Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on this Alfa GT?

• 09-02-2012 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭

Another 'What do you think of this car' thread, but i went to look at this Alfa GT today, took it for a test drive and it drove like a dream. I have owned a 156 before and know the problems that can arise.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2951126

The timing belt and waterpump were done 10k miles ago. full service history and a 1 year warrenty.

The only issue is that there 110k miles on it. Should i be put off? Also think the price is kinda high but i'm prepared to walk away if he won't come down on that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

With those rims/low profile tyres, there will be little "give" in the ride, was it stiff on the test run? Could you live with that? Has it shook the car asunder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

As a 156 driver with 156k on the clock I can verify that a well-maintained ALFA can stand the slings and arrows. The GT is regarded as the best put together ALFA of its vintage. That engine is probably the most robust offering from FIAT of recent years so you should have no worries there. Suspension will need monitoring - how are the wishbones for creaks over speedbumps?
    Price is optimistic in the current market I would have thought, but the car itself looks tasty.

Edit; just saw the 'no trade-in' price - I reckon if he shaved a bit more off that you'd be on to something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Personally I think it's overpriced. But it's a great car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Just got rid of mine before xmas. Miss it terribly.

They are a great car to drive. Its a quick engine for a diesel. 150bhp I think.

If I were you I'd get an alfa specialist to look it over first. That'd be the only thing I'd do different spending that sort of money on an Alfa.

I didnt have many problems though. The ERG valve likes to get clogged. That said a good eh proper spin on the motorway solves the problem with a cloud of black smoke out the back with a bit of help of fuel cleaner in the tank.

My clutch went about 80k miles in. ie only after I bought it unfortunately which was just unlucky.

Injectors and Turbo are the things to get checked that cost the money. Thankfully mine didnt go but the mechanic told me they were showing signs of wear and in fairness you could feel it slightly at the lights.

The windows are great craic during icy/snowy weather as well, seriously hard to get the bloody things open as the window has to wind down slightly to open the door and they like to freeze nicely.

Handbrake likes to freeze too.

Other than that though I miss it terribly. Cant wait to have another Alfa in the future. Genuienly.

Ps .. on the price. I dont think its mad overpriced. The garage I traded mine into is being sold for €6750 and its an '04 model with similar milage, well slightly less but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

It was firm but solid on the test drive, no rattles or creaks from the suspension over speed humps or over the uneven road. I have read about clutch issues on the GT but it seamed fine and the gear change was perfect. It was owned by an Alfa employee and then this garage got it, sold it to a single male and he traded it in to them again for something bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Nice car but it's enough money. If you put on the miles quickly you'll be at a level that will make it hard to sell on when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

It seems a little pricey, but nicely specced (Monza spec?). It looks like it has the BOSE sound system (judging by the tweeters in the doors), which is a very nice extra to have.

I found the ride on 17" normal tyres about as bumpy as I'd like, I don't think I'd fancy it with those wheels. Though they do look great.
    The windows are great craic during icy/snowy weather as well, seriously hard to get the bloody things open as the window has to wind down slightly to open the door and they like to freeze nicely.

Handbrake likes to freeze too.

Both things happened to me last year. For future reference, park in gear with no handbrake when it's freezing, and keep some de-icer in the boot for the window seals. Or even a very thin instrument to run between the seal and the window.
    Ps .. on the price. I dont think its mad overpriced. The garage I traded mine into is being sold for €6750 and its an '04 model with similar milage, well slightly less but still.

That sounds dear to me too. I sold my 06 for 7.6K before Christmas, with timing belt and waterpump recently done. That said, I didn't have to advertise it and deal with all the tire kicking eejits, so I was relatively OK with letting it go for a little under what I might have gotten for it.

Still, I don't think I'd have paid that much for an 04 when I was buying it 15 months ago, let alone now.

You're right that it's 150BHP. It's a noisy engine, but not bad to drive at all. For comparison I now have a Volvo V50 2.0D with a Ford 136BHP engine. It certainly sounds quieter, but the FIAT JTD engine seems to have wider bands, so you can rev it that bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

smash wrote: »
    Personally I think it's overpriced. But it's a great car.

I'd agree, seems overpriced for the milage and year.
    Great cars though, will be upgrading my trusty 156 to a GT shortly as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

I have those exact wheels / spec on my own GT. The ride is harsh on bumpy roads and the alloys are fairly soft so you would have to constantly mind them. It is manageable though!

I don't have the diesel engine in mine so I can't comment on that but from what I have heard its a great engine.

Price seems a little high, I would have thought somewhere around 8 or 9k for that car with those miles would seem a bit more reasonable. Then again it does come with a warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Isn't it funny how most 156 owners on here would swear by them yet they still get hit with the old stigma of ''it'll be broken down before you leave the garage'' kinda crap. Just an observation.. :pac:

As for the car, with that miles €10k is alot of money. If the dealer won't come down to around 8ish then walk away is my advice..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The Lads on http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/republic-of-ireland/ know their stuff if you want anymore opinions, and could well know about the past history of the car, if someone on there had it etc. Lovely car, as everyone said don't be afraid to bargain the price down as much as you can.

07 diesels have a bit of a stigma attached to them also, because they are on the old tax system and usually are much higher to tax then an 08, however alfa didn't do 1/2 as good a job with the emissions as bmw etc, and an 08 1.9jtd is only tax band D (480ish a year), so no great saving over an 07 2L on the cc system (€660).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Mileage I wouldn't worry to much about, it has a full service history, and one year warranty with it...The JTDm is the best diesel around.

Price seems a bit high as others have said, but then again, finding a good clean car with history is getting harder all the time...+ Its the right colour too :D

Bring a heap of cash with you (if you can) and see if they'll budge on the price, nothing like a small pile of €€ to get a person thinking, especially in the current climate.

Get it checked by a proper Alfa Romeo Mechanic, not one who thinks they are!

Best of luck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, that car is very expensive given the mileage, you would definately be paying over the odds just for the security of the warranty and I would like to read the small print on that warranty.

Here is one that looks a minter and appears like it is well minded with alot less mileage in a less common colour too:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201204206700433

I know it's a private sale but it looks better value for money imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

bazz26 wrote: »
    OP, that car is very expensive given the mileage, you would definately be paying over the odds just for the security of the warranty and I would like to read the small print on that warranty.

Here is one that looks a minter and appears like it is well minded with alot less mileage in a less common colour too:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201204206700433

I know it's a private sale but it looks better value for money imo.

That's absolutely beautiful.