Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giving your boss a bollicking

• 08-02-2012 11:53pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭

Have you ever given your boss a bollicking? How did it turn out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

hmmm kinda, in terms of dealing with your boss. didn't work out well, I was fired / quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Like I give a toss.

I'm frollicking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I hope this isn't a euphemism! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Ya, once.

He was cool with it, apologies were made and so on.

Nothing major.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

hmmm kinda, in terms of dealing with your boss. didn't work out well, I was fired / quit.
    I think I'll do it, I'm probably on the way out anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Yes. He called me aside and basically said he agreed but I was out of line to vent my frustrations in front of other workers as it undermines him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue...
    ... the police at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

flash1080 wrote: »

ooh eek, ok. what's it about?

Not happy with the ways things are run and what I'd be doing when the company is re-structured. I've held my tongue up to now, but I'd prefer to go out fighting tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

i did,she cried, i didn't care but felt very guilty after.

Don't know why i felt bad, she lied to get me fired, she's a lesbian and wanted the give the part time girl a full time job:)

where is the 'quiet man' who one day snapped and pinned him down. reigning blows to his head only for him to pick himself up all startled/ shocked/ surprised and dismiss as "out of character"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Yeah I ripped into my manager right after I quit. Never seen such a loudmouth so stuck for words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've banged my head off a wall a few times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

LH Pathe wrote: »
    where is the 'quiet man' who one day snapped and pinned him down. reigning blows to his head only for him to pick himself up all startled/ shocked/ surprised and dismiss as "out of character"

Did you ever find another job after that?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

told my boss yesterday he was an insignificant worm of a man ....was worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

I knocked my manager out one night after a house party,( he was being a prat) when I worked in a hotel many years ago. I went into work the next day expecting to get sent home, not a word said, was very supprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'm very outspoken. And very independent as well. I've had my, erm, heated discussions with bosses.

I've had 7 bosses in 12 years. But I'm never the one who goes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Mickey Lover

If you're going to leave, please, please do it this way :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jnjezs59TQQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Quite regularly tbh. My boss can be a dope and sometimes it takes me yelling at her to get her to cop the fuck on. Luckily, I have a good enough relationship with her that it's actually okay to do so...

ejmaztec wrote: »
    LH Pathe wrote: »

Did you ever find another job after that?:confused:

who knows what they went on to do.

Personally i've not even accepted another job since they stitched me up as assistant to boris fukkin karlof in a maternity hospital autopsy room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Nearly got in a digging match with one when I was 20 and didnt even get a warning.. He used to be like a bastard if his team lost in the ball..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Yeah I ripped into my manager right after I quit. Never seen such a loudmouth so stuck for words
    beano345 wrote: »
    told my boss yesterday he was an insignificant worm of a man ....was worth it

Would I be right in thinking there's a few job vacancies going? :o

worth a try eh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

after being used more then a yore ma joek for a certin firm i flipped due to only getting a 15 minute break instead of the hour others would take, getting dirty looks when i went to the toilet for a much needed break and moaned at for going out for a ciggerette.

when it all came to ahead i was told " you're wasting too much time with all this walking around, can you not sit down and do some work " ( i was woorking 8 am till around 7:30 ish pm.... flat out.... ) i have a really Really bad temper but msot dont know it; its well under wraps and needless to say after that sentiment i calmly explained how for the whole group of us working, im the only one who does anything, ive all my worked saved, time stamped and proven where as the others done about 1/5th and spent most of their time asking me for advice or " do this for me please, im a useless **** who refused to learn in college and im paying ffor it now " as i would put it.

to cut the story short: they couldn't call the gaurdi quick enough, the boss squared upto me ( about 6'1, 16-17 stone, done about 3hr's in the gym in his whole lardy life ) chinned him and he started crying, when the othersd who i resented so much jumped in going for me their was no tim to back down, i feel bad for hitting them as its not their fault... being an eejjit is all the know but thats me, being a top bloke...

And to think, that was my first day working as a check out girl in tescos. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 HousemanJB

Slunk wrote: »
    Yes. He called me aside and basically said he agreed but I was out of line to vent my frustrations in front of other workers as it undermines him.

I have had the same thing done to me, but in front of other people. The WORST WAY TO DO IT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Some of you seem like right *****.

