearms...'

Is this common?

What possible use can it applying for a firearm to an organisation where the highest levels 'know nothing' about firearms'?

tac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Thats Ireland mate.
    No one in any position of 'power' knows a ****ing thing about anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭RICHIE.39

Thats Ireland mate.
    No one in any position of 'power' knows a ****ing thing about anything .

And the nail has been struck right on the head! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

In fairness there are a few people that know their stuff and do their job right. Unfortunately they are about as common as hens teeth !

I miss the days when you could sub a license and pick the new gun up the same say :(

In fairness there are a few people that know their stuff and do their job right. Unfortunately they are about as common as hens teeth !

I miss the days when you could sub a license and pick the new gun up the same say :(

I dunno bout that lad. I contacted Richard Bruton the minister for enterprise trade and EMPLOYMENT about FAS and was told that FAS (the Irish national training and EMPLOYMENT authority) was not in his remit.... un frikkin believeable.:mad:
    I'm sick of this **** hole (and that pains me to say it) but I'd be gone in a flash if I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Thats the way it is sadly tac, worse is when they say they know nothing of firearms and tell you they are going to consult the ballistics dept, that dept might know about rifling marks on bullets and ballistics , but it seems they know little of the firearms thats shoot them.

I dunno bout that lad. I contacted Richard Bruton the minister for enterprise trade and EMPLOYMENT about FAS and was told that FAS (the Irish national training and EMPLOYMENT authority) was not in his remit.... un frikkin believeable.:mad:
    I'm sick of this **** hole (and that pains me to say it) but I'd be gone in a flash if I could.

You're not eamon dunphy are you, seriously i'd have to agree, the place is degenerating back to the 80's banana republic it once was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

But lads in fairness it doesnt take 3 weeks or 6 months in some cases to license a firearm. Especially to someone who has already shown good reason for requiring one in the past. I know there's cutbacks and such, but why oh why oh why do we still have this problem with issuing gun licenses??? Its the 21st century. There should be some sort of proper educated dept. that can deal with the licensing system and have things flowing smoothly. That way the Guards will be able to commit themselves to more important matters :rolleyes:

I remember being told when applying for a new gun license a few years back that the Superintendent had "More important things to be dealing with than a macho man looking for another gun" and that "If I was lucky he would sort my license out whenever he gets a chance and I wasn't to hold my breath"

What would it take to set up a team of maybe 3 or 4 committed Guards in each county even to look after new applications and firearms matters? When you think about it you probably wouldn't even need 3 or 4 I would say 2 would do !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

In my opinion a lot of it stems from whether your super/c.super is efficient and unbiased in firearm matters, a FO of the same quality is a big help. If a super is against them from the outset then they'll have no desire to learn and will receive and process applications in ignorance. The workload excuse isn't really a good one, my own district would be the busiest in the county and the super here is brilliant, had both my licences inside 2 weeks with no fuss and he was the same in his last post elsewhere in the county, others that have dealt with him said he knows his stuff about firearms/moderators etc. I was praying he wouldn't be moved up to c.super and moved on in the recent bout of promotions:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

What bugs me the most is the inconsistincy. depending on what district and who you deal with a licence (new/sub) can take anywhere from 2 weeks to a year in some cases.

i remember when the new three year licences were been applied for i went in to the FO i was dealing with at the time with my application for my rifle and i asked him "it says tick all boxes relavent to your firearm below. it has an option for single barrel i assume this is only for shotguns???"

he looked at me with a blank confused face and said sure i havent got a clue about guns just sign your application and if there is an issue someone will ring you.

i remember thinking he looks after the application sure even do he doesnt approve them he should still know the ins and out of the application he is excepting from me and should have some knowlage of firearms.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Sure guns are illegal in Ireland? :confused:

:pac::pac::pac:

