Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trailcam and Baiting for foxes

• 08-02-2012 3:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭

well lads, just wondering does anyone on here do this. On one of my permissions there is a hugh wood right beside it and to look at you would think its crawling with foxes, but night after night and call after call have yet to see a charlie anywhere near it.

Thinking of setting up a trail cam and bait about 20 yards out from the wood on my permission, not to shoot just yet, but to see is there anything in the area.

Anyone any tips on what way to bait it and what bait to use.

cheers marc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

anything meaty ,road kill , butchers scraps , tinned dog food , anything like that will work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

whats the besy way to present it, in one heap or scattered around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

id use a live hen or rooster that will make noise , build a cage or put it in a larsen trap . please post up what you come across , ud be surprised what you will see , i got a badger in a fox trap one morning , i had a rabbit hanging in the trap.

TriggerPL wrote: »
    id use a live hen or rooster that will make noise , build a cage or put it in a larsen trap . please post up what you come across , ud be surprised what you will see , i got a badger in a fox trap one morning , i had a rabbit hanging in the trap.

i dont want to trap them i just want to try draw them into the area.

marcp wrote: »
    i dont want to trap them i just want to try draw them into the area.

yes i know that ! your trying to see if there is foxs in the area but no farmer is going to let you scatter dead animals or meat round there feild , buy using a larsen trap ur keeping the hen safe from predators , and the hen will make the noise to bring them in ,along with the scent.

A yes, i understand what your saying now alrite.

I saw in a magazine that dog nuts and cat food mixed up works a treat.

From my experience with trail cams no matter what you leave out, after a couple of days your memory card is full of pics of birds.

tis is why i suggest live pray , dead or food atracts magpies and grays a long with everything else

I think one of the lads has a magpie trap, ill try get it.

Only problem then being everytime the bird moves and camera takes a picture.

I think one of the lads has a magpie trap, ill try get it.

Only problem then being everytime the bird moves and camera takes a picture.

place it on a post above the trap so the bird is directly under it and not in line of camera

ha ha you sound like you have done this before.

Thanks very much for the info.

very interested in you magpie thread, its something that always interested me but never done it.

ha ha you sound like you have done this before.

Thanks very much for the info.

very interested in you magpie thread, its something that always interested me but never done it.

you should see the lovely pics ive got of a rooster in a larsen trap , ya learn from ur mistakes , look forward to you pics , if your thinking of getting into trapping mags id buy the walk in round larsen traps they seem to have a better success with graybacks as well ,one lad posted up about peanut butter so going to try it this week .

i know its handier to buy, but with the young lad he wants the 2 of us to build a trap, any idea on where you can find build plans online

http://www.thehuntinglife.com/html/sections/articles/various/larsen-trap.html

this seems to be a gud one if you have problem gettin springs for the doors ive a mate sells them and there not much . happy building

http://www.thehuntinglife.com/html/sections/articles/various/larsen-trap.html

this seems to be a gud one if you have problem gettin springs for the doors ive a mate sells them and there not much . happy building

cheers for all the info trigger:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Not legal to use live bait AFAIK.

If you use dog food kick it into the ground. Other bait, bury lightly and badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

Is that legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

It is illegal under the wildlife act to use live fowl as bait in a trap.

Invincible wrote: »
    It is illegal under the wildlife act to use live fowl as bait in a trap.

cheers for the info im all new to this, so its dog nuts and cat food all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I was told that horse hoof clippings boiled up and left to sit for ages makes a good fox bait. Use the water to spray a little about and top up with more hoof clippings and water as you use it up. Realy stink but dogs love to eat the clippings and go mad for the 'frog' part.

clivej wrote: »
    I was told that horse hoof clippings boiled up and left to sit for ages makes a good fox bait. Use the water to spray a little about and top up with more hoof clippings and water as you use it up. Realy stink but dogs love to eat the clippings and go mad for the 'frog' part.

do any of ye read a thread at all your not trapping the fox your simply taking photos ,so it no different to having a chicken pen and a fox comming round for a look.

Doesn't matter, you're still using a live animal as bait.

johngalway wrote: »
    Doesn't matter, you're still using a live animal as bait.

build a chicken coop , put camera on it so happy now:D

or mayb you can suggest a way to attract foxs with out using up all his pic on the magpies and graycrows that will be feeding on free dog food !

johngalway wrote: »
    If you use dog food kick it into the ground. Other bait, bury lightly and badly.
    do any of ye read a thread at all
    mayb you can suggest a way to attract foxs with out using up all his pic on the magpies and graycrows that will be feeding on free dog food !

Dot, dot, dot...

Here's a pen, join'em :D:p

It works, I've a photo of a fox on my external hard drive using that method. Foxes like to "bury" their ill gotten gains, or more precisely scratch a little dirt or grass over them.

Get the mags and greys into larsen traps and yer laughing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 pigeon shooter

Jaysus must try this!! Have horses myself and actually noticed the dogs going mad for the hoof clippings!! Must try this with the foxes!! Whats the theory behind boiling them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Boil them outside for 1 1/2hours and put in a plastic or glass container I put some in a spray bottle and spray around where I'm shooting to hide my sent . don't get any on you it stinks . when not in use hang the container off a tree or on the roof of a shed the more sun it gets the better.

stoeger wrote: »
    Boil them outside for 1 1/2hours and put in a plastic or glass container I put some in a spray bottle and spray around where I'm shooting to hide my sent . don't get any on you it stinks . when not in use hang the container off a tree or on the roof of a shed the more sun it gets the better.

Orite sounds like good stuff!!:D Does the hoof dissolve completely when you boil it??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

Orite sounds like good stuff!!:D Does the hoof dissolve completely when you boil it??:confused:
    No it won't you will have plenty left for bait give it a good shake before you use it I have some festering away for the last few months when you take some out just replace with water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

Hi Marcp what kinda of ground is the forestry on is it boggy or good ground also is there livestock on it?? I usually see what food source is in the area if example there is rabbits i would use them and peg them to the ground i have had a trial cam on them and everthing from grey crows,magpies,rats and foxes show up on the cam. Also if at this time of year if you shoot a fox pop it in a bucket with a few holes drilled in it and hang it up this also works. Also cat food works you will have to get out and try a few different methods and see what works for you! Wear gloves just to keep your scent off what your using. I have seen foxes come to the bait sniff it and walk off they can be funny like that! Best of luck with it.

No it won't you will have plenty left for bait give it a good shake before you use it I have some festering away for the last few months when you take some out just replace with water
    Okay!! Good stuff!! I look forward to trying this now!! Mind you all the horses were only peared a week ago!!:mad: It'll be a while before I get to try it now!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Jaysus must try this!! Have horses myself and actually noticed the dogs going mad for the hoof clippings!! Must try this with the foxes!! Whats the theory behind boiling them??

So that you have a bucket full of liquid that you can put into a hand spray'er and spray on a rag/bait etc.

Don't get any on your cloths as it stinks I'm told.

The worse the better. Leave in a 5 gal bucket with lid on all the time. Start now and it'll be 'bout OK for next autumn. No need to boil it up if you just leave hoof clippings in a bucket of water for months. Throw in some rabbit guts or whatever as well.

No joking here as i have read up on doing this.

links

http://www.trapperman.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/220376/How_to_make_horse_hoof_bait.html

http://forums.pigeonwatch.co.uk/forums/index.php?/topic/20965-horse-hoof-bait/

http://www.thehuntinglife.com/forums/topic/84138-horse-hoof-bait-lure/

http://www.predatortalk.com/topic/11223-fox-baiting/page__st__20