I've had heated discussions with some yeah but I've never hit any of 'em. If your talking sense and remain calm you shouldn't get sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I tore my stomach muscle when i was working in Dunnes years ago.

Sadly it was the same day that most of the staff called in sick that day with a bug, exact same symtoms as me really, Constant throwing up, pains etc etc.

thought yeah maybe thats it (i had torn same muscle years before so figured it wasn't but gave it benefit of the doubt)

after 4 hours of horriblness i was coming out of the loo after being sick (again) my floor manager and supervisor or possible manager, can't exactly remember terms for them.

one of them started saying that i needed to work a bit harder as the aisles i was filling were becoming bare. I stopped and turned to both of them and told them to F themselves and shove their job up their ass.

probably not the best idea as i then had to pay for docs and all this weird gel stuff to help healing and had a grand total of 0 in my account!

i still have a pair of jeans in one of the lockers in there too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I worked too long in one company and things got too familiar with one boss - it was just the way he behaved and looking back I was too committed to the company. We had a few heated discussions but him being the boss it was never on equal footing. Finally after too many comments about my personal life, appearance, behaviour in general, complete lack of gratitude, I resigned and he sulked and threw a few nasty digs. He didn't know I had a new job and I was now one of his biggest clients. Joy oh joy the first time he phoned and had to grovel.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Had a few intense and heated chats with bosses over the years, but I find doing it in private gets far better results for 2 reasons..

1. There is less chance of embarrassing them in front of other employees and thus making them go on the defensive. Better chance of a more positive outcome for you in the end.

2. If you're really pissed off at that particular moment and time, the few mins it takes you to get to wherever you're going to have that chat gives you some time to calm down, reassess and get things straight in your head about what you're going to say.

Then youre free to let rip and tear him or her a new one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I read the title as "Giving your boss a ball licking"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

foxyboxer wrote: »
    I read the title as "Giving your boss a ball licking"

.......and your story involving that is?

Well, I didn't give my boss a bollicking about his failings and misreading of situations. I accepted a job offer in a different company so I've quietly seen out my notice. While most people think I'm doing a grand job I think my own level of performance has been awful for the last two months, much like a footballer who's thinking about moving clubs and doesn't perform for a few games. My boss more than likely underestimates me because of this. I'm not too bothered about it though, I've got the move I wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Well, I didn't give my boss a bollicking about his failings and misreading of situations. I accepted a job offer in a different company so I've quietly seen out my notice. While most people think I'm doing a grand job I think my own level of performance has been awful for the last two months, much like a footballer who's thinking about moving clubs and doesn't perform for a few games. My boss more than likely underestimates me because of this. I'm not too bothered about it though, I've got the move I wanted.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2113364/Robin-van-Persie-Manchester-City-prepare-210-000-week-deal-sign-Arsenal-striker.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

Is that you Robin? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

Not given a bollicking, but have had several heated confrontations with a few different bosses over the years. It has almost always turned out to be a positive thing.

Don't fear your boss, but don't act the twat either - the boss will appreciate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, not a bollicking, but a chat if I'm unhappy about something. Gotta be done if warranted - and any manager who would take issue with this is not a competent manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I hate that word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

A few occasions, I was the go to man if there was ever an issue, a hero.

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah, not a bollicking, but a chat if I'm unhappy about something. Gotta be done if warranted - and any manager who would take issue with this is not a competent manager.

I've done that alright in this place, but not a proper bollicking. Part of it is the culture in the place, it's all too nicely nicely, couldn't really express oneself in there. I'd previously worked in a place where we'd shout in the office if we weren't happy about something, and usually things were sorted out very quickly, nothing taken personally, and the whole attitude in that place was miles better. Funnily enough if one of the bosses in the "nicely" place gave out to you in a nice way they'd follow up afterwards half-apologising for giving out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Was off for two weeks hoiliday, then came back on site for 6 hours and the boss started into a rant how there was gear missing and it was my fault as i was responsible for gear to be returned to the stores each evening (this guy was the ultimate prick boss)

So he went to walk away after his little rant without giving me a chance to answer so i shouted at him in front of the whole site "How was it my responsibility i wasnt here the last two weeks?" To which he replied "It just is". I proceded to shout at him to get a clue and come back to me when he has some idea on how to actually manage staff and if tries to shift the blame of missing gear onto me i will hang him out to dry with the Manager back in the office.

That promptly put the little prick back in his box ,of course the little **** had to get the last word in and muttered something while walking away.

That was the last time he raised his voice to me, a month later another lad he acted the prick to pissed on the sweatband of his hardhat, he didnt notice a smell but did develop a rash on his forehead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Was off for two weeks hoiliday, then came back on site for 6 hours and the boss started into a rant how there was gear missing and it was my fault as i was responsible for gear to be returned to the stores each evening (this guy was the ultimate prick boss)

So he went to walk away after his little rant without giving me a chance to answer so i shouted at him in front of the whole site "How was it my responsibility i wasnt here the last two weeks?" To which he replied "It just is". I proceded to shout at him to get a clue and come back to me when he has some idea on how to actually manage staff and if tries to shift the blame of missing gear onto me i will hang him out to dry with the Manager back in the office.

That promptly put the little prick back in his box ,of course the little **** had to get the last word in and muttered something while walking away.

That was the last time he raised his voice to me, a month later another lad he acted the prick to pissed on the sweatband of his hardhat, he didnt notice a smell but did develop a rash on his forehead :D

Are you a drug dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I worked with a guy who was an absolute d*ck. I hated him. He was constantly stealing sales on us, blaming us for stuff we didn't do and treating customers like they were dumb and they didn't have a clue.

One day he tried to blame something on me and it got to me, so I started giving out sh*t to him and he called me into the staff room by saying oi you in here now. I swiflty corrected him that I was not a dog and was in fact wearing a name badge and I gave him a good piece of my mind.

He then apologised and was as nice as pie for the next month or so, it soon went down hill again.

Another manager I had went away on holidays for 2 weeks and into the 2nd week I came down with what I thought was a bad cold, but kept working through it with no one to cover for me.

He came back on the monday, the same day I found out I had swine flu, so i had to ring in sick for a week, I had a doctors note and everything and he gave me a bollicking down the phone because he had to work. So I gave him one back. After my week was up he rang me up asking was I fit to come back and if i needed more time off that I could have it. I think he was afraid of catching the piggy flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Lisa, if you don't like your job you don't strike. You just go in every day and do it really half-assed. That's the American way.
    -- Homer Simpson

Wise words :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Had a couple of heated discussions with superiors over the years.

Kinda new Team Leader. Basically she walked in and took over but brought her mate in with her and swiped my role out from under me. asked about me being treated differently and about what was going on and was given run around half answers or no answer at all for a week or so. Left it for ages... said nothing about me being singled out and treated differently from the rest of the team. Told her one day I wanted a chat. Basically went nuts and explained to her I wanted this to stop and I was considering leaving, she said one sentence that I will always remember:
    "I'm glad you came to me about this first instead of H.R."
    I knew there and then I was wasting my time. Still considering speaking to H.R. about it guts of a year later. But can only see me getting transferred out and most likely somewhere I want to be even less.

the other was I worked in a well known petrol station up at the Omni in Santry. The boss there was nicknamed The Tornado. I was the new guy and he turned to me one day and gave me a rollicking for wasting time while I was actually putting stock on the shelves as the head office were doing an inspection. called me a "f**king eejit" so I turned to him told him to go "f**k himself" and ripped all the stuff off the shelf and dropped it to the floor. wasn't too bothered that was only day 3 of me working there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Why do bollicking and ball-licking sound so similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Why do bollicking and ball-licking sound so similar?
    The etymology of bollocking is derived from bollocks, ballsack, scrotum, or testes, with particular reference to the satchel itself rather than the roundy contents, but the auditory similarities between bollocks (verb to bollock or bollocking) and ball licking are largely superficial in nature, being in essence coincidental, with the only real connection being the word "ball", which is ironic really when you think about it given the information at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

guitarzero wrote: »
    A few occasions, I was the go to man if there was ever an issue, a hero.

I was that guy a couple years ago.... it never works out in your favour man.... trust me. only make yourself a pariah

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

giving out to your boss is liking pi$$ing into the wind, it's pointless.
    Much better to steer that pi$$ back into his kettle.

Get even, not angry......