I have to say though after my whinging, the FO I deal with in Clonmel is a legend. He knows what hes talking about and is always wickid sound to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭johnnymolloy

i applied for 220 swift before christmas got the letter saying the application was recieved and id hear something within the 3 months and still havent heard anything its my second gun and second rifle my brother applied for his 223 his first rifle and got the license within the week. Gonna ring them on monday its comin up to nearly 3 months now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Blay wrote: »
    In my opinion a lot of it stems from whether your super/c.super is efficient and unbiased in firearm matters, a FO of the same quality is a big help. If a super is against them from the outset then they'll have no desire to learn and will receive and process applications in ignorance. The workload excuse isn't really a good one, my own district would be the busiest in the county and the super here is brilliant, had both my licences inside 2 weeks with no fuss and he was the same in his last post elsewhere in the county, others that have dealt with him said he knows his stuff about firearms/moderators etc. I was praying he wouldn't be moved up to c.super and moved on in the recent bout of promotions:pac:

Then you have a Gem of a Super...Treasure him for as long as possible,as such people are rare indeed!:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

rowa wrote: »
    the place is degenerating back to the 80's banana republic it once was.

Ol Bob Geldof got it right with that song back then,nothing much changed..:(
    Growing up here in the 80s, it wasnt that bad as it is now!!On the social aspect that is,more pubs and clubs for one.... The shooting side,while no handguns and big cal stuff,at least nobody was too upset what sort of a quare yoke of a stock your shotgun had or how many rounds were in it either,or wether the barrel was abit too short.
    At least you could grab Slatterys bus and fK off to England to look for work or the USA or Aussie land..Where can you run to now?? Its just as ****e somwhere else as it is here!!!:(

But to get back to Tacs enquiry.That would be the norm for anything in this great little country of ours.No one knows anything,and you will be promoted for being INcompetant at the job,or can retire and avoid any embarrassing questions about the big pile you left behind you.While you sit on your bigger pile of money ,golden handshakes and pensions!!:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Here's the amount of knowledge at least one cop in my town has.

I sent in the form for a licence renewal. Four weeks later I got my grant letter and paid the money in the post office the next day.

When my licence didn't come in approx two months, I went to the local Garda station to see what the story was.

I told the Garda on duty that I had paid the money and that it usually only takes a week or so for the licence to come out but I haven't gotten it yet and it's been two months.

The Garda said to me that I should have gotten it in the post office. I told the Garda that we pay for the licence in the post office and then it is posted out to us.

The cop told me that I was wrong, they hand them out in the post office and that I should go down to the post office and ask them for my licence as it was probably behind the counter or something like that.

I knew I was talking to a pure idiot so I left it so and waited for a Garda that I knew to come on duty the following week. He sorted it all out with one push of the button on the computer. He ordered a new licence for me. Sorted in three days.

Surely this is something that they would be taught in Templemore???????

There are plenty of good Gardai out there but unfortunately there are plenty of uneducated idiots out there too.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

But to get back to Tacs enquiry.That would be the norm for anything in this great little country of ours.No one knows anything,and you will be promoted for being INcompetant at the job,or can retire and avoid any embarrassing questions about the big pile you left behind you.While you sit on your bigger pile of money ,golden handshakes and pensions!!:(

Yeah , it was only a couple of years ago that both fianna gael and labour were in the dail asking the then justice minister ahern why he was banning peoples sport in the form of ipsc practical shooting and banning centrefire pistols , the shoe is on the other foot now but they haven't unbanned the ipsc or centrefires, but no one asks them why.
    The problem is also to do with senior civil servants being appointed by politicians, supers and chief supers for instance, you're not going to hang someone out to dry in the media if you're the one who appointed them in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

rowa wrote: »
    Yeah , it was only a couple of years ago that both fianna gael and labour were in the dail asking the then justice minister ahern why he was banning peoples sport in the form of ipsc practical shooting and banning centrefire pistols , the shoe is on the other foot now but they haven't unbanned the ipsc or centrefires, but no one asks them why.

I can't remember if it was Haughey or one of his henchmen but I think, when questioned about why he was opposing something the government of the day were proposing, he said something along the lines "my dear man, it is the opposition's job to oppose".

So, there you have it. The opposition bitch and moan just for the sake of it. I don't expect anything to change :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

Thank you all, Gentlemen. I am now not only a lot better informed but a whole lot more amazed.

tac