Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AA to launch Sat Nav Tracked insurance in UK

• 09-02-2012 10:04PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭

Basically a black box in the car which tells your insurer if you are being a bad biy on the road so they can charge you more.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-16969509
    The system involves the installation of a small black box into the driver's car which records how they drive.

The measures include monitoring speed, braking severity, cornering and the types of roads used during certain times of day.

This information is transmitted remotely to the insurers, and can also be accessed by users via a website which gives information on overall performance, warning them if they are likely to be moved to a higher premium.

probably means we will see it here in 5 years or so when we catch up with them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

vetstu wrote: »
    probably means we will see it here in 5 years or so when we catch up with them. :)

Axa have been doing it here for atleast ten years for younger drivers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

they can fook off.......and that pompus prick Conor Faulknen......lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭kirving

Sure thats AA UK. Conon Faughnan was on the radio giving out about stupid speed limits, he's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Good god.
    That would mean the end of motoring for me, as I wouldn't be able to afford my insurance premium anymore.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

Axa have been doing it here for atleast ten years for younger drivers.

Remember that alright. Thought they quit doing it though a few years after they started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

CiniO wrote: »
    Good god.
    That would mean the end of motoring for me, as I wouldn't be able to afford my insurance premium anymore.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

this

its a dry sunny day that i don't hit the limiter in top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Big brother yet again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

If I had one I'd feed it a nice can of coke. that would surely kill it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

I developed a similar set up in 2001 intending to aim it at the private market (parents who had their kids driving their car). Then everyone got rich and every 17 year old had to have their own car. Presented it to Hibernian at the time but it wasn't as complete a solution as the guys that did the axa solution. Theirs apparently could tell what speed limit you were in. Mine could do things like alert by text if the car went over a configurable speed, triggered a configurable g-sensor, broke geo fencing when supposed to be stationary and could be located on an online map. No google maps at the time so I spent a fair bit on getting good digital ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭jayok

Satanta wrote: »
    I developed a similar set up in 2001...

Fair play to you for attempting this.