Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U caller remote

• 08-02-2012 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Lads I was given a gift of a u caller remote for christmas and now that the game season is over vermin is top of the agenda. Has anybody had and success with these using the calls that are pre loaded on them I think there's eight it's mainly the crow and magpie one I'm concerned about. If you did what way did you go about setting it up or is it just a gimmick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Clinty wrote: »
    Lads I was given a gift of a u caller remote for christmas and now that the game season is over vermin is top of the agenda. Has anybody had and success with these using the calls that are pre loaded on them I think there's eight it's mainly the crow and magpie one I'm concerned about. If you did what way did you go about setting it up or is it just a gimmick.
    I only found it very effective for mags.rest of calls i dont know.more of a chance calling a fox in with music than it i think. I never downloaded calls for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

2 years ago in the snow i called in 5 foxes in one day with one crow works well on crops as dose mags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭Invincible

Clinty wrote: »

Alot of lads don't know how to use it! You need to camouflage yourself well, whether in cover or with netting,place the caller about 25 or 30 yards away, hang it on a branch, use the remote to change/stop calls, within a few mins you'll have mags landing near your caller, they'll never know what hot them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 FieldandStream

Normally I run a couple of larsen traps & account for good numbers of magpies. When the game season ends I reckon it would be good craic to call magpies and nail them with the shotgun. For those of you with experience of electronic callers, would you consider the U caller to be the best on the market for calling Magpies & crows. I am not really concerned with foxes as I use my hand to call them. If any of u have a link to view a ucaller calling magpies all the better as I havent been able to view one in action. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

my mate has one and we were out yesterday and i heard a mag about 50 60 yards away up along the ditch so i told him put the mag call on and within seconds the mag came down directly to me i was in camo and i got him so in my opinion a good bit of kit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

At the risk of asking the question that no one want to hear the answer to "are digital callers legal or not " honestly dont want opinions , would like the legal answer, tks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

On vermin yes but not for game or wildfowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

At the risk of asking the question that no one want to hear the answer to "are digital callers legal or not " honestly dont want opinions , would like the legal answer, tks

WILDLIFE ACT (ammendment) 2000

43.—Section 35 of the Principal Act is hereby amended—

Prohibited:

(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section, but subject to section 42, a person shall not—

(c) use a stuffed or artificial decoy in the form of any bird for the purpose of hunting any protected wild birds, other than wood pigeons, wild duck and wild geese, or

“(d) use an electrical or other instrument or appliance (including recording apparatus) emitting sound, for the purpose of hunting any wild bird or any wild animal.”

They are illegal to use on any animal, be it game or vermin.. another great law.

Theres the legal bit, not what people say or do though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

era who gives a skeet.

Mighty yoke on mags.

Good on cubs too ..

Starting to use the mating "screech" now and its proving pretty good!.

'hdz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭EP90

hedzball wrote: »
    era who gives a skeet.

Mighty yoke on mags.

Good on cubs too ..

Starting to use the mating "screech" now and its proving pretty good!.
    'hdz

They would have to come with a gun and dog at these prices :eek: :eek:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/U-CALLER-UCALLER-REMOTE-FOX-CROW-MAGPIE-DUCK-DEER-CALLS-/400174734469?pt=UK_SportingGoods_Hunting_ShootingSports_ET&hash=item5d2c45dc85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭An truicear tochasach

Yep - got one last year for mags. Apparently since they're illegal I never actually used it but the times I never used it, any mags within hearing range flew in - they're great but not magic - as mentioned, you still need to be well hidden. Also - they're as tough as (put your own descriptive word in here). I left mine by accident in the corner of a cow shed for a week - it got clobbered into the ground by a load of heffers and it still works - almost perfect! Ive only ever used it to call mags and the remote makes it really handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭An truicear tochasach

EP90 wrote: »

- jees theirs got to be something wrong here!!:eek: