Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Procedeure Of Buying A Commercial 4x4 Privately

• 08-02-2012 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭

Hi lads and lassies, I'm a PAYE worker who has been offered seasonal farm relief work by a local farmer.
    I would use this cash as a supplement to my income from my full time job.
    I already have a car which I use for private and domestic purposes.

I will require a 4x4 of some sort in order to work on the farm and the farmer is willing to give me a letter stating so.

I would like to buy a commercial 4x4 which will be used solely for farm relief purposes.

As I have never taxed \ insured anything commercially, what would be the best procedeure when buying a 4x4 privately when I'm not sure whether I'd be allowed tax the 4x4 commercially or not ?

Would it be ok to ask the seller to let me take the reg number and go try and tax it and see how I get on, BEFORE actually handing over cash, but with the promise that I WILL buy the 4x4 when \ if I was indeed granted the commercial tax on the 4x4.

Do you reckon any sellers would have any issues with this approche or is there another way better to do it ? I just dont want to hand over cash and end up with a 4x4 I cant tax !

I know as a PAYE worker I can fill in the rf111a form and use my PPS number as my tax registration number.

Any information ye may have is much appreciated.

Thanks all !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Fill out form using your pps number and then get it stamped by the guards. That is all you should need, it might help to bring along the letter from your employer (the farmer) as some tax offices have different ideas on whats needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

If you are using the 4x4 to earn money then you are using it commercially, why do you want to tax it privately ? trying to avoid paying for commercial insurance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

He is trying to tax it commercially .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭Buffman

OP, every county has it's own rules, so it's hard to say for sure, but you shouldn't have any issues here, if worst comes to worst ask the farmer for his flock/herd number. As you already have a private vehicle there should be another option to fill in but that would be too handy!

From here for Cavan:
    Goods declaration form (RF111A) if classed as light goods and any one of the following
    • a commercial insurance certificate
    • evidence of registration of VAT
    • a Tax Clearance Certificate
    • a copy of your ‘Notice of Tax Registration form’
    • Documentation from Dept of Agriculture confirming herd or flock number
    2qk4u wrote: »
    If you are using the 4x4 to earn money then you are using it commercially, why do you want to tax it privately ? trying to avoid paying for commercial insurance ?

No, he's trying to tax it commercially, insurance generally isn't an issue as costs are similar.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

The herd number as far as I know will only work if its yours I noticed a lot of people are having trouble taxing commercial vehicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 grayman

I work part time on a farm like yourself and i just asked the farmer for his herd number and went to the gards who said nothing and just stamped it. once you tax it once you never have to fill out the form again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

grayman wrote: »
    I work part time on a farm like yourself and i just asked the farmer for his herd number and went to the gards who said nothing and just stamped it. once you tax it once you never have to fill out the form again....

+1 Did this the other day but used my fathers herd number.

First time taxing the van (import) I had the doe test cert, insurance cert, and weigh docket and use declaration with me.
    No problem geting the declaration stamped in the garda station either...in fact the guard remarked that he had to get the same done for his van :D

But it seems to matter a lot what county you are in...I heard a few horror stories about some tax offices.